No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alexander Thomson Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
320 - 322 ARGYLE STREET, Glasgow, G2 8LY
**Free Wifi in all rooms**

The Alexander Thomson Hotel is historic Victorian era building which forms the Architectural landscape of the city. The Hotel has very high ceilings and windows from that era and every effort is put in to retain as much originality as possible.

Located in the heart of the City Centre and close to Central Station.

Most of our rooms are large with large Bathrooms also. The Rooms are recently refurbished and have all the necessary amenities required by a business traveler or leisure guest. Complimentary tea/coffee and mineral water, direct dial telephone, Flat Screen TV's with digital freeview channels, Iron & Ironing Board & hairdryers etc ensure a very comfortable stay.

Traditional Scottish Breakfast is included in the price and there is a Bar which opens till the "wee hours" of the morning for Hotel Guests. There is also a quiet lounge for people to sit and relax which also has free wifi access for residents only.

Come and enjoy the beautiful city and our warm and friendly service.

Picture of Alexander Thomson Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 435 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A well located hotel close to the main shopping area. Our bathroom had a horrific smell of drains but this did go after we had used it for 24hrs. Customer service could be improved slightly. If you have a room on the front of the hotel it can also be noisy.

Reviewed by
L Stone

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great clean budget accommodation
The AT is an excellent choice of hotel whilst in Glasgow. Handy for Central Station, with helpful staff, the foyer could do with a refresh, but the rooms are comfy and clean, and the cost is fantastic for a city centre hotel. My only issue is that there's no mattress cover between sheet and mattress, but that's all. Breakfast is buffet style and lots of choice. Also like the Scottish offering of a fried tat tie scone!!

Reviewed by
Sheila G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bizarre experience
Very strange hotel - I don't very often pick fault with hotels, but this one was just strange! Grumpy bloke at check-in, rooms that had been half modernised, no hot water in the morning for a shower, breakfast buffet that had been sat there for far too long and gone hard.... That's all.
Well. I suppose at least it was clean and I got some biscuits!

Reviewed by
C Blake

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great wee hotel
Fab room, looked newly refurbished. Slight noise but all from outside the room and as in the centre of Glasgow (and I stayed on a Friday night) played music on my iPad and that was enough to drown out the street noise. Bathroom was large and good water pressure. Would definitely book again if needed a room in Glasgow city centre.

Reviewed by
Fiona J

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value hotel
Only here for one night,s stay but found the hotel excellent value for money. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Only downside is the building opposite which tends to give it a run down area. However everything was very close to shops and railway station.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth D

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK but just
Good sized bathroom and freshly decorated but should have thermostatically controlled shower rather than manual mixing valve.
The room had just been decorated and was a reasonable size, however, does require air conditioning as it was quite noisy(Traffic etc)
Food reasonable but not fantastic Fresh fruit salad should be fresh as opposed to tinned version
Have issues with having to leave the room by 10:30 am

Reviewed by
William M

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location
central location easy access for shops secc other sporting events. Hotel clean and comfortable breakfast good choice and even the fussy eater would not go hungry .Overall good value for price paid

Reviewed by
graeme f

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again
We stayed for two nights. The weather was warm and the room was hot. It held the heat. The window was opened the first night and we had to close it because of smoke from cigarettes was so bad. The second night was better but it was still too hot to enjoy the room.
We asked for extra towels and they said they would bring then right up. They never came.

Reviewed by
Gary C

From USA
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

architecture
good looking

Reviewed by
Arnd B

From 07381 Bodelwitz, Germany
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On arrival greeted very well by receptionist very happy with our room & house staff, Breakfast was a help yourself buffet It was always well stocked with hot cooked food. The hotel is situated well for the city centre about 4-5 minute walk. I Thank the Hotel for catering for smokers we will be using the Alexander Thompson Hotel on our next trip to Glasgow.

Reviewed by
John Swarbrick

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next