No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Cavendish

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
75 Gower Street Bloomsbury, London, WC1E 6HJ
Hotel Cavendish is situated in Gower Street, Bloomsbury Fitzrovia district of London's West-End. The University of London and the British Museum are a stones throw away. All our rooms are en-suite with toilet and bathrooms.All our rooms have been refurnished recently by a well known designer.
Picture of Hotel Cavendish, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 117 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
46% recommended this accommodation to a friend 49% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location - Impossibly Small Room (Room 204)
Location was great, 10 min walk from Euston.
The room was tiny, just big enough for the bed. The toilet shower was so small you had to twist and turn just to get in past the door!
Wouldn't stay there again - I paid £104, which is ok for central London but there are much better Hotels out there even at that price.

Reviewed by
Terry R

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay
Whole stay was perfect, except for 10 minute wait at check-in. Oddly, there was someone available on reception during the entire delay (possibly the hotel manager?) but his role seemed limited to telling us every 60 seconds that his colleague would be along soon to check us in, without explaining why he couldn't do it himself?! And of course, being British, we didn't ask why he couldn't do it himself.

Reviewed by
simon h

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst room ever!
I paid £105 to stay for one night in a room smaller than my daughters. When i got there all they wanted was my credit card to pay, there was zero service and a man whom i could hardly understand pointed to the stairs and said "up there on the right". The room?.....well fire hazard - the reason i say this?....the only place to store my bag was between the bed and the door - and the room was so small it only just fit! If I had have wanted a room like that - I would have paid 1/4 of the bill and stayed at a hostel - if there is one good point about this hotel, it was that i was only there one night - utterly shocking!

Reviewed by
Colin Hardy

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
Hotel value for money and good for travel links,quiet area considering being in city.Cant understand why reviews of hotel saying rooms small?? How big do you want them came to London to see sites not sit in room!! Would stay again

Reviewed by
Steven C

From Prestatyn, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Tired
The rooms are very tired, the floor in the bathroom was cracked, mould on the ceiling in the shower this is a 2 star hotel

Reviewed by
neil p

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No room to swing a cat
You can't call a room "double" when it's a tiny room with a double bed crammed into it!

Reviewed by
Jonathan W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

it does what it says on the tin
Room was on the small side but clean, only downside, was the poor shower, it certainly wasn't a power shower, in fact it didnt have any power at all.

Reviewed by
Steven R

From Malpas, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Sized Rooms and very Clean
HI just here for one night. Although reception could do with some updating, my room was spacious and very clean. Bathroom a bit small but hey its London. Great value in comparison to other hotels. A 15 min walk to Oxford St, and taxis very regular, Staff friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
M Clarke

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Definitely wouldn't stay again
The room felt shabby and dirty - holes in the corner of the shower, stains on the curtain, cracked tiles in the bathroom etc. All in all an uncomfortable experience. The shower wasn't good to use.
Surprised that there was no lift [3rd floor room, narrow stairs further up].

Reviewed by
Bill L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In the top 3 worst hotels I have ever stayed in
I would not stay here again. Room was painfully small with no drawers to store any clothing in, hardly room to move around, there was a tall cupboard with 5-6 hangers but no shelves or anything, including no rack to even set a suitcase on. Room was at front of hotel on 2nd floor so over a really busy London street and the window glazing was so thin I felt I was in the traffic, despite having earplugs I didnt get but a couple hours sleep each night. There was also some sort of generator that started going off every 15 minutes about 8am and with the walls as thin as windows, this too made it very difficult to sleep. The shower head was based approx 7.5-8 ft up and had hardly any pressure, so took ages to shower (no bath). The breakfast room is small, seats about 25 people at once, but with a 2 hours window to eat I ended up waiting each morning, 15 minutes one day. There is also no elevator, which I knew in advance (and no one offered to help with luggage when I arrived) but it added to annoyance when I had to pack my bag up and leave before I was supposed to. I was booked in for 3 nights but after the second night I knew I had to go. It took me until 2pm to find another suitable hotel (I was in London working so had to attend to this before finding a new room) and when I told them I had to check out due to the noise I asked for some sort of partial refund on the £120 per night rate, they said they would not offer anything at all as good will, so I ended up paying twice for a room that night. This hotel classifies itself as 4 star, I would call it 2 star at best. It was clean, so this is the only good thing I can say, and a room should be clean as standard anyway!

Reviewed by
Kelly S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next