No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - De Vere Venues Theobalds Park

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Lieutenant Ellis Way , Cheshunt, EN7 5HW
Set in 55 acres of Hertfordshire woodland, Theobalds Park is a magnificent Georgian Mansion House situated just 3/4 mile from junction 25 of the M25. All 140 bedrooms are en-suite, spacious and well appointed. During your stay you can also enjoy a complimentary internet cafe which includes free internet use and a delightful range of complimentary teas and coffees.

Complimentary Wi Fi is available in all bedrooms and public areas
Picture of De Vere Venues Theobalds Park, Cheshunt at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 177 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful setting, lovely rooms. We stayed in the mansion end of the building, perhaps in what seemed like what used to be the old servants quarters. Small but quirky. Lovely staff and ideally situated for access to many local attractions.

Reviewed by
Will Seymour

From Sittingbourne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two Night stay
The accommodation was fine. Really liked the sash windows and the park. Room was as expected modern and plenty of plug sockets. Parking was a little tough not masses of space. Could do with better signage we arrived at night and it was not easy to locate. Postcode took us to rear gate and we struggled to find the front.

Reviewed by
J Nash

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

To becexpected
Large comfortable room, small tele with no remote

Reviewed by
James Wilson

From Darwen, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Favorite London stop over
Theobald's is convenient for north east London stop overs, without the hassle of driving into inner London.

Reviewed by
Dennis Freeman-Wright

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

N/A
N/A

Reviewed by
Linda MacDonald

From Burnham on Crouch, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night
Having arrived at around 2 am from a flight from Dubai which we experienced delays to find the room we i had booked did not exist. I had received emails to confirm the booking. Clearly there was a glitch between late rooms and the hotel.
Now this is at 2 am. I simply want a bed.
The young chap tryed to help and he called his manager. The manager agreed we could have a complimentary stay with breakfast . The down side was it was only a single bed available . My wife and I didn't have the best night sleep but a really nice breakfast.
Overall the staff helped as much they could despite this mix up.

Reviewed by
n hoque

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary getaway
Overall we had a good stay, I had read the reviews before arriving and most commented on the clenleness of the place, and on arrival two groups of people in different parties were complaining that they had been given their keys only to find their rooms were not ready, and still a mess, this didn't fill us with much confidence. Luckily our room on the surface was ready, but on closer inspection we found the bath, toilet and bins must have been overlooked... We had an issue with very noisy guests in the next room arguing, finally at 4.30am having to ring for the manager to sort it out (after bashing on the wall a few times), which was duly done, but by then our nights sleep was ruined, not the hotels fault but left us just wanting to go home, I had booked breakfast for the morning and when we arrived in the restaurant, it was a complete mess, all the empty tables were still covered with the last persons breakfast things which we had to clear before we could sit down and were told to find clean cups on another table because they had run out, they may have been busy but to be asked to find your own cup for a cup of tea put me off from the start.
I booked this venue partly because of the look of the building/ gardens which didn't disappoint, but once we got inside it felt that at one time it was a lovely hotel, but been neglected for many years, I think the staff working there were doing their best with what they had but there wasn't enough of them.
So I would say ok for a night away, but nothing as grand as the photos portray.

Reviewed by
Steve D

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impressive hotel showing its age
maybe I was unlucky but room 117 did not meet my expectations for a hotel of this quality.
No bedside table the light switch was by the door which was not near the bed, only one pillow rather than the usual two, the flat screen TV was a good size however the quality of picture was fuzzy for all channels and unviewable.
Lots of stairs and steps throughout the hotel, the breakfast was good and the staff were great but they did have a problem with the newspapers on order were not delivered however the 'I' was free.

Reviewed by
david t

From Ashby De La Zouch, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent in all ways as usual
We use the hotel quite frequently as you will see. We have family locally and it is very convenient in many ways. We always find all staff very helpful No problem too much as my husband has trouble in walking the staff have always put us in the ground floor or where there is a lift.
We have always found breakfast very good but this time hot food not very hot.Did not mention at the time as we had an appointment to keep to.This would not put us of from trying again.

Reviewed by
Olive Batchelor

From Sudbury, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Hotel was great.
Great location
Clean rooms
What more can you ask for!

Reviewed by
H Vyas

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next