Reviews - Glendale Hyde Park

2

8 Devonshire Terrace, London, W2 3DN

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (73)

30% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • A Smith

  • July 2015

Meh

Basement room with no mobile service, meaning you have to buy wifi.

Steam from shower sets off fire alarm. Was kind of clean, but not in the details (found hair in my sheets). But very friendly staff. Probably fine for drunk 20-somethings.

  • Andrew G

  • June 2015

Convenient

If a hotel is expecting guests to provide proof of ID they should state clearly that this is a requirement when booking.

I do not carry ID as I do not live in a police state and I found the fact that I was asked for ID offensive.

  • Richard G

  • June 2015

Box Room

I had a basement room without a single window.

It is better described as a box room and at £75 for the night is robbery. Not described as this when booking and the "hotel" should make this clear to guests prior to taking the money.I would not have booked it otherwise. Single door to an adjoining room from where I could hear everything.

  • Chinedu E

  • June 2015

I was given a tiny room with barely enough space to move.

Hotel location is good, in central london. The breakfast is really good. You have to pay for Internet access. Room service is fair, at least rooms are cleaned daily.

  • Ed S

  • May 2015

Fit for purpose and great price. Will stay again.

Whenever I stay in a hotel I always think about the cost versus the hotel.

The price I paid for Hyde park accommodation was great. The room was clean and had everything you would need for a short stay. If there was anything that detracted from the room it was the shower which had really poor temperature control. I would stay again without hesitation.

  • Tez s

  • May 2015

Poor guest relations

The receptionist (who also claims to be the owner) was not very accommodating at all.

Her attitude was unwelcoming. We were put in a room right at the top, and there are no lifts. She could see that I was disabled and didn't offer to help, or perhaps search/offer another room that would be easier to access, given my mobility. Even if all the rooms were completely full, it would have been nice to of had an explanation/an apologetic recognition of the inconvenience. Instead she just played on her phone and didn't do anything. The room itself was very small. It was clean to some standard, however it could be cleaner. The decor was suttle and ok.

In terms of amenities in the room, it was good. For me personally I prefer to spend my money in a place where service does come with a smile. If you are just back packing and need a place to crash, and you don't need luxuries, such as a warm welcome, then this place is fine.

  • S Cameron

  • May 2015

Rip off price

I received a very friendly welcome at the hotel however the reception area was really grotty and shabby.

The room had a strong smell of air freshner from the shower room covering the damp smell. The open hanging space for clothes had 3 hangers (children's aged 3-4) which were totally unsuitable to hang up a business suite. There was no physical lock on the door which as a single female I didn't feel happy about. I was keen to get out of the room as soon as possible and left very early the next day. Although this was booked through last minute and I assume therefore at a discount, it still cost £160 for 1 person for the night which was a complete rip off.

  • jeremy a

  • May 2015

dark hole under ground

the room was underground with no windows...unlike the one shown in the promotional photograph.

this made for a depressing/opressive night. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Jack C

  • April 2015

Ant infestation, rude staff and cramped rooms, awful hotel.

Worst hotel I've ever stayed in.

Everything about this hotel was awful, I currently work in the hotelier industry so I am rather tolerant of a couple of things not being quite right, but this was a total joke, I often travel through London when heading out of the country and I am always staying in hotels in the Paddington area, but for the money I paid to stayed here I could of stayed somewhere else that was not cramped, dirty, had rude staff or ant infestation.

On arriving into the hotel the lady on the check in desk berated me for my lack of knowledge on the area when I asked for directions to the nearest cash point, and then insisted I pay for the room before answering my questions first. When unlocking the door to the room I thought we must of got the wrong room as it was the size of a broom cupboard. The 'En-Suite Double Room' we booked was a small box room with a double bed (Two singles mattresses pushed together on a rickety frame). The bathroom door could only open half way because the bed was blocking it, only 1 of the 4 power points in the room worked and the kettle,TV and fan didn't work at all when we put them into the working power point. We've noticed on a few occasions during our stay that there room was littered with dead ants and alive ones running around on the floor, much to the disgust of myself and my partner. The bathroom was tiny, the sink was actually over the toilet so it doesn't leave enough room to sit down on it without sitting sideways (as a man who is 6ft 1 im not the tallest guy in the world!) with the shower doors not able to close, so putting water all over the floor, leaving only our bath towels to soak it up with. During the evening the heating was turned up to the maximum (and the thermostat didn't work, what a surprise!) so the room was stifling hot, even with the window opened as far as it could go. I asked the gentleman down on reception if he could turn the heating off in our room, he just said 'Open a window'. On explaining that the window was opened and the thermostat didn't work, he grudgingly said he would turn the heating off manually and disappeared downstairs. The public areas (the stairs and hallways) were all dirty, with clear evidence of mud and other unhygienic matter clearly visible, with the walls damp with peeling wallpaper.

Breakfast was a joke (By this point we were not surprised by anything anymore) the 'Breakfast Room' was the same size as our bedroom, but with one breakfast bar and two small tables crammed in, there was not enough room for us or another 5 guests as the breakfast room had 6 people in already and had reached full capacity , so we were forced to eat outside (Yes it was raining) under some badly made rain shelter, which during a rather cold morning our breakfast went cold very quickly. The eggs where over cooked and were like rubber and the selection of breakfast was as well (Toast OR cornflakes).

I could write more about how this hotel has let me down but I would be wasting my time, what I've said has outlined the major flaws this hotel has, I will never be staying there again and I would actively encourage others to look for somewhere else if they are considering staying here (Unless they want a dirty, cramped, hot, bug filled room for the night). There are plenty of other friendly, clean, spacious hotels in the area for about the same price.

  • Lisa H

  • April 2015

Glendale Hyde Park