No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Cavendish

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
75 Gower Street Bloomsbury, London, WC1E 6HJ
Hotel Cavendish is situated in Gower Street, Bloomsbury Fitzrovia district of London's West-End. The University of London and the British Museum are a stones throw away. All our rooms are en-suite with toilet and bathrooms.All our rooms have been refurnished recently by a well known designer.
Picture of Hotel Cavendish, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 126 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
46% recommended this accommodation to a friend 50% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worse hotel ever stayed in
From the moment we walked in, we knew we were in trouble. The man behind the desk had the personality of a dead rat, no eye contact, no smile, no movement, no talking. When asked about local attractions, no idea. The room took me back to the 1960's. Paint peeling off the walls, wires hanging about all over the place. Shower was leaking so much that the water came out as fast as a tortoise in a race and no hot water. Mention this to the 'wax model' of a receptionist, they cant do anything about it. Breakfast was included but on Sunday morning finishes at 9.30am. What the hell is the point of that, most guests would have a lie in on Sunday. Its as much use as an ice cream in the middle of winter.

Reviewed by
h singh

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst hotel I've ever stayed in!
No hot water for 2 days and when I mentioned this to the receptionist he just laughed and said 'complain to laterooms' worst customer I've ever received. Do not stay here.

Reviewed by
Lewis A

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the worst hotel i've stayed in for a long time
tiny, dirty, no ironing board in the the hotel.

Reviewed by
Alex B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth the money
The room was very small at the top of the hotel, locks were not working when we stayed so didn't get keys for our room. There has obviously been problems in the room, ceiling and walls were badly patched up. There was a terrible smell coming from the pipes. We were given no information on arrival and had to ask about times of breakfast etc. We also were forced to pay on arrival which was very frustrating as didn't have a good stay. Breakfast was very small and didn't taste that great.

Reviewed by
K Pritchett

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient but could be so much more
Unfortunately first impressions at the Hotel Cavendish were not good. In a row of well kept buildings this one stood out with paintwork not in good order and the windows were not very clean. The staff on the front desk were courteous and very helpful. The room matched the exterior in that the decor was a bit tired, although the bed and en-suite seemed clean. The shower did not drain as well as it could though. We were fooled with the apparent 4 star rating, and we are sure this could not be the same 4 star as set for other hotels. The breakfast was really quite good though. The position of the hotel was quite convenient for some of the sights (not that far from Leicester Square and within walking distance of Euston Station if you don't mind walking.

Reviewed by
John H

From Crewe, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never stay here!
Worst hotel ever!! Don't be tempted to stay because location is good. I'd rather stay far and be happy. Everything was filthy. Service disgusting! No hot water!

Reviewed by
M Chauhan

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not recommended
Whilst the room was clean, the window did not close in room 106 which is on the first floor facing the main road which is so so noisy. In addition to that there was as a delivery lorry which was delivering all the hotels on this main road their bed linen, and they parked directly underneath the window. For over an hour at 1130pm all that I could hear was the noise from the trolleys back and forth, and the team were smoking too. It felt like I didn't sleep one bit that night. To top it off the shower provided only warm ish water. When I came to leave the lock on the door was so stuck I couldn't get out, health hazard - the reception guy was helpful and managed to get me out in the end but not quite what I needed. The only reason I stayed was as I had a 6.30am start that morning so thought I would make life easier by being local to where I needed to be, however I ended up arriving in a stressed and tired state. I would not recommend this hotel at all.

Reviewed by
Karen B

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room needed some work
The room was a generous size, but the bathroom needed some attention - broken tiles on the floor and the shower was either hot, very hot or scalding hot. Breakfast was hot and the waiting staff were friendly.

Reviewed by
J Plant

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel Cavendish is value for money as it is in the center of London but very, very small. what I don't understand how it has been rated as 4*. I have stayed in many hotels round the world from 2* to 5* and I really don't think it is fair to grade this hotel as 4*- there is no way it is-sorry

Reviewed by
R ELLIS

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Myself and my partner where traveling to London on a budget so this hotel seem perfect for our needs. This hotel doesn't have a lift so if you are on the top floor (floor 3) then be prepared to carry your belongings up the stairs. The room was clean and as we stayed for two nights the maid cleaned our room and laid fresh towels out for us. Basic but you get what you paid for. Perfect for just a place to sleep.

Reviewed by
Z Castlehow

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next