No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Best Western Ship Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
70 High Street , Weybridge, KT13 8BQ
Set within some of England’s most attractive countryside (yet only 20 minutes from London), The Ship Hotel makes for a stately presence. Despite the buildings traditional, Old English design, the interiors are refreshingly modern. Cool, crisply designed restaurant and bar offer meals from light lunches to luxury dinner.

Ship Hotels 76 Bedrooms offer variety from single rooms to doubles to our Club rooms - details from reservations department for any special request.. The rooms are well maintained all have ensuite facilities. Some rooms have been recently refurbished with a fresh contemporary style.
What ever the occasion; business or pleasure, the Ship Hotel can accommodate your needs.
Picture of Best Western Ship Hotel, Weybridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs a Refresh
I stay at this hotel very regularly and over the last 12 months some progress has been made to refurbish the rooms, which look and feel like they havent been updated at least since the 80's/early 90's. Some rooms have had a total refresh and are perfectly pleasant, however, there are still a good number that have terrible furniture, awful furnishings and most of the beds have mattresses well past their sell by date. The reception, restaurant and bar are all fairly nice in appearance if only they would focus on the main accommodation such as the halls and bedrooms. Toiletries and facilities such as hairdryers and irons are all below par, the toiletries are brandless and pretty unpleasant. Irons - a must for business travellers staying for a number of days, are pretty poor, cheap and don't really do the job.
Food in the hotel is poor, I wouldn't recommend eating here for anything other than breakfast and even then only for convenience rather than anything else - there are more than enough superior places within walking distance. Breakfast is generally very poor, the service and quality of the food is unacceptable and no matter how many feedback forms I have filled in or comments I have made it does not change. The speed of service if lacking and the restaurant is hardly ever busy with customers as most seem to read the reviews and go elsewhere. Yet you can be sat for 10-20 minutes waiting for some to take your order - you have to order hot food as it is not buffet service but it is clearly not cooked to order as it often arrives quickly and has clearly been sat around. It would at least be better to let you get your own.
If there was more choice of hotels in the area I would not choose to stay at The Ship, unfortunately that is not the case so I begrudgingly continue. It's time Best Western made more effort to vet their franchised hotels for consistency because this does not live up to their TV Advert hype at all which is poor given that Weybridge is a very affluent area.

Reviewed by
james r

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very pleasant hotel requires TLC it's looking very tired.
The room smelt of food night and morning! We asked for a quiet room and were kept awake all night with noise,not happy as we went for a rest,we have stayed at this hotel before but very unhappy with the stay this time. The hotel is suitable for deaf people with no Sence of smell.

Reviewed by
A Luckham

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay for Family Get Together
Booked two rooms for family get together in Cobham. Managed to get the rooms half price, which I thought was good value.
The rooms were clean and of a good size, the breakfasts were cooked to order and were excellent, overall a very pleasant experience.

Reviewed by
Mark Slade

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel in easy reach of London
Very nice hotel with extremely friendly and efficient staff. Breakfast is very good , parking is free and London, Thorpe Park, Legoland and Chessington are within easy reach. Rooms are a decent size and well kept.

Reviewed by
Leslie O

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice and clean!
We received a warm welcome and staff were all polite and helpful. Room was maybe a bit small compared with more reasonably priced accommodation available in the area but very clean and cosy. There were no bar staff available on Sunday lunchtime and no bell/instructions to call anyone, so we went elsewhere. Everything else fine though.

Reviewed by
Nicola D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming Front Of House & All Mod-Cons!
Stand-out feature of our accommodation was the spacious, clean & bright bathroom... the shower curtain was the only (slightly) let-down to the overall presentation, which would be a simple & inexpensive fix. Air-con unit was very welcome in a well appointed bedroom. The breakfast room was light and pleasant, with adequate fayre and smiley members of staff. Carpet out to the courtyard from the bar area, needs to be replaced. However, a decent show that managed expectations.

Reviewed by
L Drinkwater

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay.
This hotel does not deserve a 4 star rating by the authorities, it is deffinatly a 5 star rating.

Reviewed by
c swaffer

From Folkestone, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient location near the centre of town. Easy to find, parking available. Nice bar with decent beer.
Room fine, though too hot for comfort ( it was a hot night ), but then I find most hotels too hot.
We did not eat in the restaurant, though the menu looked good. Breakfast was a good full english, plenty of coffee.

Reviewed by
Keith Davies

From Tewkesbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not great
My room was small, tired and couldn’t of been further away. There was also building work going on the same floor a few rooms away and a strange smell which wasn’t pleasant. Also the broadband was intermittent which was a pain.
Breakfast wasn’t good, the bacon looked like it had been boiled and on the first day I had two under cooked eggs, no toast, butter had been used and no cutlery and there were only a few people there. The following day it was packed and they were struggling to serve everyone, I was brought the wrong breakfast which is fine but then one egg that was like rubber it was that over cooked.
On one occasion I couldn’t get access to my room and had loads of luggage which I had to then take back down to reception and then had to wait to be dealt with and a new room card issued. I couldn’t check out or get a recite as there was a long cue and a wait with just one receptionist working when very busy as it would of made me very late.

Reviewed by
Laurence S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night
I suppose that it was a Sunday the Hotel was not " fully functional" but the meal from the Pub section was very ordinary and I spent a very uncomfortable after the meal. The bed was the smallest I have slept on since my National Service!!

Reviewed by
Roy Mather

From Douglas, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next