Reviews - Alexander Thomson Hotel


320 - 322 ARGYLE STREET, Glasgow, G2 8LY

Price From 166.80 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (351)

81% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • G C

  • March 2015

Nice Hotel

Nice en-suite bedroom c/w adjoining lounge/TV room, very clean and quiet with all the usual tea-making kit, iron and ironing board provided.

The double bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was spacious and had recently been refurbished. Water took a long time to run warm enough for a shower, but otherwise was fine. Maintenance was slightly lacking as the bedroom TV did not work and the thermostatic valve on the bedroom radiator had broken, so there was no control of temperature. Buffet breakfast was served in a very pleasant first floor dining room, with plenty of courteous staff on hand to clear tables and replenish supplies. Choice of cooked food, cold meats and pastries was as expected for a good quality hotel although a little surprised that no traditional Scottish fare such as porridge appeared to be on offer.

  • g woodcock

  • March 2015

Good budget hotel with city centre location

I've stayed here before so going back again says something positive.

For the price, you would expect something less but the rooms are of a decent size, clean and a decent breakfast to boot. The hotel would benefit from a little TLC (paint, new carpets, maintenance etc) but for one or two nights as a city center base for the business traveler you won't get much better value than this.

  • Chrystine S

  • February 2015

Overnight stay in Glasgow

Very large spacious room and bathroom.

Really comfortable bed. Breakfast was what we would expect from a buffet breakfast and was hot. The only issue was that the second room we booked had recently been painted and the smell was quite strong. Altogether a good night fir reasonable price. One suggestion might be some herbal/fruit teas on offer at breakfast as not everyone drinks tea or coffee .

  • Robert Hilliam

  • February 2015

Clean & tidy

Clean & tidy, good value for money.

  • malcolm c

  • February 2015

Glasgow Stopover

Stayed here 7 times and will continue to do so.

Bedrooms always clean, warm, and comfortable with all your needs for an overnight stay. Breakfast 10 out of 10 excellent selection and bar prices fair. Also in execellent position for shoppers, staff, and management always willing to assist at any time.

  • Billy B

  • February 2015

For money paid - Notbad

For under £50 was a reasonable room.

Breakfast was not very good.

  • Tracey M

  • February 2015

Drab and depressing

Hotel room was shabby door didn't shut on toilet and bed was awful had to wedge open window to get air and room smelt of smoke

  • g morley

  • February 2015


As described.

  • M R

  • February 2015

Alexander Thomson Hotel

I was really impressed.

  • M Gardiner

  • February 2015

Good Hotel convenient for Central Glasgow

I have stayed at this hotel before on several occasions, and I find it a satisfacotry hotel, usually reasonably priced, and convenient for Central Galsgow.

I was given the type of room that I requested with an en-suite bathtub. The room was of a reasonable size, but was cold on arrival on a cold February day, in that the radiator was turned off and the window was open, which meant the first half an hour was uncomfortable. The room warmed up reasonably quickly with the radiator turned full on and the heated towel rail in the bathroon turned on. The room was generally comfortable and clean and everything worked OK. There was only one chair provided and this would be unsatisfactory if two people were sharing the room. In room 522, the window was old, and the frame in desparate need of repair, and it let in a draft. it was very energy inefficient. Staff were polite and helpful. Wi-Fi is provided free, as long as you do not have too many appliances. There was no shaver point in the bathroom, and no face flannel was provided. Breakfast is average in a hot buffet format. No fresh fruit is offered, and this definitely spoils breakfast.