No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alexander Thomson Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
320 - 322 ARGYLE STREET, Glasgow, G2 8LY
**Free Wifi in all rooms**

The Alexander Thomson Hotel is historic Victorian era building which forms the Architectural landscape of the city. The Hotel has very high ceilings and windows from that era and every effort is put in to retain as much originality as possible.

Located in the heart of the City Centre and close to Central Station.

Most of our rooms are large with large Bathrooms also. The Rooms are recently refurbished and have all the necessary amenities required by a business traveler or leisure guest. Complimentary tea/coffee and mineral water, direct dial telephone, Flat Screen TV's with digital freeview channels, Iron & Ironing Board & hairdryers etc ensure a very comfortable stay.

Traditional Scottish Breakfast is included in the price and there is a Bar which opens till the "wee hours" of the morning for Hotel Guests. There is also a quiet lounge for people to sit and relax which also has free wifi access for residents only.

Come and enjoy the beautiful city and our warm and friendly service.

Picture of Alexander Thomson Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 474 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well impressed
hotel is in a very good location for train station,restaurants,bars and the Hydro had a realy pleasant stay

Reviewed by
John Cuthbert

From Maybole, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice quick trip
Clean pleasant hotel

Reviewed by
J Macleod

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean rooms,fab food,breakfast room very spacious ,not over crowded...friendly staff.very central .
We use this hotel every time we visit Glasgow after trying many others,best value for money ,very accommodating ,friendly and the food is great ...rooms are clean added bonus of a fantastic Thi restaurant just a couple of doors away.

Reviewed by
H Haswell

From BERWICK UPON TWEED, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay breaks.
This was our second stay at this hotel. We find it very central , staff friendly and breakfast selection suits all tastes .

Reviewed by
Elizabeth June M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money A1
Stayed for two nights very clean large rooms, complimentary tea coffee and bottled water. Breakfast was great. Help staff deceivingly beautiful bar and lounge. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
joanna nuttall

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay in Glasgow
Hotel, although a somewhat tired entry on pavement level, once upstairs, more than adequate, bedrooms, spacious, clean, comfortable, all there that is required, bathroom, spacious and super shower. Breakfast, plentiful, hot, good variety and excellent service from plenty staff, all of whom were very courteous and with friendly smiles. Would definitely stay there again when going to Glasgow.

Reviewed by
Christine G

From Seahouses, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay, for good price!
Our stay at the hotel was very good. The room was lovely and a good size. It was good for what we paid for. Only problem was it was a little chilly at night and as we were at the main road we could hear traffic at night.
At breakfast the eggs were a little rubbery but otherwise breakfast was very good and had a wide variety.
Overall a beautifully decorated, clean and well maintained hotel. Will definitely be staying again in the future.

Reviewed by
Carrie-Ann Taylor

From Carluke, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
Fantastic hotel, room was very big and staff very friendly. Would recommend to anyone!

Reviewed by
K Ewing

From Bonnyrigg, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Done the job for a one night stay.

Reviewed by
IAIN McDERMID

From Fort William, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For city centre stay it was good price. Initial impression of room was fine but net curtains were really grubby and paintwork on window flaky. Shower tray could do with replacing. Corridors well decorated and welcoming. Later check out would have been good as 1030 very early.

Reviewed by
lynn K

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.