No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wardonia Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
48-54 Argyle Street, London, WC1H 8ER
Located within 5 minutes’ walk of both London King’s Cross Rail Station and St Pancras International Station, the Wardonia Hotel offers basic rooms with free Wi-Fi access. A 24-hour front desk and luggage storage are also provided.

Euston Underground and Rail Station can be reached after 10 minutes' walk and Covent Garden is just a 10-minute tube journey away. The Bloomsbury Theatre and the Shaw Theatre are within 1-mile of the Wardonia.

Each room includes: a flat-screen TV, hairdryer, and coffee & tea amenities, as well as a small private bathroom with a shower.
Please note that there is no lift available at the hotel, however staff is here to help carry your luggage to your room.
Picture of Wardonia Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 86 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good by London standards
Great location very close to Kings Cross. Staff were fine, I didn't have much contact with them really. The room was small but clean and the bed comfy. The shower was great. My only gripe was that my room was noisy, being just below reception. Anywhere outside central London this hotel would be considered very poor, but for £65 it was value for money.

Reviewed by
Rory O

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

acceptable for the price
central location; quiet; certainly no frills, but certainly acceptable as somewhere to put your head down.

Reviewed by
peter s

From Chester, England
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Predictable
Good clean solid place to stay - no surprises.

Reviewed by
David P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for a short stay
I stayed here with my girlfriend for one night as we were seeing a gig at the O2 and didn't want to rush home after for the last train. The room was exactly as described and in good condition and the hotel is in a great location right next to kings cross. Well worth a stay if you're after a good value room for the night!

Reviewed by
Richard M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shopping trip with a friend
The hotel is very good value for money, our twin room was more spacious, cleaner and quieter than ones we have stayed in before for the same price or more, the 24 hour reception staff were friendly and helpful.
Very convenient location for anything you might want to do in London, Kings Cross/St Pancras station is a mere 2 min walk away.
I would happily stay here again.
It may however not be suitable for anyone with mobility problems as the corridors and stairs were narrow and quite steep.

Reviewed by
Anne B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean & small
Good for short stay. Very clean and handy it was 24/7 reception.

Reviewed by
A Holloway

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but perfect for a bargain break in London
The first thing to say are that the rooms are rather on the small size, but I expected that after reading other reviews on the web. However when you are having a break in London, you are not going to spend a lot of time in your hotel room other than for sleeping and having a shower. The room was clean and modern, the only minus point being lack of storage space for clothing so had to live out of a suitcase during the stay. Location wise, the hotel was superbly placed, being only 5 minutes walk from St. Pancras station, ideal for me as I was traveling by Eurostar to Europe after spending a few days in London. The hotel does not offer meals, but the pub next door does an excellent full English breakfast, a great way to start the day (the pub also offers a continental breakfast as an alternative). Pricewise for central London, the rates for this hotel could not be beaten (even Travelodges were more expensive). I would definitely stay again in this hotel for a future London break.

Reviewed by
C Wood

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

all in all not a bad place to stay. room small but clean, good shower and all you need for an overnight stay in London.
only down points:- receptionist should not be on facebook and trying to buy stuff on the phone whilst you book in and another one not helpful when i couldnt get on line to work. the cigerette smoke coming in the window from the street where all the smokers sat on the steps was not pleasent either

Reviewed by
k jarman

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not good for light sleepers
Location is primarily what the Wardonia Hotel has going for it. However, the rooms are uncomfortably small and you can hear most of the activity that's going on in the rooms around you. I was looking forward to overcoming my jet lag with a few good nights of rest but the voices in the hallways and the footsteps on the floor above me were enough to keep me awake at night or to wake me up as early as six in the morning. Granted, I'm an extremely light sleeper. Additionally, I was traveling alone so I was a little more sensitive to my sorroundings than I would have been had I been travelling with my significant other. All in wish I had shelled out an extra fifty pounds for more comfortable accommodations.

Reviewed by
Anna M

From USA
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disgusting
The whole place is disgusting. The place never got cleaned & the manager charged us a bomb for staying there, i hated it & i couldnt find anywhere else too stay, we travelled over 3hrs too stay in london it nearly destroyed our weekend.
DONT STAY HERE. If you do take a cleaning products with you.
Sorry but i'm a honest person & i always tell the truth.

Reviewed by
Joanne a

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next