No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alexander Thomson Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
320 - 322 ARGYLE STREET, Glasgow, G2 8LY
**Free Wifi in all rooms**

The Alexander Thomson Hotel is historic Victorian era building which forms the Architectural landscape of the city. The Hotel has very high ceilings and windows from that era and every effort is put in to retain as much originality as possible.

Located in the heart of the City Centre and close to Central Station.

Most of our rooms are large with large Bathrooms also. The Rooms are recently refurbished and have all the necessary amenities required by a business traveler or leisure guest. Complimentary tea/coffee and mineral water, direct dial telephone, Flat Screen TV's with digital freeview channels, Iron & Ironing Board & hairdryers etc ensure a very comfortable stay.

Traditional Scottish Breakfast is included in the price and there is a Bar which opens till the "wee hours" of the morning for Hotel Guests. There is also a quiet lounge for people to sit and relax which also has free wifi access for residents only.

Come and enjoy the beautiful city and our warm and friendly service.

Picture of Alexander Thomson Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 469 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay
The Alexander Thomson hotel is a warm, traditional hotel. I enjoyed the neat rooms, friendly staff and homely environment.
Wifi and breakfast is included free of charge.
However, the elevator takes forever and the layout of the 5th floor is a bit awkward!
Besides that, its great value for money. I would recommend it.

Reviewed by
C Ibeh

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Glasgow shopper
Room clean new towels telephone did not work but extra pillows delivered very quickly

Reviewed by
ISOBEL T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City centre room
Fantastic room!!! I cannot tell you how pleased I was with my stay. Clean, spacious room. Quiet and so central. It's the 2nd time I've stayed here...plus soooooo affordable and a fantastic breakfast inc.

Reviewed by
S Macdonald

From Shetland, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pamela
I was in room 218 and it is a horrible room. The bed was a small double. The room was so small that you had to squeeze between the bed and the furniture to get to one side of the bed. The window was tiny and looked over a back alley. During the day the room was noisy as the kitchen vent was near the room. The bed didn't have a mattress protector. The ensuite was massive with a tiny shower in it. It would have been better if the space was in the room rather than the bathroom. It wasn't very clean and I wouldn't go back again. The breakfast was similar to other hotel breakfasts and there was plenty of it.

Reviewed by
p emslie

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Great Discovery
My husband and I booked this hotel for a night in Glasgow as we were going to a concert. It is situated just minutes from Glasgow Central Station and so handy being really close to all Glasgow amenities. We got a budget deal so didn't expect too much and were really surprised at the quality of room, service and food. We stayed just one night and had an airy room with comfortable beds, tv, hairdryer and even ironing board and iron. We would recommend this hotel and plan to revisit on any future trips to Glasgow.

Reviewed by
M McGuinness

From Newton Stewart, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disabled guests.
This hotel is not suitable for disabled guests. Although there is a lift it is very small. My husband had to struggle with this and fire doors to get to our room. If I had been on my own it would have been a very unpleasant experience.

Reviewed by
Jane C

From Ripon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK for money
Basic hotel but centrally located. More than adequate for a short stay in Glasgow.

Reviewed by
Brian M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly atmosphere. Clean , comfortable and very near to city center.
I will definitely stay here again in my forthcoming business trips.

Reviewed by
F Elahi

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel, great location
A nice, relaxing stay with particularly nice cleaning staff who did a great job. The breakfast was really good with lots of choice for me despite being vegan! No soya milk though but I was still impressed.

Reviewed by
Emma Long

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room
The window would not close so I had traffic noise and cold wind during the night.

Reviewed by
J M

From Northallerton, England
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next