No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Copley Arms

3Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Hessenford , Torpoint, PL11 3HJ
Set in the picturesque village of Hessenford, the Copley Arms offers 5 warm and cosy en-suite suite rooms, all furnished to a high standard.This traditional inn has both a bar and a restaurant. The quality of their food is very well known and is made using local sources.From Springtime, you can dine in the stunning seating area outside that overlooks the stream that runs through the village……There’s nothing more relaxing than having a drink in one hand and watching the stream to see what you can find! The Copley Arms is centrally located for a holiday to suit everyone. Within 4 miles, there are many riding stables, swimming pools, watersports, and there are plenty of coastal paths to find those hidden villages.Remember to visit the infamous Monkey Sanctuary! Not forgetting that every great inn has it’s ghost, and here, Matthew minds the bar after hours!
Picture of Copley Arms, Torpoint at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at the Copley arms
We had a one night stop over at the Copley arms in looe Cornwall we was so impressed with the hospitality and the views . The rooms was very clean all in all we had a lovely stay and have booked to go back next year

Reviewed by
K Pyatt

From Radstock, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little b&b, friendly helpful staff, breakfast was very enjoyable, In an ideal location

Reviewed by
M Pitt

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bathrom
The decoration of the room was good, but the bathroom needed decorating.

Reviewed by
Malcolm F

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

it was ok
for the price accommodation is good pretty pub you definitely need a car to get around The only disappointing thing is the quality of food and it depends who cooks it All the staff are friendly the landlord could be a bit more friendlier.

Reviewed by
D Westlake

From Bristol, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couple having a break in Cornwall
The pub is set in a nice location with En-suite accommodation. The room we had has a very comfortable bed which is a must after a day out exploring. There was a good variety of breakfast choices and of the 2 choices we had, both were excellent. Had an evening meal on the first night and we both thought the food was excellent quality. All in all we both agree that we would stay there again. No sign of the ghosts though-thankfully!!

Reviewed by
Dawn E

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a birthday trip to cornwall
My husband and I booked in to The Copley Arms as it was very close to both Looe and Liskeard.
We lived in Liskeard for many years and were down on this weekend for a friend's 90th birthday.
We had often had a drink and a meal at The Copley when we lived in the area but this was the first time we had stayed there and we were not disappointed.
From the beautiful hanging baskets, the stream running through the gardens, and the olde world interior the place immiediately gives a wonderful ambience. The room was small but had everything needed, and the shower was very good. A rare thing to find in many B & B's these days.
A very nice selection of shower/shampoo sachets were supplied and clean towels every day even though we were only there for a couple of nights. The breakfast was served promptly, and very well presented as well as cooked to a high standard.
We certainly will stay here again.
A good welcome to Cornwall

Reviewed by
H Baber

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
The Copley Arms is a very pretty little pub which is accessible to the town and other areas. It has a very homely feel and the food is excellent, freshly cooked and hot. The room was well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities and a mini fridge. An alarm clock was also supplied so no excuse for being late for breakfast! The price is unbeatable. We liked it so much we have booked to stay again in August.

Reviewed by
Marian Gammond

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I received a warm welcome and was shown to a pleasant, clean room. Since I arrived late, I settled in and went straight to eat. The food was good "pub-grub", and was reasonably priced. The bed was comfortable and the location was quiet and relaxing. I had a very restful night and went to work feeling well rested.
Many thanks for your hospitality.

Reviewed by
B Rutter

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent cheap B&B
The Copley Arms is a pretty decent village pub with 5 B&B rooms.
Easy to find and a decent sized car park. Some reviews mentioned being ignored by staff, but we found them to be more than helpful and always polite. The room itself was clean and bright as was the ensuite. The bed was extremely comfortable and we both slept like logs. I gave the room 5 out of 6 because the shower cubicle was tiny. I dropped my shower gell and there wasn't enough room to bend down to pick it up! Bare bum touching cold tiles first thing in the morning certainly helps wake you up! What also wakes you up are the floor boards! This was the only real downside to our stay. The floor boards are so creaky that when the couple in the next room got up in the morning and were walking about, it made the floor boards in our room creak, and creak quite loudly! Loud enough that on the first morning I leapt out of bed because I thought somebody was in the room with us! Apart from that, I really can't fault the room itself.
We ate in the pub resturant the first night, but they were very busy. They had a couple of large groups in, so it took a while to get our order, but the staff kept us up to date with what was happening at all times. The food was pretty good, but if the resturant is busy, it might be worth eating somewhere else.
Would I stay there again? No, probably not. Nothing to do with the quality of the service or room, but there isn't anything else to do in the village, so once you've had a couple of drinks, you're pretty much stuck there for the evening, but if you're just after somewhere cheap to rest your head, can't fault it really.

Reviewed by
S Nightingale

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
Really enjoyed our stay, staff were very willing to accommodate and it was a very relaxing stay. Amazing breakfast, it set us up for the day. We will be returning in the near future. Thank you to every one at the Copley Arms.

ManagementResponse

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Copley. It is good to know that you had an enjoyable visit and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Again many thanks for your positive feedback. MikeB

Reviewed by
jeanette

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next