Alexander Thomson Hotel

3

320 - 322 ARGYLE STREET, Glasgow, G2 8LY

Price From 183.82 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (474)

81% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • R Pearson

  • January 2015

very nice place to spend a night

We only spent a single night.

We found the room newly updated and very spacious and clean. Good location for Central Station and Buchanan street. Great value for money and breakfast us excellent.

  • Alan Hodson

  • January 2015

Came for Celtic Connections

We loved our stay here and would recommend it to anyone.The staff were lovely,friendly and helpful.The room was exceptionally clean and well equipped with good shower and nice furnishings.It was really warm and cozy to return to after our days sightseeing in this beautiful and interesting city.There was good choice at breakfast and the dining room has a nice ambience with pleasant background music.Very minor point that some food items were too hard by being kept warm.Scrambled eggs might keep warm better than fried.Overall an excellent hotel and fantastic value and great location.We particularly liked the purple and white Mackintosh-like decorations round the lifts and mirrors.

  • C Hughes

  • January 2015

good value, good food and good location

we were very pleased with the location, room size, facilities and efficiency of the staff.

breakfast was readily available with an excellent variety of food to choose from. would definitely stay again.

  • Caroline P

  • January 2015

Good value, central location

I can confirm many of the other comments on this site.

Excellent value for money particularly given the city centre location. Friendly staff, clean room, little extras like a bottle of water and some quality biscuits make you feel that someone has thought about you. New bathroom with a great shower. Good hot breakfast as part of the price. The only thing I would comment on was the mattress - first time in years I've felt all the springs in a mattress, first time ever in a hotel. As no-one else has commented on this I suspect I was unlucky but I would urge the hotel to buy a new one or invest in some mattress toppers. Shame to spoil the ship for a h'penniworth of tar.

  • L Lin

  • January 2015

ok

ok

  • Louise Q

  • January 2015

Fantastic Offer

This is a great hotel if you book early and manage to get a good offer.

Bathrooms are nice, shower was clean and warm. Bedrooms are warm and cosy and there is wardrobe space. Breakfast was so much better than I expected, absolutley fantastic for being included with the price. Only issue I've noticed is at weekends etc the price increases a lot, understandable for such a central location but couldn't justify paying such a large difference.

  • eleanor cheshire

  • January 2015

Excellent and Great value for money

I stayed at the Alexander Thomson Hotel and cant fault it in any way.

Great location, great food and an excellent place to stay. Brilliant value for money also. If I am ever back in Glasgow, I wouldn't hesitate to book there again.......Fantastic place.

  • B Ellis

  • January 2015

great hotel and location

brilliant right in city centre.

good value for money

  • Alison W

  • January 2015

good value

The room booked through Laterooms was good value at £35.

I can't fault the staff or the cleanliness of the room but the building is a bit depressing, especially the breakfast room. Nice food doesn't have to cost a lot, and it would have been good to have a bit of fresh fruit rather than the tinned stuff on offer.

  • D Nicholson

  • January 2015

There are better places !

Although the public areas were generally tidy, decorated and clean, the room was a bit of a disappointment.

Clean but dated décor and a slightly eccentric shower room. Both the toilet and shower were built up on plinths, so much so that when sitting on the toilet my wife's feet only just touched the floor . In addition pipes had not been covered leaving gaping gaps into the wall/skirting. Breakfast was only just edible, very cheap items which seemed to have been cooked ages earlier and left on the hot plate - not good.