No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wardonia Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
48-54 Argyle Street, London, WC1H 8ER
Located within 5 minutes’ walk of both London King’s Cross Rail Station and St Pancras International Station, the Wardonia Hotel offers basic rooms with free Wi-Fi access. A 24-hour front desk and luggage storage are also provided.

Euston Underground and Rail Station can be reached after 10 minutes' walk and Covent Garden is just a 10-minute tube journey away. The Bloomsbury Theatre and the Shaw Theatre are within 1-mile of the Wardonia.

Each room includes: a flat-screen TV, hairdryer, and coffee & tea amenities, as well as a small private bathroom with a shower.
Please note that there is no lift available at the hotel, however staff is here to help carry your luggage to your room.
Picture of Wardonia Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 93 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mum and daughter in London
Small clean room, helpful staff, location great for arrival, departure and getting around London.

Reviewed by
S Peel

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wardonia
Clean room, good service, very convenient for Kings Cross. Cheaper out of season!

Reviewed by
Steve L

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent Value near Kings X and St Pancras
Of the options near the stations, it was reasonably priced and better than most. The room was tiny and noisy, but we only needed an overnight stay. Wouldn't recommend it for a long stay to be honest.
Staff were friendly enough

Reviewed by
Ian Samways

From Redhill, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely clean hotel in an ideal location
This is a lovely hotel and more than worth the money. Although the room was quite small, it was very clean and provided a perfect base whilst visiting London for the weekend. The staff were extremely helpful and polite. The location of the hotel was ideal as it is very close to both Kings Cross/St Pancras and Euston Station. I would definitely stay at The Wardonia again and recommend this hotel to others.

Reviewed by
F Worrall

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleaseant stay
I found the hotel clean and comfortable the location is brilliant for getting around anywhere in London. Would stay again next time we return.

Reviewed by
margaret mcginn

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient and clean
The rooms are tiny but clean. Although there is no food it is very close to a number of places like Costa for breakfast. The location is very convenient for bus and trains and the British Library.

Reviewed by
M Padmanabhan

From India
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unexpectedly brilliant hotel!
Only booked here as it was the only place I could find that was reasonably priced at the last minute. However, it turned out to be a really nice little hotel in an excellent location. Rooms small but with everything you need. Looked to have been recently refurbished, really clean and tidy, super comfy bed, excellent shower, what more do you need? Beats T/lodge any day and I'll stop here again if on a busness trip anyway.

Reviewed by
Andy M

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wardonia KX
Efficient & friendly staff ... room: small but perfectly formed

Reviewed by
Jeremy L

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Experience at the Wardonia
I stayed here recently as a stop over on the way to a conference in Central London and was initially concerned as it was the first time I'd stayed in a hotel as a lone traveller however the hotel had some positive reviews.
I was pleased to find out that these reviews were well deserved!
The hotel itself is in a convenient location right opposite Kings Cross Station and looks modern and inviting from the exterior. It certainly stands out from the other hotels on the street!
Upon arrival the staff were friendly and helpful and check in was quick and easy. The hotel itself is easy enough to navigate although rather small on the inside with narrow staircases and hallways - For me it wasn't a problem as I was travelling light. however I can imagine anyone with larger/more luggage may struggle to get around easily.
The room I stayed in was a single en suite; it was small and compact however ideal for a one night stopover. Both the bathroom and bedroom area were contemporary and absolutely spotless. I was also pleasantly surprised to find a TV with a wide range of channels and an extremely comfortable bed - better than some 5 star accommodations I've stayed in previously! The pillows were incredible.
Checking out, again, was quick and easy and I noticed staff being particularly helpful to some guests that had just arrived which was brilliant to see.
For me, the Wardonia was ideal for my travel purposes and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I have already recommended it to colleagues (we travel to London a lot for training, etc) and would definitely stay here again myself! It makes a great base for business trips or even a city break if you're not too fussy about space!
Notes:
-I stayed on the ground floor and did hear some noise from other guests returning to their rooms/moving luggage from 11pm. It didn't bother me as I'm a heavy sleeper however light sleepers may want to request a room on a higher floor to to avoid disturbance.
-There's a pub called McGlynn's just around the corner (15 seconds, literally) - I loved this place. It's not a typical tourist's pub and so has a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere and even a pet cat who sits on your knee whilst you drink. Additionally, as a Northerner, I found the price of a pint here much more acceptable than most other places in London!

Overall: Brilliant!

Reviewed by
Lizzie S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little hotel!
Having booked a small double room, it's all we needed. Its very basic with no frills and that's what you pay for. Not that it's a bad thing! Its the ideal place for a short city break. It's in a great location literally a stones throw from King's Cross St. Pancreas so no 'hiking' to nearest transport. We hardly spent any time there but we were pleased we chose this hotel. Would recommend and would use again for similar trip.

Reviewed by
L Thompson

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next