No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Pied Bull Chester

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
57 Northgate Street , Chester, CH1 2HQ
The Pied Bull is situated within the walls of the historic Roman city of Chester. Reputed to be the oldest licensed house in Chester, the pub dates from 1155 and today the interior reflects its distinctive heritage and haunted past. The Inn also houses an original handmade staircase dating from 1533. All rooms are comfortably furnished with en-suite bathroom, colour television with digital, tea/coffee making facilities. Free internet use is available as well as limited car parking (please ask for details and availability).
Picture of Pied Bull Chester, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First of all there is a parking problem with only three/four parking spaces. I would not have
booked if I had known about the lack of parking spaces, I had to put my car in the local
car park overnight which I did not agree with and it cost me £9.20. Also as pensioners
we were put in a room at the top of the building, which was up very steep stairs.

Reviewed by
David Pritchard

From Kingswinford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

40th Birthday weekend stay
Pied Bull is a very old quirky hotel. The rroms are basic but clean and really good value for city centre. Staff could not be more helpful. I would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
P Currie

From High Peak, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great fun
Our stay coincided with Quiz night. Not only were the staff all friendly the locals were very warm and welcoming. Would love a "local" pub like this definitely worth travelling to. Excellent value for money just need to be mindful of the stairs each tread seems to have a different height!! We only had breakfast at the Pub but it was very good Full English and the Vegetarian option.

Reviewed by
Beverley B

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprised how good, would stay again.
Was either going to stay here or at thr holiday inn express and im glad i chose the "pied bull" we upgraded to thd four poster room which was a huge room with reclining sofa chairs and had a flst screen tv. The bathroom was on the small side and was a unusual shape but was ok. Id definetely stay here again , we didnt see any ghosts though :-)

Reviewed by
Steven P

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay
The staff were fabulous very attentive and helpfull.the bar area was very clean,the room was ok cheap and cheerfull!, our evening meal was disappointing but the breakfast was lovely and again the morning waitress was lovely.we would stay again but we would eat elsewhere

Reviewed by
R Williams

From Clitheroe, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Olde World Hotel
enjoyable stay but they need to renew the mattresses. talk about SPRINGS sticking in you. We turned the mattress over for the second night but it was not any better. would stay again but in a different room !

Reviewed by
ian e

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay and great beer!

Reviewed by
J Evans

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cold room & very basic
I booked a quiet room with parking & didn't get either of these.
My room was cold, with no heating on, I was eventually @ 22.20 was given a portable heater....!
The bedding,pillows and blanket is old, worn out and all needs replacing.
The T.V. remote is kept at reception and not provided until it is requested!!
Its noisy with music playing clearly for the benefit of the staff, as the place was closed,at 23.30 and 7am. The cleaner starts to vacuum very early in the morning and bangs on doors asking to vacate the room, whilst still within checkout time........
Breakfast is basic. Half a tomato,cheap bread,& fried food,the only redeeming factor was coffee served in a pot, made by a very pleasant man serving breakfast,who explained he is the brewer there.
All in all I would not recommend,or return.

Reviewed by
MARK H

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint but noisy at night
Not enough bedding for colder nights. Bed was firm which was ok for us. Room was spacious with plenty of seating. Night was disturbed by Halloween party which we didn't fancy. As this pub is in the town centre there was a lot of student noise until 5 am which kept us awake. We didn't know about the beer festival in our pub on Thursday night. Food was good with nice atmosphere. Staff were lovely. Very handy for town visit though. Overall this was a nice stay but as you would expect wih town centre accomodation there was a lot of late night noise.

Reviewed by
Ian Banks

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel
Only stayed for one night, but the service and welcome was first class, The young man who checked us in was lovely, very polite and so hardworking. Had to much to drink so was unable to enjoy the breakfast xx

Reviewed by
Carolyn M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next