No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Cavendish

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
75 Gower Street Bloomsbury, London, WC1E 6HJ
Hotel Cavendish is situated in Gower Street, Bloomsbury Fitzrovia district of London's West-End. The University of London and the British Museum are a stones throw away. All our rooms are en-suite with toilet and bathrooms.All our rooms have been refurnished recently by a well known designer.
Picture of Hotel Cavendish, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 129 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
46% recommended this accommodation to a friend 50% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is possibly the worst hotel I have ever had the displeasure of staying in.

Reviewed by
J Dougherty

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No frills, friendly staff, good location London Hotel
Very pleasant man greeted me on arrival. The room was very small and a little tired looking but adequately equipped (even a safe in the wardrobe). A little noisy but this didn't stop me sleeping. A good, clean bathroom with a decent shower and an iron was made available on request. I'd happily stay again.

Reviewed by
Michael W

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel a bit tied but okay.Shortage of space in breakfast room so tried to rush you though.

Reviewed by
S Walker

From Tamworth, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No good for vegans or anyone with food specific requirements!
Extremely small room but only to be expected really I guess.. small but clean and functional with a very comfy bed..
However....
On my booking form I had specifically stated that I am vegan and so could they please make sure that there is at least soya milk and vegan margarine provided for me at breakfast...there was none, and when I asked I was looked at and spoken to like I was the stupid one.. none of the kitchen staff spoke English so it was difficult to explain to them... one woman repeatedly showed me the milk and the butter and seemed to think I had a problem not understanding the fact that they did indeed provide milk and butter! They seemed quite annoyed with me so I gave up talking to them. When I went to reception and told them that I felt disappointed that there had been no provision for me, he simply asked me my room number and shuffled some papers on his desk as if that would shed any light on where the soya milk was... I had a print out of the booking which had my request on it, and he simply said that he was sorry. I pointed out that I had paid £85 for bed and breakfast, but that now I would have to go and purchase some breakfast elsewhere.... I also asked what happens when they have people staying who have food allergies, which by the law of averages must surely happen in this day and age! He said sorry again and looked uncomfortable. We were at a standstill and I backed down.... it would have been decent of them to at least offer me a £10 refund to cover the cost of the breakfast!
I was not happy....
So poor service really which is a shame because it is a lovely hotel, physically, both inside and out. Lovely Georgian architecture....

Reviewed by
Jeannie Etherton

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
Very friendly staff. Allowed us to leave our bags there all day.

Reviewed by
Maureen J

From Bala, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worse hotel ever stayed in
From the moment we walked in, we knew we were in trouble. The man behind the desk had the personality of a dead rat, no eye contact, no smile, no movement, no talking. When asked about local attractions, no idea. The room took me back to the 1960's. Paint peeling off the walls, wires hanging about all over the place. Shower was leaking so much that the water came out as fast as a tortoise in a race and no hot water. Mention this to the 'wax model' of a receptionist, they cant do anything about it. Breakfast was included but on Sunday morning finishes at 9.30am. What the hell is the point of that, most guests would have a lie in on Sunday. Its as much use as an ice cream in the middle of winter.

Reviewed by
h singh

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst hotel I've ever stayed in!
No hot water for 2 days and when I mentioned this to the receptionist he just laughed and said 'complain to laterooms' worst customer I've ever received. Do not stay here.

Reviewed by
Lewis A

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the worst hotel i've stayed in for a long time
tiny, dirty, no ironing board in the the hotel.

Reviewed by
Alex B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth the money
The room was very small at the top of the hotel, locks were not working when we stayed so didn't get keys for our room. There has obviously been problems in the room, ceiling and walls were badly patched up. There was a terrible smell coming from the pipes. We were given no information on arrival and had to ask about times of breakfast etc. We also were forced to pay on arrival which was very frustrating as didn't have a good stay. Breakfast was very small and didn't taste that great.

Reviewed by
K Pritchett

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient but could be so much more
Unfortunately first impressions at the Hotel Cavendish were not good. In a row of well kept buildings this one stood out with paintwork not in good order and the windows were not very clean. The staff on the front desk were courteous and very helpful. The room matched the exterior in that the decor was a bit tired, although the bed and en-suite seemed clean. The shower did not drain as well as it could though. We were fooled with the apparent 4 star rating, and we are sure this could not be the same 4 star as set for other hotels. The breakfast was really quite good though. The position of the hotel was quite convenient for some of the sights (not that far from Leicester Square and within walking distance of Euston Station if you don't mind walking.

Reviewed by
John H

From Crewe, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next