No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - De Vere Venues Theobalds Park

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Lieutenant Ellis Way , Cheshunt, EN7 5HW
Set in 55 acres of Hertfordshire woodland, Theobalds Park is a magnificent Georgian Mansion House situated just 3/4 mile from junction 25 of the M25. All 140 bedrooms are en-suite, spacious and well appointed. During your stay you can also enjoy a complimentary internet cafe which includes free internet use and a delightful range of complimentary teas and coffees.

Complimentary Wi Fi is available in all bedrooms and public areas
Picture of De Vere Venues Theobalds Park, Cheshunt at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 155 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

general overview
Excellent reception staff who were very fast. Great room, we stayed at the main manor for one night and found it a bit noisy with banging doors right outside our room .The room itself was very clean and beautiful. We then stayed in the barn for one night and again the room was excellent and very quiet. Had a great nights sleep. If I had to be super critical then I found some cobwebs on the ceiling and the tv reception was very poor but it didn't detract from how lovely my stay there was.

Reviewed by
steven c

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Theobalds Park hotel. Cheshunt
Excellent accommodation lovely surroundings, good hotel, the only thing that let it down was the cooked breakfast was cold. Would definatley stay there again

Reviewed by
Loraine Goodley

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

what a venue
my wife and i had a wonderful time the room was wonderful and the staff were very helpful with a smile . would not hesitate too tell friends

Reviewed by
RICHARD WILLMOTT

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
When we first saw the front of the stately home part of the hotel we thought wow lovely and were excited to stay...until your directed around to the back for reception. Outside reception we were greeted by an overflowing liter bin and smokers barring our entrance. Once inside the reception told us to put our own luggage in an unsecured room, we phoned ahead to make sure there would be a taxi for us to go immediately to our event off site, to then be told there aren't any taxis for at least 20mins. Returning at midnight to check into our room, to be sent to a block far away from the main through a dark path. The room was adequate, although the air con unit was filthy blasting dust and the shower was hanging off the wall. Bed was comfortable :) breakfast was chaotic and congealed from sitting on a hot plate. At check out the receptionist asked if we were hungover! Yes we were but inappropriate. She then asked the man next to us the same and he replied 'no I don't drink, I'm Muslim' . Litter still strewn outside reception. Oh and Porto loos! Only stay here as a cheap option.

Reviewed by
Jessica G

From Farnborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I arrived late and walked into an argument from a guest, the staff stayed polite and calm but may be it would be better to have a separate area to deal with these things? It coloured the welcome negatively.
The room was ok, very firm pillows which I dislike, may be offer two soft ones and two firm ones?
The room was ok, very darkly furnished. Some dirty marks on the walls and overall a bit 'tired' looking. But for 39 pounds good value for money.

Reviewed by
Kris T

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The experience
Very Bad signage on the road. Could not find the place (despite being so big) as hidden from view from the road. Drove round looking for half an hour trying to find it., telephoning the hotel all the time for directions, but no-one answering the telephone. Even your central booking could not get an answer.
Lovely building, but in need of update renovation.(paint peeling etc.) Chose the buffet but it had been there too long. Very dry and not very nice at all. The staff were very good and helpful but did not offer to change the food.
Fantastic location, site and a beautiful building. But in need of attention in many areas.

Reviewed by
john w

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely grounds and a good, welcoming and efficient service. value for money is high

Reviewed by
Katrina L

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Improvement needed but ok for £39,
Room was nice modern clean (excluding a wedding ring and rubbish left in the beside draw) staff were all friendly. The hotel looks amazing and has beautiful buildings and grounds. The restaurant experience was awful. Several others were complaining and we were refunding one of our main meals. The steak was burnt (asked for medium) the mains didn't come with veg? I had chicken and white wine sauce and potatoe and that was it it came with nothing else. Another table had complained about the same thing and they did make up carrotts but seemed odd especially as to restaurant looked lovely. Big disappointment! We handed in the ring we found in our room in the beside draw along with a previous guests rubbish which the cleaner obviously missed! Hope it's reunited!

Reviewed by
N Youngman

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing hotel!
Very nice location, room very clean and comfortable bed. The tree house was fun too!
Wifi was far too slow in the room though..

Reviewed by
Mahbub I

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

rest
Great place! I love the environment

Reviewed by
Jacqueline B

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next