No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wardonia Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
48-54 Argyle Street, London, WC1H 8ER
The Wardonia Hotel is situated 200 metres from Kings Cross Station and is a convenient place to explore central London. Our Rooms are compact but offer good quality fittings and good value. Accommodation is spacious and airy with an elegant, classical decor. Tea/coffee making in every room, Please note that we do not have a lift available at this hotel reception is open 24hours a day.
Picture of Wardonia Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for central London
Small room - very clean, twin beds afford a feel of more room. Rooms have everything you need - shower/ toilet/ kettle/ tv etc; great location for central London, Euston, etc and walking distance to big hospitals if visiting relatives

Reviewed by
Louise D

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Clean, tidy and value for money

Reviewed by
A Singh

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
Beds were clean and comfortable, and the shower was powerful, what more can I ask for from a budget hotel. Everything was basic, but good quality and clean. I was not interrupted by any noise, and I had a really good sleep. THe staff were very friendly. I will be staying here again and again and again.

Reviewed by
Aissa Tyley

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed at 3 in area best so far
You can't expect wow for the money the hotels in this area charge, but you do expect clean and basic amenities like good bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board especially if you are on business.
The Wardonia is very clean they seem to be investing in their hotel looks impressive from outside, its carpects looked clean and its a great location. Room was small but acceptable but the shower was fabulous - really powerful, hot and clean and teh drain could cope with the flow - hate slow flowing drains - best bathroom I've had in area I'd say puts many hotels of double triple the price to shame. They didn't have an ironing board which was weird so had to iron on a towel on the floor!! Bed was a little narrow and the duvet a bit small especially when you turned in bed you felt your back was exposed. What I don't like is all these cheap hotels by Kings Cross (and I've stayed at 3 now) all stain their wood a red mahogany which to me is so 70's - simple white gloss would make the place look more contemporary and even though the Wardonia are doing up their place (reception is nice) they still over did it on the mahogany wood panelling which makes narrow corridoors look even more narrow and dingy.
Overall best so far in area - others I have stayed in are European and Montana - both not as good by a sizable shot!

Reviewed by
A Ashraf

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, tidy and comfortable room.

Reviewed by
A Oladimeji

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap, small, great location
It's not the finest hotel in London, it's probably not the finest hotel on the street, it is however cheap and clean and functional; so if all you're looking for is a quiet place to rest your bones for a few hours then I'd recommend it
(the single room I had was very small, and the beds aren't the widest but it done the job)

Reviewed by
John K

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good by London standards
Great location very close to Kings Cross. Staff were fine, I didn't have much contact with them really. The room was small but clean and the bed comfy. The shower was great. My only gripe was that my room was noisy, being just below reception. Anywhere outside central London this hotel would be considered very poor, but for £65 it was value for money.

Reviewed by
Rory O

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

acceptable for the price
central location; quiet; certainly no frills, but certainly acceptable as somewhere to put your head down.

Reviewed by
peter s

From Chester, England
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Predictable
Good clean solid place to stay - no surprises.

Reviewed by
David P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for a short stay
I stayed here with my girlfriend for one night as we were seeing a gig at the O2 and didn't want to rush home after for the last train. The room was exactly as described and in good condition and the hotel is in a great location right next to kings cross. Well worth a stay if you're after a good value room for the night!

Reviewed by
Richard M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next