No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marlin Apartments - Queen Street

4Self Classified Serviced Apartments Ratings explained
30 QUEEN STREET , LONDON, EC4R 1BR
Marlin Apartments St Paul's is a premier new development right in the heart of the City’s financial district, providing luxurious serviced apartments for short and long-term rentals. One of the most architecturally significant buildings in the City, this development is unique. Bold design, sash windows and contemporary environmental fabric make our Queen Street apartments the perfect base for business and leisure guests.

The style and setting offer unmatched convenience to some of the most important financial and civic buildings in London. The City is an area where almost 350,000 people work every day, and approximately 5,000 people live, so our guests can enjoy the energy of the City during the day, and its peace, tranquillity and splendour at night. The Bank of England and St Paul’s Cathedral are only minutes away, as are the famous statue of the ‘Iron Duke’ Wellington and the official residence of the Lord Mayor at Mansion House. Take time out to enjoy the luxury shopping on offer at the Royal Exchange along with some of London’s finest restaurants and cafes. For theatre lovers, the lively West End with its theatres, shopping and nightlife is a short distance away.
Picture of Marlin Apartments - Queen Street, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed on a Saturday night in a one bedroom apartment , having been upgraded from a studio. It's a great location but was a pretty average apartment, with the sound of the nearby Underground trains occasionally audible and a very loud pedestrian crossing nearby. (There is also a major building site on the next street, and it's above Dominos pizza, although latter actually not an issue.) Worst of all was the double bed, which was absurdly small - I'm quite (though not exceptionally) tall and my feet went off the end of it. Looked like the kind of bed property developers use when they want to make a bedroom look bigger than it really is. At £190 a night it should be better than this.

Reviewed by
Philip C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and functional but nothing special
Great location, not stayed at an aparthotel before and would use again owing to great value compared to hotels

Reviewed by
william l

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Rooms too hot in summer with no aircon and noisy fans required.
Lift broken for a couple of days.
Had to wait outside on the street while the receptionist returned from somewhere else.

Reviewed by
chris w

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marlin Appartments
Marlin App's insisted on holding a deposit of £200 on my debit card. Unusual. One can only assume this is an insight into the type of deterrent that is needed to protect Marlins properties.
The room was like a sauna - no air con – the insulation was clearly inadequate.
The Iron didn't work – I had to request another.
Ironing board cover was broken – I had to request another.
No hot water - reason given was that the boiler was empty – at 5pm in the evening? I wouldn’t expect a modern hotel/residence to suffer from lack of hot water at any time of the day – let alone at 5pm in the evening. I had to have a freezing cold shower before going out.
Rubbish was left outside the doors of those who, I can only assume, were longer term residents – completely stunk out the corridors. It was there when I arrived. It was still there when I left.
Light sensors for the corridors are in the wrong place so when you come out of the room one has to walk in complete darkness down the corridor until a light sensor activates – which on floor 5 is almost to the end of the corridor.
Apartment was on the 5th floor – the lift was out of action.
Discounted rate via online booking but still not cheap.
Not recommended.

Reviewed by
Ian A

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Apartment is fine but the common area smells terrible!
The apartment is fine (clean, spacious, comfy), however, there is an awful smell in the common area between the rooms!! I would basically come out of my room and try not to breath until I get in the lift!
Also, I might have not noticed this on the hotel details but the building is located just above train tracks, meaning that during the day the building "vibrates" a bit every so often...
Other than that I must say that the staff was really nice and helpful.

Reviewed by
Alison L

From Jersey, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great staff and location but too close to the station - entire building shakes when trains go past

Reviewed by
Charlie H

From Greenford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok but could have been better
Decided to stay in apartment as it was a bit more homely and also meant we didn't have to go bed at same time as our son. Would have been nice to have had the extra campbed included in the price.

Reviewed by
W Clarke

From Ballymena, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great customer services saves the day
This is accommodation seems to be geared for long term stays. While well located, it doesn't provide a hotel "service" despite being offered as a place to stay for a short stay in London. However, the customer service and staff on site were exemplary and do try their best to solve any issues that arise.

Reviewed by
J Chandler

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Damp, Dusty and smelly.
firstly you have to ring for access to the building.....I waited 10minutes in the rain with heavy bags. on my 11th attempt and ringing the reception I was given access, to be welcomed by an unhappy receptionist who made it more than clear that he wasnt "happy to help". very unhelpful and seemed like didnt know his job at all. I upgraded myself to the 1 bedroom apartment for an extra £16, money down the drain. It would of been cleaner sleeping on the streets. my room had dampness on the walls!!, the bedding smelled like it had been washed and left in the washing machine wet for days then left somewhere to dry. wet dog is the best word to describe. I went straight down to reception to complain about my apartment to be moved and there was no-one on reception. I went down more than once. I tried phoning reception and it rang out...again more than once. I emailed when i returned home and was offered 20% off my next stay. If i was offered a pent house suit for free I wouldn't return.

Reviewed by
D Carstairs

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location
Perfect location for my stay so might be bias but accomadation was clean and easy and overall it was really good.

Reviewed by
Sophie E

From Romsey, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next