No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Academy

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
17-21 Gower Street , London, WC1E 6HG
Located just off Oxford Street, The Academy is blessed with a peaceful yet central location in leafy Bloomsbury. It is a traditional townhouse hotel, originally built in 1776 with history, charm and character. Each guestroom is tastefully decorated, and for your entertainment, there are iPod docking stations and flat screen TV's with digital channels. When the sun is shining take advantage of the two walled gardens and listen to the trickle of the water fountain. Or during colder days relax in the peaceful heated conservatory. In keeping with the area's literary history, while away the time reading in the small library or enjoy a drink in the sumptuous lounge. Once rested, take advantage of The Academy's location - visit the boutique shops in Covent Garden, theatres of The West End and the nightlife of Soho, just a 10 minute walk away. The nearest tube station is Goodge Street (3 minute walk) on the Northern Line, or Tottenham Court Road (8 minute walk) on the Central Line. London St Pancras for the Eurostar is just a 5 minute taxi ride or a 15 minute walk. The Academy is easily accessable from all major London Airports.
Please note that The Academy is a Grade II listed building, and, as such, does not have an elevator. All rooms are only accessible by stairs.
Picture of The Academy, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 130 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
I stayed in the single room for one night as I was attending a business meeting .The room was warm and comfortable with quality furnishings and bedding. Comfy bed so all good. I would stay again. The garden looked lovely but I didn't have time to explore

Reviewed by
Jacqueline B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay on business
Hotel was nicely situated. The road was quiet but Covent Garden was a short walk away with good pubs and restaurants. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Shaun C

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All Good
Never had the breakfast but everything else was good, it all worked and most importantly was clean.
Great location for Oxford street.

Reviewed by
Steve T

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel but very small room
Nice welcoming place but my room was exceptionally small for the price - therefore a bit awkward to maneouvre in and claustrophobic and I could not open the windows. The bathroom was a good size though and everything very clean and well maintained. I would book a double room next time even if travelling alone to try to get a decent size space.

Reviewed by
L Grant

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent relaxing and well-located
Without the trappings and corporate style of the chain hotels, The Academy provides genuinely a quiet, relaxing bolt-hole in a quietism Bloomsbury street, while still within walking distance of Soho, the west end and Kins Cross/Euston.
Excellent clean and comfortable room, and a breakfast to match any - fresh fruit, great juices and coffee served in a quiet breakfast room without hustle and bustle.
My wife and I were in town for a short break and The Academy (selected after browsing other online reviews) fitted the bil perfectly. We'd certainly stay again.
Not a complaint at all from us because we relish exercise but, if you're a tubby or inactive sort, there's no lift. Just think how beneficial a few days there could be!

Reviewed by
John G

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good but could be better
The welcome was genuine and warm and breakfast was good. The bedroom was well furnished and comfortable but the bathroom was minute and the sink was cracked. The shower control was loose and fell off when turned. The main problem was with the flushing toilet. Whether it was gravity or a fault in the system the flushing mechanism took a long time to operate .

Reviewed by
G WILSON

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient but overpriced
Brilliantly positioned in Bloomsbury, but very expensive for such a small and noisy room which could do with a bit of a refurb.

Reviewed by
Alan L

From Amersham, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellant quiet brillant location
didn't get enough milk for coffee

Reviewed by
M Adams

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well located.
Really well located in an area I had not stayed in before. The welcome from the receptionist was somewhat lacking warmth unlike the room which was very comfortable although very warm. We were able to walk to all our locations and it was certainly nice not to have to use the tube. Overall a good hotel which I got at a good rate

Reviewed by
D Childs

From Norwich, England
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mid-week break in London
We would have appreciated being made aware that our room was on the top floor, with no lifts.
However, the room was clean and tidy and the air-con was appreciated. The position of the hotel for sightseeing in London was superb: and we were able to walk a lot rather than using bus or tube.
The lack of lifts would preclude our staying at the hotel in the future, unless the room was on the first or second floor.

Reviewed by
L Westhead

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next