No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Cavendish

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
75 Gower Street Bloomsbury, London, WC1E 6HJ
Hotel Cavendish is situated in Gower Street, Bloomsbury Fitzrovia district of London's West-End. The University of London and the British Museum are a stones throw away. All our rooms are en-suite with toilet and bathrooms.All our rooms have been refurnished recently by a well known designer.
Picture of Hotel Cavendish, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 133 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
46% recommended this accommodation to a friend 50% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Sized Rooms and very Clean
HI just here for one night. Although reception could do with some updating, my room was spacious and very clean. Bathroom a bit small but hey its London. Great value in comparison to other hotels. A 15 min walk to Oxford St, and taxis very regular, Staff friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
M Clarke

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In the top 3 worst hotels I have ever stayed in
I would not stay here again. Room was painfully small with no drawers to store any clothing in, hardly room to move around, there was a tall cupboard with 5-6 hangers but no shelves or anything, including no rack to even set a suitcase on. Room was at front of hotel on 2nd floor so over a really busy London street and the window glazing was so thin I felt I was in the traffic, despite having earplugs I didnt get but a couple hours sleep each night. There was also some sort of generator that started going off every 15 minutes about 8am and with the walls as thin as windows, this too made it very difficult to sleep. The shower head was based approx 7.5-8 ft up and had hardly any pressure, so took ages to shower (no bath). The breakfast room is small, seats about 25 people at once, but with a 2 hours window to eat I ended up waiting each morning, 15 minutes one day. There is also no elevator, which I knew in advance (and no one offered to help with luggage when I arrived) but it added to annoyance when I had to pack my bag up and leave before I was supposed to. I was booked in for 3 nights but after the second night I knew I had to go. It took me until 2pm to find another suitable hotel (I was in London working so had to attend to this before finding a new room) and when I told them I had to check out due to the noise I asked for some sort of partial refund on the £120 per night rate, they said they would not offer anything at all as good will, so I ended up paying twice for a room that night. This hotel classifies itself as 4 star, I would call it 2 star at best. It was clean, so this is the only good thing I can say, and a room should be clean as standard anyway!

Reviewed by
Kelly S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Appalling
I'm afraid the room booked was worth neither the list price nor the reduced price: trailing wires, very small, missing grouting from the bathroom, tv not viewable from the bed, windows couldn't be opened, dirty nets, shabby paintwork etc etc.

Reviewed by
Kathy D

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed stained with urine and blood
I pulled back the bed clothes to reveal stains which were not on the sheet but on the cover underneath - yellow urine and two large blood stains. I complained and then realised that it was too late and i was too tired to try and find another hotel. I was not offered another room. The sheet and undersheet were removed and we put on a new sheet. The mattress below was also stained. I tried not to think about it. I got to bed and pillows were like rocks. I got to bed and then found that the window was open and it would not close, so i had full street noise also all night. It was the worst hotel experience I have ever had. I hope that they will give me a refund.

Reviewed by
N Luck

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is possibly the worst hotel I have ever had the displeasure of staying in.

Reviewed by
J Dougherty

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No frills, friendly staff, good location London Hotel
Very pleasant man greeted me on arrival. The room was very small and a little tired looking but adequately equipped (even a safe in the wardrobe). A little noisy but this didn't stop me sleeping. A good, clean bathroom with a decent shower and an iron was made available on request. I'd happily stay again.

Reviewed by
Michael W

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel a bit tied but okay.Shortage of space in breakfast room so tried to rush you though.

Reviewed by
S Walker

From Tamworth, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No good for vegans or anyone with food specific requirements!
Extremely small room but only to be expected really I guess.. small but clean and functional with a very comfy bed..
However....
On my booking form I had specifically stated that I am vegan and so could they please make sure that there is at least soya milk and vegan margarine provided for me at breakfast...there was none, and when I asked I was looked at and spoken to like I was the stupid one.. none of the kitchen staff spoke English so it was difficult to explain to them... one woman repeatedly showed me the milk and the butter and seemed to think I had a problem not understanding the fact that they did indeed provide milk and butter! They seemed quite annoyed with me so I gave up talking to them. When I went to reception and told them that I felt disappointed that there had been no provision for me, he simply asked me my room number and shuffled some papers on his desk as if that would shed any light on where the soya milk was... I had a print out of the booking which had my request on it, and he simply said that he was sorry. I pointed out that I had paid £85 for bed and breakfast, but that now I would have to go and purchase some breakfast elsewhere.... I also asked what happens when they have people staying who have food allergies, which by the law of averages must surely happen in this day and age! He said sorry again and looked uncomfortable. We were at a standstill and I backed down.... it would have been decent of them to at least offer me a £10 refund to cover the cost of the breakfast!
I was not happy....
So poor service really which is a shame because it is a lovely hotel, physically, both inside and out. Lovely Georgian architecture....

Reviewed by
Jeannie Etherton

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
Very friendly staff. Allowed us to leave our bags there all day.

Reviewed by
Maureen J

From Bala, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worse hotel ever stayed in
From the moment we walked in, we knew we were in trouble. The man behind the desk had the personality of a dead rat, no eye contact, no smile, no movement, no talking. When asked about local attractions, no idea. The room took me back to the 1960's. Paint peeling off the walls, wires hanging about all over the place. Shower was leaking so much that the water came out as fast as a tortoise in a race and no hot water. Mention this to the 'wax model' of a receptionist, they cant do anything about it. Breakfast was included but on Sunday morning finishes at 9.30am. What the hell is the point of that, most guests would have a lie in on Sunday. Its as much use as an ice cream in the middle of winter.

Reviewed by
h singh

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next