No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wardonia Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
48-54 Argyle Street, London, WC1H 8ER
The Wardonia Hotel is situated 200 metres from Kings Cross Station and is a convenient place to explore central London. Our Rooms are compact but offer good quality fittings and good value. Accommodation is spacious and airy with an elegant, classical decor. Tea/coffee making in every room, Please note that we do not have a lift available at this hotel reception is open 24hours a day.
Picture of Wardonia Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 72 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient and clean
The rooms are tiny but clean. Although there is no food it is very close to a number of places like Costa for breakfast. The location is very convenient for bus and trains and the British Library.

Reviewed by
M Padmanabhan

From India
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unexpectedly brilliant hotel!
Only booked here as it was the only place I could find that was reasonably priced at the last minute. However, it turned out to be a really nice little hotel in an excellent location. Rooms small but with everything you need. Looked to have been recently refurbished, really clean and tidy, super comfy bed, excellent shower, what more do you need? Beats T/lodge any day and I'll stop here again if on a busness trip anyway.

Reviewed by
Andy M

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wardonia KX
Efficient & friendly staff ... room: small but perfectly formed

Reviewed by
Jeremy L

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Experience at the Wardonia
I stayed here recently as a stop over on the way to a conference in Central London and was initially concerned as it was the first time I'd stayed in a hotel as a lone traveller however the hotel had some positive reviews.
I was pleased to find out that these reviews were well deserved!
The hotel itself is in a convenient location right opposite Kings Cross Station and looks modern and inviting from the exterior. It certainly stands out from the other hotels on the street!
Upon arrival the staff were friendly and helpful and check in was quick and easy. The hotel itself is easy enough to navigate although rather small on the inside with narrow staircases and hallways - For me it wasn't a problem as I was travelling light. however I can imagine anyone with larger/more luggage may struggle to get around easily.
The room I stayed in was a single en suite; it was small and compact however ideal for a one night stopover. Both the bathroom and bedroom area were contemporary and absolutely spotless. I was also pleasantly surprised to find a TV with a wide range of channels and an extremely comfortable bed - better than some 5 star accommodations I've stayed in previously! The pillows were incredible.
Checking out, again, was quick and easy and I noticed staff being particularly helpful to some guests that had just arrived which was brilliant to see.
For me, the Wardonia was ideal for my travel purposes and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I have already recommended it to colleagues (we travel to London a lot for training, etc) and would definitely stay here again myself! It makes a great base for business trips or even a city break if you're not too fussy about space!
Notes:
-I stayed on the ground floor and did hear some noise from other guests returning to their rooms/moving luggage from 11pm. It didn't bother me as I'm a heavy sleeper however light sleepers may want to request a room on a higher floor to to avoid disturbance.
-There's a pub called McGlynn's just around the corner (15 seconds, literally) - I loved this place. It's not a typical tourist's pub and so has a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere and even a pet cat who sits on your knee whilst you drink. Additionally, as a Northerner, I found the price of a pint here much more acceptable than most other places in London!

Overall: Brilliant!

Reviewed by
Lizzie S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little hotel!
Having booked a small double room, it's all we needed. Its very basic with no frills and that's what you pay for. Not that it's a bad thing! Its the ideal place for a short city break. It's in a great location literally a stones throw from King's Cross St. Pancreas so no 'hiking' to nearest transport. We hardly spent any time there but we were pleased we chose this hotel. Would recommend and would use again for similar trip.

Reviewed by
L Thompson

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Compact
Although the room was very small it had everything you need for a short stay. It is spotless clean and in a great location.

Reviewed by
andy h

From Winsford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Handy
I have stayed quite a few times - it is really handy for Kings Cross/St Pancreas/Euston and has a bag room which saves (time and money) using the luggage facility at the stations. Rooms are simple and very clean - very compact but functional shower room - staff friendly - quiet.
It used to be much cheaper making it a great place for a single person to stay. Now its price is equal with many other places which have much bigger rooms. So as the single rooms are very small, with no desk and no place to put your bag other than the floor or bed - I only stay there if I am in London for just one or two nights - for which its is more than adequete

Reviewed by
Louise C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Compact and well formed
Great if you are looking for a bed for the night. Friendly staff and comfortable bed. The rooms are basic but have en-suite. Be aware there is no lift for people needing help. Decent view out the window. Wouldn't be sure about staying here longer than a couple of days though

Reviewed by
Russell Foster

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient, quiet, comfortable enough. No fuss standard accommodation.
Very small double but as I was on my own it was fine.

Reviewed by
Anne V

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, comfy & compact
Great value for money, ideal location, fantastic shower, everything you need for a short stay in London

Reviewed by
Paul I

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next