No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wardonia Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
48-54 Argyle Street , London, WC1H 8ER
Located within a 5 minute walk of both London King’s Cross Rail Station and St Pancras International Station, the Wardonia Hotel offers basic rooms with free Wi-Fi access. A 24-hour front desk and luggage storage are also provided.

Euston Underground and Rail Station can be reached after a 10 minute walk and Covent Garden is just a 10-minute tube journey away. The Bloomsbury Theatre and the Shaw Theatre are within 1-mile of the Wardonia.

Each room includes: a flat-screen TV, hairdryer, and coffee & tea amenities, as well as a small private bathroom with a shower.
Please note that there is no lift available at the hotel, however staff is here to help carry your luggage to your room.
Picture of Wardonia Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 96 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

small but perfectly formed!
I had a club double room which turned out to in the basement, with a window looking out into a mostly covered storage area. This meant ventilation was fine but very little daylight. However, for an overnight stay this isn't a problem.
The room itself was well laid out with good storage space. The double bed was a little short for me (I'm 6'4") but extremely comfortable. Plenty of adjustable heat and variable lighting. Brilliant shower! Also very polite, friendly and helpful reception staff.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From Matlock, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok
Tiny room but clean. There were many cheap looking smaller hotels on neighbouring streets , i wonder whether those are any cheaper and still useable , they probably aren't available online ...

Reviewed by
oksana m

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well-located great value budget hotel
Very well located close to S t Pancras and King Cross stations. Small but clean and well decorated rooms. Good shower. Coffee-making facilities. Helpful staff. Ideal if you are catching an early train from St Pancras/King Cross (even Euston only 15 mins walk away). Very good value.

Reviewed by
Christopher M

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
The hotel was quiet; the room was small, but clean and comfortable. Excellent en-suite facilities.

Reviewed by
Keith N

From ALTRINCHAM, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice location and hotel but don't make any complaints!
A nice little hotel well located in central London on the door step of St Pancreas St, in easy walking distance of the main attractions. Clean and tidy despite the rooms being fairly small. We had a bit of an issue on night 1 when we were woken at 3am in the morning due to someone talking very loudly on the telephone (from reception) or in a ground floor room; the walls are fairly thin so the noise woke us and went on for a while. The remainder of the stay was good but upon checking out we did decide to tell reception and the guy there (the owner we think) did get fairly grumpy with us for bringing it up. He stretched to giving us £10 off but he was not at all happy about it. Shame, because it was a fairly good hotel for the price but we weren't particularly happy with being woken up, or with his attitude. He told us we should have come out of our room to find the culprit of the loud noise and complained that we hadn't told him earlier than check out. There was no way that we were going to come down to reception at 3 in the morning (to play detective) because we were half asleep and undressed. We were there on business and extremely busy with no time to stop so we waited until check out to bring it up. We thought the hotel was ok but we wouldn't stay there again because of the above.

Reviewed by
C Esposito

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem if you need somewhere warm, clean and central.
Central location with everything you need to make you comfortable. Small but effective. Will be back.

Reviewed by
Sarah E

From , UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would Use Again
Room was small but adequate if you are looking for an affordable base when you are not going to be there much. Clean rooms and close to the main train stations. Helpful staff and worked well for me.
Would use again!

Reviewed by
Neil M

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly service and clean rooms

Reviewed by
Steve L

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

More like a quality train sleeper cabin than a hotel room.
Newly refurbished room, spotlessly clean, and petite. The photos are 100% accurate. The other recent LateRooms reviews were spot on, and as such, I really enjoyed my 2 nights stay. Up on the 3rd floor, the hotel is quiet, a little local traffic, good high speed, free WiFi. Proper freeview TV, perfect reception. Staff were always polite, and made my short stay very pleasant. Do be aware of steep stairs and narrow passage ways (no lifts).

Reviewed by
steve w

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wardonia Hotel
Rooms were small but we were expecting that. Very clean and comfortable. Friendly staff. Would recommend as a good budget hotel in close proximity to the Underground, Kings Cross and St Pancras stations. Lots of places for breakfast close by.

Reviewed by
J Mutton

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next