No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alexander Thomson Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
320 - 322 ARGYLE STREET, Glasgow, G2 8LY
**Free Wifi in all rooms**

The Alexander Thomson Hotel is historic Victorian era building which forms the Architectural landscape of the city. The Hotel has very high ceilings and windows from that era and every effort is put in to retain as much originality as possible.

Located in the heart of the City Centre and close to Central Station.

Most of our rooms are large with large Bathrooms also. The Rooms are recently refurbished and have all the necessary amenities required by a business traveler or leisure guest. Complimentary tea/coffee and mineral water, direct dial telephone, Flat Screen TV's with digital freeview channels, Iron & Ironing Board & hairdryers etc ensure a very comfortable stay.

Traditional Scottish Breakfast is included in the price and there is a Bar which opens till the "wee hours" of the morning for Hotel Guests. There is also a quiet lounge for people to sit and relax which also has free wifi access for residents only.

Come and enjoy the beautiful city and our warm and friendly service.

Picture of Alexander Thomson Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 432 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced and not four star
Room spacious but decor needs upgrading. No A/C so windows had to be opened resulting in traffic noise from main road which was annoying. Breakfast reasonable with a selection of continental and hot but croissants were stale and bacon overdone. There only appeared to be one small lift for all guests which was inconvenient especially as room was on 5th floor. On the plus side, location was good with Glasgow Central Station a short walk away.

Reviewed by
Kavitha G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Location
We stayed here during the Commonwealth Games, the hotel is ideally situated just a couple of minutes from Glasgow Central Station and all the bars and restaurants. The hotel is very clean and friendly and the rooms are spacious. If you are visiting Glasgow as a tourist or going seeing a concert (the SECC is only 2 stops away), this hotel is perfect. Next time i visit Glasgow i will be definately be staying here.

Reviewed by
allan m

From Rochdale, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We visited during the Commonwealth Games so the room prices had been hiked ridiculously. At its normal prices the room was fine, reasonably spacious, good bathroom, big sofas. However the bed (room 421) had some broken springs and the duvet was not big enough,

Reviewed by
M Wynne-Jones

From Nottingham, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

At breakfast I asked if there was gluten-free bread available and was told no. For a hotel of this size and for the price of accommodation I would have expected special dietary requirements to be catered for

Reviewed by
P Park

From Wetherby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I travel often and stay in many good hotels in the UK and around the world. Great location for our needs (we needed to be close to the station.). Very good breakfast. The weather was was very hot and humid when we were there and the hotel has no air-conditioning, but I don't think it would be needed too often in Glasgow, generally. The hotel is an old building so the rooms are large with high ceilings. Certainly not 5* but very acceptable fro the price. Comfortable bed. There were only two negatives for me. The first is that our room was across the road from a modern building that had a bank of rather loud air-conditioning vents going all the time. With the windows open because of the heat and lack of air-conditioning this disturbed me at first, but I managed to sleep well, though,as we had a busy day. Be warned about the lift. It's old and tiny and only takes two people and their luggage at once, so build in waiting time if you want the lift. On balance a nice hotel for the money, in a good location. Very nice breakfast. Nice staff. I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Kim G

From Thirsk, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stop in the heatwave
Location good for station. Helpful facility for storing luggage - much appreciated. Breakfast adequate. All self service. Overall a good hotel for the price I paid which can vary greatly.

Reviewed by
R Chambers

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent reasonably-priced hotel with superb location near Central Station
This is an excellent, friendly, very reasonably-priced hotel with a superb location near Central Station

Reviewed by
Mark Newbrook

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A well located hotel close to the main shopping area. Our bathroom had a horrific smell of drains but this did go after we had used it for 24hrs. Customer service could be improved slightly. If you have a room on the front of the hotel it can also be noisy.

Reviewed by
L Stone

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great clean budget accommodation
The AT is an excellent choice of hotel whilst in Glasgow. Handy for Central Station, with helpful staff, the foyer could do with a refresh, but the rooms are comfy and clean, and the cost is fantastic for a city centre hotel. My only issue is that there's no mattress cover between sheet and mattress, but that's all. Breakfast is buffet style and lots of choice. Also like the Scottish offering of a fried tat tie scone!!

Reviewed by
Sheila G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bizarre experience
Very strange hotel - I don't very often pick fault with hotels, but this one was just strange! Grumpy bloke at check-in, rooms that had been half modernised, no hot water in the morning for a shower, breakfast buffet that had been sat there for far too long and gone hard.... That's all.
Well. I suppose at least it was clean and I got some biscuits!

Reviewed by
C Blake

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next