Reviews - Alexander Thomson Hotel


320 - 322 ARGYLE STREET, Glasgow, G2 8LY

Price From 107.92 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (390)

82% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • M R

  • February 2015

Alexander Thomson Hotel

I was really impressed.

  • M Gardiner

  • February 2015

Good Hotel convenient for Central Glasgow

I have stayed at this hotel before on several occasions, and I find it a satisfacotry hotel, usually reasonably priced, and convenient for Central Galsgow.

I was given the type of room that I requested with an en-suite bathtub. The room was of a reasonable size, but was cold on arrival on a cold February day, in that the radiator was turned off and the window was open, which meant the first half an hour was uncomfortable. The room warmed up reasonably quickly with the radiator turned full on and the heated towel rail in the bathroon turned on. The room was generally comfortable and clean and everything worked OK. There was only one chair provided and this would be unsatisfactory if two people were sharing the room. In room 522, the window was old, and the frame in desparate need of repair, and it let in a draft. it was very energy inefficient. Staff were polite and helpful. Wi-Fi is provided free, as long as you do not have too many appliances. There was no shaver point in the bathroom, and no face flannel was provided. Breakfast is average in a hot buffet format. No fresh fruit is offered, and this definitely spoils breakfast.

  • I Tear

  • February 2015

Central location but very quiet rooms spotless reception very helpful breakfast adequate

Breakfast food was a bit cold but maybe this was because I was quite late eating

  • Steve B

  • February 2015


Helpful and friendly staff.

Nice sized room with all basic amenities, great self service breakfast, good quality food, comfortable bed, clean and tidy room and in a great location.

  • O Kandukuru

  • February 2015

My experience

Great value for money, clean and furnished, exceptionally good complimentary breakfast.

That could be made better is to have some bath mat in bathroom which seemed to get damp very easily.

  • D Henderson

  • February 2015

2 night stay

We had booked a triple room, which was large, clean and warm.

Not enough pillows, towels and mugs we're provided but happily taken to our room when requested. However, The room was quite dated and the lighting was dreary.

My main bug bear was being woken through the night by other guests arriving back to their rooms very late singing and shouting. Then the fire alarm went off, obviously drunk guests smoking in the hotel corridor. So didn't get very much sleep the first night.

Breakfast was good, the staff extremely polite and helpful, and the location was ideal.

  • Leslie B

  • February 2015

The night at Alexander Thomson Hotel and no apologies

I stayed at the Alexander Thomson hotel in Glasgow city centre on the night of 29th January.

Check in was pretty straightforward had to pay in advance as you have to with most budget hotels. The room was clean and tidy and was fine things looked good. Unfortunately @ 2.30am there was, i understand a police drugs raid on the occupant of the room next door to me. I was told the occupant was running up and down the corridor knocking on everyones doors challenging them to a fight. Doors must have been slammed shut at least 40/50 times in a 2.5 hour timeframe until it went quiet at about 5am. Left hotel '@7.00am without breakfast ( included in price ). No apology from desk clerk just indifference. No offer to reduce price or have another night free some time. Customer service non existent but hotel nice and clean in rooms. In life as always you get what you pay for.

  • R Pearson

  • January 2015

very nice place to spend a night

We only spent a single night.

We found the room newly updated and very spacious and clean. Good location for Central Station and Buchanan street. Great value for money and breakfast us excellent.

  • Alan Hodson

  • January 2015

Came for Celtic Connections

We loved our stay here and would recommend it to anyone.The staff were lovely,friendly and helpful.The room was exceptionally clean and well equipped with good shower and nice furnishings.It was really warm and cozy to return to after our days sightseeing in this beautiful and interesting city.There was good choice at breakfast and the dining room has a nice ambience with pleasant background music.Very minor point that some food items were too hard by being kept warm.Scrambled eggs might keep warm better than fried.Overall an excellent hotel and fantastic value and great location.We particularly liked the purple and white Mackintosh-like decorations round the lifts and mirrors.

  • C Hughes

  • January 2015

good value, good food and good location

we were very pleased with the location, room size, facilities and efficiency of the staff.

breakfast was readily available with an excellent variety of food to choose from. would definitely stay again.