No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Parkwood at Marble Arch

3AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
4 Stanhope Place , London, W2 2HB
This lovely hotel is the perfect location, only one minute from Oxford Street but with the open spaces of Hyde Park. Ideal for shopping and theatres and in a quiet street in an area of London known as "Connaught Village".
Each comfortable bedroom has digital TV, direct telephone, radio, tea/coffee, safe, etc. , Wi-Fi in all the rooms, computer with free internet access in guest lounge.
Picture of Parkwood at Marble Arch, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap digs
Nothing like the photographs. Very small and feels very old. I slept well but it is one of those rooms where you can hear the 'neighbours' coming up the stairs to the 4th floor, entering their room and walking about.

Reviewed by
Craige V

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine for a short stay
Quick and easy check in, great location as went to see a west end show. Negative: wasn't able to control main heating.

Reviewed by
S Robinson

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
For one night and at this price it was a very pleasant stay. Staff were friendly, but not over enthusiastic (which I prefer to excessive friendlyness), room and shared facilities were clean, the room hasn't been refurbished in a while and there was a slight draft from the window. But equipped with thick curtains and a little powerful radiator, I was totally fine. The hotel is pretty central, but just round the corner from the big busy streets, so I had a nice relaxing sleep after a short way home after a night out. Would definitely come back and do recommend it to travellers on a budget who are not looking for a luxury stay.

Reviewed by
Regina V

From Romney Marsh, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy little hotel near Marble Arch/Hyde Park
Nice little hotel. Central position at Hyde Park/Marble Arch. Be aware some rooms with shared bath.

Reviewed by
Lief N

From Norvegia
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful Staff, Good Value, Very Central
I was looking for a cheap place to stay in central London that wasn't a hostel or grotty, especially as I was travelling alone and want to feel comfortable and safe where I stay. I picked this place because it was cheap, but didn't know what to expect. It was easy to find and as soon as I got there the staff were really friendly.
My room was on the top floor and there are no lifts, only the stairs, but I am fit enough to manage them. The decor is pretty old fashioned, but the place is nice and clean.
When I got to my room I was surprised to find there wasn't an ensuite, but thinking about it, it wasn't specified on the booking. There was a shared bathroom per floor and a handy sink in the corner of my room. When I did use the bathroom it was clean as tidy and well presented. I had no problem using the shower to get ready in the morning too.
My room also had tea and coffee facilities which was vey welcome!
My room was small and a bit old fashioned, but clean and well presented and only me staying there so plenty of room for one. The bed was really comfy and I slept the whole night through which is unusual for me!
You get a key for the front door as well as your room, allowing you access at all hours if you're planning to go out at night, and check out is an agreeable 10.30am.
Location-wise the hotel is really central for sightseeing, next to Hide Park, some high end shopping sites, plus the quirky Edgeware Road with some handy late night coffee shops and near to Marble Arch tube station.
All in all, it's great value for the price I paid in such a prime London location, and with such nice staff, I'd defiantly stay there again.

Reviewed by
A Ponton

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cozy Small Hotel
The location of the hotel was good, next to the park and on a walking distance from the Maple Arch tube station. The hotel was also small and nice and quiet - at least I didn't hear any traffic noise to my room. The service was also good in the reception and in a breakfast. Only one small thing, which could be fixed, was the door and lock of the room - the door was moving even it was locked, so when you are alone, it doesn't feel so nice when you are thinking is the lock working or not :) But anyway it was so quiet that I'm sure it is very safe to be in this hotel!

Reviewed by
Tanja H

From Finland
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Parkwood at Marble Arch
Staff is friendly, room just right, food is good.

Reviewed by
Barry Shilstone

From Isleworth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location. Really pleasant small hotel
Great location. Value for money hotel with good service, clean and helpful staff. Breakfast was really good aswell. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Paul G

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good place to stay
A good place to stay with efficient and helpful staff. Very clean and well cared for. Room reasonable size. Some noise from next door's TV but no traffic noise. I would stay again.

Reviewed by
C Walledge

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was damp and smelled of mould there was a 1/8 inch gap around the door so the frame glowed all night in the morning the air was oily from the kitchen.

ManagementResponse

I am very sorry this guest did not enjoy his stay at the Parkwood Hotel. The room the guest booked was on the lower ground floor as this was the only room we had left. This room has just been redecorated, the room is next to the dining room and there is a smell of bacon cooking but we only cook our bacon and sausage on a griddle without oil. I am sure this guest would have enjoyed the breakfast, as its very popular with all our guests.

Reviewed by
clive d

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next