No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alexander Thomson Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
320 - 322 ARGYLE STREET, Glasgow, G2 8LY
**Free Wifi in all rooms**

The Alexander Thomson Hotel is historic Victorian era building which forms the Architectural landscape of the city. The Hotel has very high ceilings and windows from that era and every effort is put in to retain as much originality as possible.

Located in the heart of the City Centre and close to Central Station.

Most of our rooms are large with large Bathrooms also. The Rooms are recently refurbished and have all the necessary amenities required by a business traveler or leisure guest. Complimentary tea/coffee and mineral water, direct dial telephone, Flat Screen TV's with digital freeview channels, Iron & Ironing Board & hairdryers etc ensure a very comfortable stay.

Traditional Scottish Breakfast is included in the price and there is a Bar which opens till the "wee hours" of the morning for Hotel Guests. There is also a quiet lounge for people to sit and relax which also has free wifi access for residents only.

Come and enjoy the beautiful city and our warm and friendly service.

Picture of Alexander Thomson Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 432 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value budget hotel
Close to Central Station but in an area being redeveloped. Not far from newly built premises but amid boarded up buildings. On busy Argyle Street so if unused to city noises, ask for a room not at the front. Otherwise do not expect a luxury hotel at a budget price.

Reviewed by
Margaret B

From Manchester, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel
Helpfull staff,niceHotel,room a it small but adequate and very clean.Enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
S Soutar

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend away for 50th birthday celebrations
hotel looks a bit dated in bits but couldn't fault anything especially price that we paid for it. we will definitely book again, wouldn't bother trying anywhere else as we like it so much.

Reviewed by
patricia h

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It'll be nice when it's finished
Let's be honest, it's cheap and it's right in the thick of things, so great for the city centre.
Their website does say they're refurbishing, but the room we stayed in seemed half finished and a bit shonkey. That said, it was clean and comfortable.
The lift was broken so we had to use the backup lift in the service staircase. There were broken windows, chairs and bags of washing laying all over. Fair enough lifts break down and it's good they even had a backup, but you'd make sure the spot was presentable wouldn't you?
The car park they tell you to use was further away that perhaps they suggest on their website. It was a good 15 minute walk. Again though, £6 for 24 hours was pretty decent, and I felt okay leaving my pride and joy there.
All in all, it was fine for the last minute getaway for a little jolly to Glasgow, and it is cheap lets not forget, but it is very old and tired. It could be lovely if they do it up right, but for the time being, I think I'd look for somewhere else for our next trip to Glasgow.

Reviewed by
Ricky B

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

waiters and staff excellent! no complaints

Reviewed by
i davidson

From Port Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good valued city centre hotel
The hotel won't win any awards but it's reasonably priced and fairly central. The room I had was recently refurbished but I'd say it requires a wee but more work. Room was clean, as were the towel and bedding, the bathroom door could have been doing with a lick of paint. The public areas are in need of modernisation and the carpets cleaned. The customer lift was out of order do we had to use a service lift which was accessible from the first floor, ok for able bodied people but the old or infirm would struggle, the hotel should have advised people of this prior to arrival.

Reviewed by
Jeanette M

From West Calder, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated decor in shared space, but room clean and comfortable
Reasonable city centre located hotel at cheap price. Shared space dated but clean.
Room was reasonable with new bathroom. Shower took some time to heat up in morning. Windows would not be suitable for children as could be opened at low level from floor - large fall from fourth floor. Windows need locking devices.
Main lift broken but secondary lift available.

Reviewed by
Simon W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money, clean hotel, slightly dated decor.

Reviewed by
A Chalmers

From Bathgate, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Was in a modern en-suite room, good sized double. Very clean. Breakfast was very good in the morning.

Reviewed by
LINDA M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the best
Was ok would not stay again room far too warm could not turn down heating so was very warm as you can’t open windows any more. Food was ok not great and cleared food up before breakfast time was over even asked if we had finished up at buffet and wasn’t even 10.10 and breakfast supposedly on till half 10. Room basic but clean enough.

Reviewed by
RACHEL L

From Wishaw, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.