No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Grim's Dyke Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
Old Redding, Harrow Weald, HA3 6SH
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel is a beautiful, secluded 19th century country house. Just 12 miles from the center of London and within easy reach of Heathrow, the magnificent former country residence of Sir William Gilbert is set in over 40 acres of beautiful gardens and woodlands. With 46 elegant rooms, housed in both the main hotel and lodge, a 2 AA rosette restaurant serving our own seasonal produce, this is the perfect British country retreat.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Grim's Dyke Hotel, Harrow Weald at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 70 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice good value hotel in beautiful grounds. Would enjoy staying again.

Reviewed by
S Ellis

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

faboulous location but hotel poor
Beautiful old house and wonderful gardens. However, lack of maintenance and good housekeeping checks meant entrance door rarely closed so no safety to the block, blind on window broken, shower collapsed on me, bed issues etc. Restaurant is expensive for what it is and very poor quality starter of goats cheese soufflé - when I complained no one came and spoke to me so poor customer care in the restaurant. Such a shame as the location is beautiful and evening singing made it a delight to sit outdoors on a summer evening. Would stay for the location but take my own food. Would recommend for the peaceful location but mention my own experience

Reviewed by
D Keel

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely surprised
Booked for 1 night stay and a lovely surprise to find this grade2 listed hotel in beautiful old grounds a peaceful oasis nor busy Harrow. Stayed in the garden lodges and very peaceful night with no noise to light as back into woodland staff ver good and lovely period hotel

Reviewed by
Andrew Procter

From Gainsborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcome
We were disappointed on arrival that the welcome was very poor by the receptionist. She could barely speak to us and was almost rude when we asked directions again to where our room was. This poor welcome put us off eating at the hotel so we ate in the nearby town. Although we were pleased with the room we were disappointed that we had not been told before purchase that the room was not in the main building but in the lodge some distance away. we may have looked else where had we known this. The receptionists who were on duty when we left however were more friendly and because of this we would stay again.

Reviewed by
karen e

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely accommodation in a beautiful setting
We have recently moved to Somerset but frequently return to our old home area of Oxhey Village to visit friends. The Grim's Dyke hotel in Old Redding is the perfect place as a base. It would normally be unaffordable but through some Late Room deals it has been possible to use this lovely hotel. Since January 2014 we have since stayed again - in May and more recently on 20 June 2014.
The rooms are pleasantly furnished with views over the splendid gardens. The staff are helpful and we enjoy spending time in the lovely lounge bar.
Thank you
Diane and Robert Lee (aged 67 and 63)

Reviewed by
diane lee

From nailsea bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice historic hotel
You can see why this is a popular wedding venue. Very pretty historic house with annexe rooms

Reviewed by
James L

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient for London
Stayed at the Grims Dyke because it's 10 mins drive from Stanmore tube station and it's a lot cheaper than staying in London. It's in a really nice setting although we weren't able to walk far in grounds due to wet weather. There were some deficiencies in room but tese were soon sorted out. Sunday morning the breakfast room was very busy but there were plenty of staff on hand; Monday morning was much quieter. Breakfast kippers were good, the Full English was acceptable. Why do staff insist on serving tea and toast as soon as the order has been placed, when these are not normally needed until later? By then they are cold and stewed.

Reviewed by
John B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

certainly not grim
no complaints, just plaudits.

Reviewed by
Robert S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best 'best western' ever
A lovely hotel in superb grounds made very special by the friendly, knowledgeable delightful staff. One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in made even more special at less than £70 per night.

Reviewed by
Nadia H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great staff great place food fantastic , loved every moment we stay'd there

Reviewed by
C Phillips

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next