No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Glendale Hyde Park

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
8 Devonshire Terrace , London, W2 3DN
All rooms are non-smoking. The Glendale Hyde Park Hotel offers 22 elegant en-suite bedrooms - placed close to the heart of London it is ideally located to visit many of the city wonderful attractions. Situated close to 3 underground train stations, the Glendale Hyde Park Hotel is on the doorstep of high class shopping including Kensington, Oxford Street, Bond Street, Regents Street, Carnaby Street, Knightsbridge and the world famous Harrods. On your arrival you will be greeted by the friendly staff of this small English hotel. Each bedroom is well furnished and offers many extras to ensure your stay is remembered. All rooms are non-smoking. Each room facilities include Plasma television, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone. All rooms have fridges so you can chill drinks and food products. We also offer internet access.
Picture of Glendale Hyde Park, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
40% recommended this accommodation to a friend 45% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Nights Stay
The toilet/shower room had a bit of funky smell, which was a bit off putting. The tiles in the shower and grout could do with being replaced, so it wasn't very appealing to have shower but saying that, I did have a shower. The shower was unbelievable, probably one of the best showers I've ever taken. Now for the nights sleep-the bed was absolutely comfortable,my partner who is 8 months pregnant slept great. As for breakfast, massive let down, no fry ups or fresh coffee
Overall- It was not the best of hotels but well worth the money. Close to public transport

Reviewed by
Barry Smart

From Manchester, England
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Cheap. Adequate Unforgettable.
For high season, it was an incredibly cheap single room in Central London booked at short notice.
However, although booked through LateRooms.com a surcharge for credit card usage added a surprise additional 3% at check-in.
The downside was the lack of space, the separate toilet; which required time consuming modesty by dressing every time one needed to pay a visit down two flights of stairs since no dressing gown is provided.
The day staff were pleasant, but night staff need training in customer care especially when there was no toilet paper provided in the toilet - although the slim remainder of a roll was proffered with 'is that enough for you??' The night staff also did not know that the room lacked a telephone which led to a less-than-courteous dialogue about how contact with reception could, or rather could NOT be made.
Customer service training may well extend to the attitude to guests concerning the wastage of food with a curious notice with undertones of sanction. That said, the continental breakfast was adequate, though with a very limited amount of (single) cereal choice by testing guests endurance (and arthritis) through the Heath Robinson style hand-cranked dispenser.
I would recommmend this hotel under the same circumstances of availabilty where personal flexibility is the key driver of a late booked stay in london.

Reviewed by
Stephen C

From Llandudno, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horrible experience
The hotel rooms are dark and depressing with no windows. The room was clean but had no bin and the bed side lamp had nowhere to be plugged in. My room had a door in it and when I opened it I walked into the next hotel room along. Evidently this is awful in terms of safety an privacy and we felt like anyone could walk in at any moment. The hotel was so loud and we were continuously woken up. The breakfast was awful with all of the tables being dirty when we came down and then they had a disgusting tasting orange juice, chipped mugs and dirty knives and forks. The room was said to be a double room yet it was actually just two beds pushed together which is hardly comfortable! The staff weren't very friendly and they didn't even have any ketchup to go with breakfast. There was also a huge wait for tea in the morning as had one kettle to service everyone.

Reviewed by
Katie Simmonds

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good service
Had a lovely stay and very nice receptionist

Reviewed by
Andre C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed in the roofs of London
Smallest room ever, location is good and the
Libanese restaurant at the corner the best thing
after a long journey.

Reviewed by
Georgios T

From Athens, Greece
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not quite worth the price but fantastic location.
Nothing flash, linen was clean but the double bed was 2 single beds pushed together. We had the very top floor with its stupidly steep leg punishing 4 floors of stairs and extremely narrow last flight of stairs (serious;y, don't stay here if your on the larger size). Small room with a fridge and a kettle (which was partially smashed but was apperently safe as it had a PAT test cert on it) but the ensuite was at best acceptable. The shower handle came off several times, the tiles looked like they had been grouted by some one who had never grouted before. Staff were polite though. Breakfast was all you can eat toast with jam or butter. Ham and cheese, cereal and boiled egg. It wasn't brilliant but did its job but for the price I was expecting to be able to choose a cooked breakfast with bacon etc. Felt slightly let down but guess it was worth its budget price for the location. Would recommend as a place to stay only if you plan on using the room for sleeping and wont be going up and down the stairs several times a day.

Reviewed by
Daniel L

From Cleethorpes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We only gave the food a 2 because it was a continental breakfast and we prefer a full cooked breakfast

ManagementResponse

Dear Customer, The room rate is including continental breakfast not an English one. Regards, Caroline

Reviewed by
jennie jones

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean but small.
The hotel is located near Paddington Station, and Lancaster Gate Tube Station. It's a clean hotel, however the room sizes are very small and the beds aren't amazingly comfortable.
The customer service is good. If you are looking for luxury, I would not recommend. However it's very good for exploring the city.

Reviewed by
Samantha M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic accommodation
This is very much bog standard accommodation. Don't expect much space or luxury. The hotel is situated in quite a sleepy part of London so it is quiet but because of the close proximity of all rooms you can hear when everyone else arrives or departs.

Reviewed by
Andrea T

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not very good!
Overall not the best, a bed in a tiny room with a shower on suite.

Reviewed by
D Logan

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next