Apollo Hotel

2

43 Argyle Street, London, WC1H 8EP

Price From 172.79 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (24)

75% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S Spencer

  • March 2015

Just Right

Friendly, quiet but within a stones throw of mainline and tube stations and easy walk to Bloomsbury, The British Museum and National Library.

Great breakfast too.

  • R McEwan

  • November 2014

A convenient place for a short stay.

The hostel I use when visiting London was fully booked so I elected to stay here in November 2014.

I booked less than a week in advance so thought the £200 for two nights in a twin room was a fair deal for a hotel over a hostel.

The location is great. Close to Kings cross and st Pancras. If you've heavy bags are are travelling by train then you wont have very far to drag them. On the flip side of this, if your bags are very large or heavy you may struggle on the stairs within the hotel. As with many buildings of this age the staircases arnt particularly wide. The room its self was okay. We stayed on the top floor and the roof sloped inwards slightly. The room was small for two people but with the price and short stay I mind this didn't bother me. The WiFi was free and of a good standard. The room was clean, the shower was fine, the bathroom was small, however you couldn't reach all four walls from the toilet, so it wasn't that small. The toilet door didn't have a lock and wasn't attached securely to the bottom hinge. Our room was on the street side of the hotel and at no point was traffic noise an issue. Most of the businesses on the street seem to be other hotels. This is great considering how close to kings cross it is. Noise within the hotel didn't bother me. If your used to the sound proofed larger high end hotels then it might bother you. Apparently the hotel was fully booked during my stay, if that was true then the noise level from other guests was surprisingly low.

The food surprised me. I had not expected a cooked breakfast, with budget hotels you're only given a continental style breakfast. The cooked breakfast wasn't quite of the high standards I'm used to. However being unexpectedly included with the cost of the room I feel no reason to be very critical of it. The only thing I'm annoyed with is some nonsense 3% charge that was sprung on me when I checked in. The 3% didn't amount to much extra however this isn't the point. The price LateRooms gives should be the price that is paid. Quite frankly I'm offended that I'm told how much I will have to pay only to discover later the hotel wants more. In summery. If the idea of a hostel, with less security and shared toilets scares you, pay the extra to stay here. You get your own locking room with your own toilet and shower. Plus you get a free continental and cooked breakfast. If you want plenty of room for you, your family, your luggage AND want to be comfortable for a stay longer than a few days, this isn't for you. Pay the extra for another hotel. In my opinion, this is a decent place where you get value for the small amount of money you part with. Lastly, Laterooms need to tell the owners to get rid of the stupid 3% surprise charge or include it in the Laterooms quoted price.

  • Anthony F

  • October 2014

Small but convenient.

Just off Euston Road yet very quiet.

Small rooms and not cheap but the going rate for the area I guess. Clean and pleasant hotel with an adequate room. Nothing wonderful but it is very well situated.

  • Heather T

  • October 2014

Comfortable hotel

Enjoyed our stay at this friendly and comfortable hotel.

Breakfast was excellent.

  • Lynne O

  • October 2014

very good

  • M Berger

  • October 2014

I hope I 'll never have to stay in a hotel like this one again!

Booked this hotel for 4 nights because of the location.

On arrival there was no lift, we had to carry our luggege three floors up to a tiny bedroon with a tiny bathroom. The beds were comfortable but it was very warm inside and the old table fan made so much noise we had to sleep with just the window open. There was a pub accross the road thus we could here the chatting noise and smell of smoke was not somthing I wish to experience whilst I am sleeping. Breakfast was ok. The kitchen and the dining room was just next to each other, our clothes smelt of fat from the frying.

It was a family owned hotel, the man was a little friendly but the women were quite rude. On arrival they informed us that there was a 3% credit card charge, I paid cash and expected a proper receipt but there came none. When I asked for one got a hand writen piece of paper with the hotel address on. To top it all they gave away my luggege to another guest from the luggege room, by the time they managed to get it back it was too late and I missed my flight!. I had to pay £ 382 for a new ticket and sit in the airport all night :( According to the hotel owner it was not their fault that another guest chose to take my suitcase!. I have been travelling to London for the past 15 years and have styed in many different hotels, this was a nightmare I never experienced before. Bloomsbury area has many decent hotels, I shall be never staying in this one again!!

  • T James

  • June 2014

Do not stay here - Overbooked once again

Until hotels realise that overbooking is a serious inconvenience to their customers, having to move somewhere else upon arrival - the problem is not going to go away.

I booked the Apollo because it had good reviews, however I arrived and was told there was no room and was promptly walked somewhere else. The Apollo had taken my payment however and so I had basically payed Apollo prices to stay somewhere much worse.

So I have therefore reviewed the Apollo against where I actually stayed - European Hotel - which was crap. Cheap shoddy room, loud neighbours, awful en suite, hot unhygienic breakfast room with loud Eastern Europeans arguing in the kitchen. Not good enough by far.

  • S Bosworth

  • June 2014

Great little hotel, try it!

Great value for money and friendly, helpful staff.

Will definitely stay here again next time I come to London. Location very good too, just a few minutes walk from St Pancras and Kings Cross. Lovely cooked breakfast or continental if you wanted. We have stayed in budget hotels before and could see why they were budget but while this wasn't 'luxurious' we certainly didn't feel anything had been skimped on either.

  • Harry G

  • June 2014

Excellent Service

Our short stay was a very pleasant experience for us both.

It became apparent on arrival that the Hotel's philosophy was one of best practice in support of clients from arrival to departure. We will be certain to stay there again in the future.

  • Mel N

  • May 2014

Great value for money

The Apollo gave us everything we wanted - a very convenient but quiet location, very friendly welcome, great shower and great breakfast.

The room is small, but clean and had everything we needed. Thanks Apollo for a stay that was very good value for the location.