No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alexander Thomson Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
320 - 322 ARGYLE STREET, Glasgow, G2 8LY
**Free Wifi in all rooms**

The Alexander Thomson Hotel is historic Victorian era building which forms the Architectural landscape of the city. The Hotel has very high ceilings and windows from that era and every effort is put in to retain as much originality as possible.

Located in the heart of the City Centre and close to Central Station.

Most of our rooms are large with large Bathrooms also. The Rooms are recently refurbished and have all the necessary amenities required by a business traveler or leisure guest. Complimentary tea/coffee and mineral water, direct dial telephone, Flat Screen TV's with digital freeview channels, Iron & Ironing Board & hairdryers etc ensure a very comfortable stay.

Traditional Scottish Breakfast is included in the price and there is a Bar which opens till the "wee hours" of the morning for Hotel Guests. There is also a quiet lounge for people to sit and relax which also has free wifi access for residents only.

Come and enjoy the beautiful city and our warm and friendly service.

Picture of Alexander Thomson Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 468 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Scruffy room
Room was small and scruffy. The net curtain was grey ( supposed to be white ) and all ripped. The window was loose and the cold wind was blowin through !! Would not stay there again.

Reviewed by
J White

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location, no frills good accommodation
Easy to book, good customer service, no frills room, breakfast included, central location, good value. Really nice lounge area.

Reviewed by
G Grady

From Cirencester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Budget Priced Central Hotel
We needed a central hotel for a three day visit to Glasgow. Chose this one as it was near to the Central Train station due to our travel arrangements. It is a dated hotel but comfortable. The bedrooms are a nice size and well heated. Good showers though better housekeeping could have been applied to the shower area. Very good self service breakfast with efficient staff who keep the whole area clean. The bar area is pleasant and was quiet during our visit. Where the hotel needs attention is the reception area. If I had just walk-in to look for a room, I would have walked straight out again. First impression means a lot and the reception area is very scruffy and needs a lot of attention. I am sure the hotel looses business by guests who would go no further than this.

Reviewed by
Julia D

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprised
I never leave reviews, but this was so bad I want to save others the hassle. Don't expect this hotel to look as it does on the web. There are much better options available at less cost. Don't bother.

Reviewed by
Steve M

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Excellent location, good sized quiet room, with bath and shower. I stayed in this hotel way back in the 90s when it was 'old-style' and un-renovated. Now it is what you would expect - actually better- for the price

Reviewed by
Michael E

From Carnoustie, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay :)
Came to this hotel on a Friday afternoon with my boyfriend. Was a bit worried by the entrance because it didn't look very much. The receptionest was very helpful and friendly! We made our way to our room. We had a double room and it was a very good size. The bathroom was lovely with a nice big shower and very clean. We had a comfortable stay. Breakfast in the morning was ok. Think the hot plate could have been more fresher. Great hotel and just a 5 min walk to the centre off town for the shops. I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
C Mitchell

From Alloa, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect City Break
Cant fault this place for what you pay. Great Location Room Spotless. Breakfast Excellent. Ideal for a city break.

Reviewed by
Allan L

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Glasgow stay
Nice tidy hotel,very close to Central station,and main shopping area .Friendly staff. Would recommend.

Reviewed by
Brian M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alex
Very good staff hotel clean very good service will be back up on Christmas eve.Thank you.

Reviewed by
e hendry

From Greenock, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel not bad, reception team awful! !
Hotel not bad, great location, good breakfast, but reception staff horrible! On arrival evening time and morning three different people the same standard of service. No hello no smile etc.

Reviewed by
Pawel P

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next