No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alexander Thomson Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
320 - 322 ARGYLE STREET, Glasgow, G2 8LY
**Free Wifi in all rooms**

The Alexander Thomson Hotel is historic Victorian era building which forms the Architectural landscape of the city. The Hotel has very high ceilings and windows from that era and every effort is put in to retain as much originality as possible.

Located in the heart of the City Centre and close to Central Station.

Most of our rooms are large with large Bathrooms also. The Rooms are recently refurbished and have all the necessary amenities required by a business traveler or leisure guest. Complimentary tea/coffee and mineral water, direct dial telephone, Flat Screen TV's with digital freeview channels, Iron & Ironing Board & hairdryers etc ensure a very comfortable stay.

Traditional Scottish Breakfast is included in the price and there is a Bar which opens till the "wee hours" of the morning for Hotel Guests. There is also a quiet lounge for people to sit and relax which also has free wifi access for residents only.

Come and enjoy the beautiful city and our warm and friendly service.

Picture of Alexander Thomson Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 469 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Some parts of the hotel were really clean & fresh but they are in the middle of decorating the rest. We enjoyed our stay, could of done with more than 1 spare pillow in the room

Reviewed by
Alison G

From Whitehaven, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for last minute booking, however....
Last minute booking. Helpful receptionist upon arrival. Accommodation reflected price. Good central location. Extremely 'efficient' staff in breakfast room insofar as I went to make some toast (buffet breakfast) and came back to find my tea etc had vanished from the table! I felt staff were unhappy that I requested another cup, glass and cutlery. Also had to request receipt as this had not been forthcoming upon departure.

Reviewed by
Mary S

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City centre Hotel
Good location, but thats the only good thing it has got going for it.
Noisy - and you can't open the old fashioned windows.

Reviewed by
m Finlay

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First time visit
Nice welcome, very quick helpful sign-in. Comforable and clean bedroom and en-suite.

Reviewed by
B Morrison

From LANGHOLM, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable roomin excellent location
Very good en-suite bathroom. Comfortable bed and sofa. Good full Scottish breakfast.

Reviewed by
Catherine D

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel but pricey for games
nice hotel & good size of room. Perfect location for Commenwealth Games, however not worth the price hike, rooms advertised at desk for 99 which made our £250 per night very expensive!

Reviewed by
Bridget H

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy Location

Stayed one night for the Commonwealth Games, hence the overpriced room - £240. Located next to a pub that played music until midnight, but close to the shops.

Reviewed by
robert h

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
Vastly overpriced even during the Games, I expected better at that price. Hotel felt down at heel. Receptionist disinterested. Breakfast poor. Very small rickety lift. If we hadn't paid up front we would have moved.
Location and discounted parking good.

Reviewed by
Steven V

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed here during the Commonwealth Games. The bed was comfortable and that was all that we needed. The hugely over inflated price was what we would normally pay for a 4 star and this was certainly far from that.

Reviewed by
David H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

customer service
we enjoyed our stay in the hotel in Glasgow, however, my husband asked for an early morning wake up call on the Friday morning to ensure we were actually up as we had a busy day ahead, but we did not get this so very disappointed. Its a good job that we gave ourselves good time to travel otherwise we may not have made it to our event on time if we had solely relied on the hotel to gave us this call, so I have rated the customer service down. Otherwise all in all a very good stay at the hotel.

Reviewed by
lucy foster

From Lowestoft, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.