You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - De Vere Venues Theobalds Park

4

Lieutenant Ellis Way, Cheshunt, EN7 5HW

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (113)

80% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Garry T

  • September 2016

Weekend break

I expected to stay in a manor hotel and was very disappointed to find when we arrived the room was in a modern extension at the back (very corporate and no character).

The restaurant was more like a school canteen and on the Sunday we went down to breakfast at around 10.30am, we were not impressed to to be asked to leave 35 minutes later. We were told this was to set up for lunch but I guess this was so the staff could eat their breakfast as fresh food was being brought out at 11.05am. Service was poor and slow the bar meal we ordered the previous lunchtime on arrival was poor and arrived one hour after it was ordered. The room was clean and a good size but the beds were very hard and uncomfortable. The room was also very hot, so neither of us slept very well and didn't enjoy our stay and were very tired the next day.

  • p jolly

  • September 2016

Not for a summers evening

Only discomfort was no air conditioning window only opened 4 inches and was secured with a wire.

winter time would have been ok probably even a fan would have been something like Travelodge where their windows only open 3-4 inches too everything else perfect.

  • A Edwards

  • September 2016

Pleasant

The décor looks a little tired and needs a make-over.

My single room with a single bed was just about ok but I will not be staying there again if offered the same room. The ensuite was tight and too small for a larger person. I had to walk up over 50 steps to get to the room as there was no lift. Not good especially as I have two arthritic knees. Breakfast was good with poached eggs done perfectly. The staff were all friendly and helpful.

  • Sylvia neal

  • September 2016

Wonderful stay, staff brilliant, our room amazing, beautiful view.

Didn't get check in till 4oclock due to staff being very busy. also waited for dinner which starts at 7oclock but menu was very limited due to a wedding. otherwise really enjoyed our stay

  • Colin H

  • August 2016

Enjoyed our stay. But!

The hotel was easy to find.

It was clean and tidy and the staff were friendly and welcoming. The food we had was very good. Breakfast in particular was excellent one of the biggest choices of food I have seen for a hotel breakfast.

The 'But', the room we had on the second floor was like an oven, as we went up the stairs to our room we could feel the temperature rising. Unfortunately the window opening was restricted so that didn't help. We mentioned the temperature of the room to a member of staff and they quickly got a fan for the room, set it up and turned it on for us while we were in the bar. It wasn't brilliant but it did at least create a draft so we did manage to sleep. If I was going again I would request a room on a lower floor. Staff did tell us there were plans to put air conditioning in. But be warned if you don't like very hot rooms you're not going to enjoy staying.

  • Matthew C

  • August 2016

Not up to the standards I was expecting

There was no TV remote.

The bed wasn't made up, and there was a small shard of glass in the bed.

  • Adele Bird

  • August 2016

De Vere Venues Theobalds Park

Room was really hot unable to sleep will not stay again.

  • Valerie P

  • July 2016

A perfect stay

The building is wonderful, the setting beautiful, the staff very polite and helpful.

The roomy ensuite facilities featured a full bath, which was lovely. The furniture in our room was dated - black ash effect, but quite functional, and the bed was comfortable. As usual with De Vere Hotels, the breakfast was a very good self serve hot and cold buffet, and they were able to provide me with fresh soya milk, which was appreciated.

  • John S

  • July 2016

Poor quality hotel

Not what you would expect of a De vere hotel.

Bar staff didn't have a clue it appeared she wasn't trained at all, long wait for a drink as she seemed to wash each glass individually?. Ordered a fish finger sandwich which arrived 40 minutes later. All in all it seemed quite amatuerish.

  • martin b

  • June 2016

Basic , very noisy