No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Cavendish

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
75 Gower Street Bloomsbury, London, WC1E 6HJ
Hotel Cavendish is situated in Gower Street, Bloomsbury Fitzrovia district of London's West-End. The University of London and the British Museum are a stones throw away. All our rooms are en-suite with toilet and bathrooms.All our rooms have been refurnished recently by a well known designer.
Picture of Hotel Cavendish, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 118 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
46% recommended this accommodation to a friend 49% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very pleasant stay
thank you, it was a very pleasant stay & everything I needed on that occasion

Reviewed by
Marta Z

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for nights sleep in central London.
Annoying that the Internet was not working properly.

Reviewed by
Klaus G H

From Germany
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel
Cleanliness of bathroom not excellent and carpets all look dirty. Lots of wires everywhere for internet access.

Reviewed by
J MacPherson

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid this B&B
I thought I'd found a bargain when I found a central London 4 star hotel for £85 per night. Unfortunately what I got was a one star bed and breakfast. I immediately had a bad feeling when I was asked to pay in full on check in rather that check out. They had not seen my booking apparently via laterooms so I was asked to take a room on the top floor and move the next day. This didn't happen as they had no other rooms. The room was dirty with stains on the ceiling the woodwork all peeling and the shower was broken. I had to use my colleagues room to shower as they didn't have another room. This is my first ever review but I felt so strongly I didn't want others to be bluffed into this so called hotel i'm writing this honest review. One good point, the breakfast was very nice.

Reviewed by
r knight

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location we had 3 in room
Great location for Oxford street

Reviewed by
M Kennedy

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room for improvement
Our reservation was not on their list. They offered us a room that was miniscule or an option to stay at another of their hotels. We opted for the latter but then they found another room in the hotel which was of a good size which we accepted. We then realised we were between the kitchen and breakfast room which meant we were woken at 06.20 as they got breakfast ready. A water waste pipe ran through the room so we got the sound of water running through as other guests had showers etc. We also had to sort out the tv remote control and a hair dryer. I'm sure there are better rooms but it wasn't the best experience.

Reviewed by
C Bush

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tiny Cramped Double Room
The Hotel room was tiny. The "Double" bed was just a 4ft bed and Luckily I stayed on my own otherwise 2 persons in this tiny bed would have been most uncomfortable. En-suite was actually built into the room and not seperate and took up a whole corner of a very small room anyway making the room size ridiculous for a double room. On a plus side it was winter when I stayed and the hotel was very warm. Breakfast in the morning was also good and well served. Good Location as nice and Central. Value for money? At £85 for one night not worth it. There are far better Hotels in this area for the same cost.

Reviewed by
J Riches

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK Room for the money. Only complaint was traffic noise
The room was OK and the staff were very helpful.
As the title says the main problem was the significant traffic noise which kept me up throughout the night.
If you want a budget room and have headphones then it's worth a go

Reviewed by
Simon Lees

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location - Impossibly Small Room (Room 204)
Location was great, 10 min walk from Euston.
The room was tiny, just big enough for the bed. The toilet shower was so small you had to twist and turn just to get in past the door!
Wouldn't stay there again - I paid £104, which is ok for central London but there are much better Hotels out there even at that price.

Reviewed by
Terry R

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay
Whole stay was perfect, except for 10 minute wait at check-in. Oddly, there was someone available on reception during the entire delay (possibly the hotel manager?) but his role seemed limited to telling us every 60 seconds that his colleague would be along soon to check us in, without explaining why he couldn't do it himself?! And of course, being British, we didn't ask why he couldn't do it himself.

Reviewed by
simon h

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next