No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Cobblers Cross Lane Forrest Road, Tarporley, Nr Chester, Cheshire, CW6 0DJ
The ultimate in luxury awaits you in the heart of Cheshire at the 4 star Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa. Set in 360 acres of breathtaking Cheshire countryside, this luxury hotel mixes traditional values with a contemporary design & comfort. Whether you're enjoying a spa weekend, leisure break, business trip or golf event, the Macdonald Portal Hotel provides the perfect setting.

All of our bedrooms have been stylishly designed with your comfort in mind. The elegant furnishings invite our guests unwind and our attention to detail, together with our 24 hour room service, ensures that your every need is catered for. For that “extra special” occasion why not book one of our feature rooms, with private balconies which provide that extra touch of luxury.

Located at the heart of the hotel, the elegant Ranulf Restaurant gives you the opportunity to sample our 2 AA rosette winning menu, whilst our extensive wine list is sure to delight. With superb health and leisure facilities, including an 18 metre indoor pool, Techno Gym, luxurious Spa and 3 golf courses Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf & Spa truly has it all!
Picture of Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, Tarporley, Nr Chester, Cheshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakaway
Lovely hotel with first class service ,I was staying on B&B and the breakfast was excellent every morning,Rooms are a good size and well presented.Close by is the village of Tarpoley which has a nice mix of shops and bars

Reviewed by
JAMES Samson

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay
very comfortable staff very accommodating and friendly
wish we could have stayed for longer

Reviewed by
Anna C

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really Nice hotel, only issue was there appeared only to be no one serving at the bar for long periods, as the busy waitress was off doing other tasks.

Reviewed by
J Clark

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice break
friendly staff, good food and excellent leisure facilities. There is also golf if you like that sort of thing.

Reviewed by
J Bickley

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Really nice hotel, not there for the golf but that didn't matter. Excellent gym, pool and sauna facilities. Highly recommended!

Reviewed by
Craig D

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay!
I recently stayed at this hotel to use the horse riding facilities near by. I chose the Macdonald portal hotel for the spa facilities of which I thought would be a treat 2 long days riding and I was not disappointed! The pool, sauna, steam facilities were superb. I also used the spa for a relaxing massage. The room was lovely and spacious, great bathroom and cleaned to high standard throughout. Would definitely visit again!

Reviewed by
K Atkinson

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I took my girlfriend as a last minuet surprise, even though it was last min i asked if they could put some flowers in the room for her on our arrival. when we got there check in was quick and easy. walked into the room and my girlfriend was met with the nicest bouquet of flowers I've ever seen. The rest of the weekend was just as good, food was excellent and the spa very relaxing. I'd defiantly go back

Reviewed by
Rob M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel but wifi is not free!
Hotel and facilities were very good. However as a business traveller I stay in lots of hotels and most supply the WIFI for free. This hotel charges for WIFI was disappointing. The Breakfast are expensive if you only require continental.

Reviewed by
L Postlethwaite

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relaxing feel.
Good location for a very relaxing holiday. Food in bar good, but could do with more choice. Good selection at breakfast. Staff very helpful.

Reviewed by
james k

From Cumnock, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice clean, friendly hotel. Good pool and spa facilities.

Reviewed by
Ian E

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next