No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alexander Thomson Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
320 - 322 ARGYLE STREET, Glasgow, G2 8LY
**Free Wifi in all rooms**

The Alexander Thomson Hotel is historic Victorian era building which forms the Architectural landscape of the city. The Hotel has very high ceilings and windows from that era and every effort is put in to retain as much originality as possible.

Located in the heart of the City Centre and close to Central Station.

Most of our rooms are large with large Bathrooms also. The Rooms are recently refurbished and have all the necessary amenities required by a business traveler or leisure guest. Complimentary tea/coffee and mineral water, direct dial telephone, Flat Screen TV's with digital freeview channels, Iron & Ironing Board & hairdryers etc ensure a very comfortable stay.

Traditional Scottish Breakfast is included in the price and there is a Bar which opens till the "wee hours" of the morning for Hotel Guests. There is also a quiet lounge for people to sit and relax which also has free wifi access for residents only.

Come and enjoy the beautiful city and our warm and friendly service.

Picture of Alexander Thomson Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 436 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An absolutely beautiful hotel with a unique blend of victorianism mixed with modern styles.
Upon arrival we were greeted by a lovely young woman who couldn't have been nicer. The hotel looked gorgeous from the lobby with a beautiful winding staircase. As we were finding our way to our room we were amazed by the size of the hotel as it doesn't seem very large from the outside. Our amazement continued as we entered the room. With it being a corner room, we had two large windows from two walls creating a sense of large space and lots of great lighting. The room was clean and up to standards and our night was peaceful and comfortable. I would definitely recommend the Alexander Thompson to everybody and would of course choose to stay there again.

Reviewed by
E Bennett

From Livingston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

rooms ok for money

Reviewed by
d smith

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great city hotel
Brilliant position. Friendly helpful staff
Good value.

Reviewed by
P Thacker

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great central hotel
Great position near central station. Staff very helpful. Rooms have just been refurbished. Everything you need. Luggage room to leave your cases before and after check in. Discounted car parking .
Good value for money. Buffett breakfast.
Will definatrly book this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Patricia T

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great central location with good service but tired feel.
From outside was a bit sceptical of the choice as the building and entrance look dated and tired. Friendly helpful reception staff. Painfully slow lift, room simple but tired looking. Breakfast served buffet style but quality of produce was low quality.

Reviewed by
B Fox

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
We had a lovely stay here. The rooms are lovely and comfortable and have everything you need with hairdryer and iron & ironing board in rooms. Bottled mineral water was very welcoming. Breakfast was very good and although scrambled egg was not part of the buffet it was no trouble for staff to make it. Would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
Anne M

From Sauchie, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good accomodation
Arrived too early to check in but receptionist immediately offered to keep our bags so we could go and get some lunch. Reception area was quite small and old fashioned but don't let that put you off - our room was lovely. Very big, king size bed, corner sofa unit, plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, 42 inch tv and still loads of room. Bathroom was very big and modern with large shower cubicle and huge showerhead, and all spotlessly clean. Buffet breakfast was lovely. Only criticism was we overlooked Argylle street so could have done with some double glazing but the traffic noise
didn't bother us too much.

Reviewed by
c cameron

From carlisle, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Some parts of the hotel were really clean & fresh but they are in the middle of decorating the rest. We enjoyed our stay, could of done with more than 1 spare pillow in the room

Reviewed by
Alison G

From Whitehaven, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for last minute booking, however....
Last minute booking. Helpful receptionist upon arrival. Accommodation reflected price. Good central location. Extremely 'efficient' staff in breakfast room insofar as I went to make some toast (buffet breakfast) and came back to find my tea etc had vanished from the table! I felt staff were unhappy that I requested another cup, glass and cutlery. Also had to request receipt as this had not been forthcoming upon departure.

Reviewed by
Mary S

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City centre Hotel
Good location, but thats the only good thing it has got going for it.
Noisy - and you can't open the old fashioned windows.

Reviewed by
m Finlay

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next