No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cannizaro House

4AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
West Side Common Wimbledon, London, SW19 4UE
Located on the edge of Wimbledon Common and near the famous tennis courts, this luxurious boutique hotel boasts 2 AA Rosette fine-dining, elegant accommodation, beautiful gardens and free parking.

Originally built in the 18th Century, the house has a long and infamous history of glamorous indulgence. Now fully restored and renovated, it blends the seductive grandeur of its past with the chic allure of contemporary luxury.

With the emphasis on comfort and individuality, each of their en-suite guestrooms has been designed to provide the perfect night’s sleep.

Creating exceptional food is something that the Hotel is immensely passionate about. Quality, seasonality and origin are all key components of their success and they insist that all ingredients are sourced from British organic suppliers.

The Hotel is located in South West London and offers free parking for all guests. It’s a 15 minute walk from Wimbledon tube and train station and a 35 minute drive from Heathrow. There are plenty of nearby attractions including Twickenham Stadium, Hampton Court Palace, Chissington World of Adventure and Kew Gardens.
Picture of Cannizaro House, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent accomodation

Reviewed by
matthew p

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wimbledon-Week 'Deal'
Booked on the day of arrival for an event close to Wimbledon,this was beyond belief !!!
First....the double room was half-price at a time when most hotels were either 'full' or grossly overpriced due to Wimbledon tennis.
Secondly.....the Cannizaro is a delightful hotel. The room,food and service were all excellent in leaving nothing to be desired. The air of relaxation and unhurried professionalism was outstanding.
I doubt that I would get to be so lucky to get such a deal again in those circumstances but in any event I would return to the Cannizaro given the opportunity .

Reviewed by
Barry Steele

From Whitchurch, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wimbledon
Excellent service, best hotel we've stayed at in London area. Very capable and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
C Owen

From Neath, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Hotel
The staff all had a lovely, friendly manner and the hotel is stunning. One night here felt like a much needed holiday!

Reviewed by
J Jenkins

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our hotel of choice
Cannizaro House has been our hotel of choice for a very very long time. Despite having a London postcode it is in a rural setting with extensive gardens and land. All the rooms we have stayed in over the years have been very different but equally charming. The cuisine is exceptional and the staff endeavour to accommodate your every need.

Reviewed by
L Bushell

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Ambience and Customer service
Staff welcoming and great customer service in a busy hotel. Rooms spotless and spacious.

Reviewed by
D Moran

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class
Excellent hotel, beautiful setting, staff extremely helpful, food outstanding

Reviewed by
Bernadette Wells

From Horley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great breakfast
Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights over Easter with my husband. The hotel was lovely, it is set in beautiful grounds and close to Wimbledon village. The room we stayed in was spacious, quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic, I'd definitely recommend a cooked option.

Reviewed by
Danielle C

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice but expensive to eat & drink
Got a great deal on my room with Laterooms but could not afford to eat or drink here on my budget, gob smacked with being charged a 10% service charge on drinks ordered at the bar!! £5.00 for a small glass of red wine & an extra 50p for service!!

Reviewed by
Dale T

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1993 - 2014
We first stayed at the Cannizaro House Hotel in 1993 and have stayed there at various times ever since. Overall it is a pleasant hotel to stay at and we generally only stay one night when we visit the theatre in London. Like everything, over the years the clientele has changed and we have seen a change in the hotel. It has become impersonal. The main issue that we have is the lack of choice in the room service menu. If, like us, you are attending a theatre, this necessitates leaving the hotel before the restaurant is open, therefore it is necessary for us to use room service. If you're not into the Cannizaro selection of 3 beef patties in rolls, there is very little left to select. The only other issue, which for us wasn't a problem is we have never yet had the 'turn down' service. Frankly I'm capable of turning down my own bed but just another example of the way the hotel has changed.

ManagementResponse

We have two restaurants at the hotel. In addition to the main restaurant we now have the Orangerie which is open all day from 8am until 9.30pm, where there is a weekly changing menu. Additionally, we would be very happy to arrange anything off-piste should it be pre ordered. During our "turn down" service we simply place the bath mat on the bathroom floor, and deliver our home-made biscuits. In the winter months we close curtains or blinds and put on bedside lamps, we prefer not to turn the bed down as we think it looks best made.

Reviewed by
L Bushell

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next