No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Academy

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
17-21 Gower Street , London, WC1E 6HG
Located just off Oxford Street, The Academy is located in a peaceful yet central location in leafy Bloomsbury. A traditional townhouse hotel, originally built in 1776 with history, charm and character; each guestroom is tastefully decorated, and features iPod docking stations and flat screen TV's, for your entertainment.

Enjoy Full English or Continental breakfasts in our dining room – and dinner in one of the many fantastic restaurants nearby. During summer, take advantage of our two scenic, walled gardens or during colder days, relax in the peaceful, heated conservatory. Alternatively, in keeping with the area’s literary history, while away the hours in our small library before enjoying a drink in the sumptuous lounge.

Take advantage of The Academy's ideal location – just 10 minutes’ walk from Covent Garden’s boutique shops, The West End’s notorious theatres and Soho’s bustling nightlife. We are a short walk to the tube stations of Goodge Street (Northern Line), or Tottenham Court Road (Central Line). For the Eurostar, London St Pancras is just a 5 minute taxi ride or 15 minutes’ walk for the Eurostar is just a 5 minute taxi ride or a 15 minute walk. The Academy provides easy access to all London’s major Airports.

The Academy is a Grade II listed building (and, as such, does not have an elevator - all rooms are only accessible by stairs!). All guests receive a 50% discount on parking at Bloomsbury Square Car Park.
Picture of The Academy, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 140 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice if a little dated decor wise. Great afternoon tea and good breakfast.

Reviewed by
Chris H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal quirky base for a theatre land trip.
Looks bland from the outside (grey looking net curtains don't help) but well appointed and clean with excellent facilities. Quirkiness comes in the form of creaky sloping floors and stairs courtesy of the Georgian age of the property. We had a junior suite (double) which was opulent and tastefully decorated with high ceilings and large size adding to the sense of quality. However, one or two small things prevent me giving top marks. Wallpaper lifting slightly on a couple of corners can be so easily fixed. The bathroom was small, not enough shelf room for toiletries, paintwork marked and chipped, extractor not working, floor tiles cracked, low shower pressure and a gap under the shower partition (shower over bath) meant that the floor got wet while showering. Overall, good value but, if you want breakfast the additional charge of 12 / 15 pounds per person for continental / cooked breakfast somewhat reduces the value proposition.

Reviewed by
Steven W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romantic birthday retreat
A surprise trip to London for my wife's birthday; dinner, theatre and hotel. This was the icing on the cake at the end of the evening. The room was perfect, cozy and homely and with excellent customer service. The central location was perfect for enjoying all that the capital has to offer and without a ridiculous price tag. Excellent value for money. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to friends or family without hesitation.

Reviewed by
Jonathan H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good but for the noise.
Excellent, suite was large and spacious, comfy pull out sofa for kids, nice bathroom, silky sheets, fluffy towels. Our bed was very hard, if you don't like hard beds you won't sleep well. Sadly woken at 4.30 am by another guest who refused to be quiet for over two hours despite my begging the night manager to ask her to quiet down, I don't know if he did talk to her, but she certainly didn't stop talking at the top of her voice. He did say he'd already told her to be quiet but she ignored him, i don't think he felt there was anymore he could do. Ruined the next day as I was exhausted, the walls must be very thin, for this reason I wouldn't risk returning, which is a shame. Really feel the night manager should have done more. On check out the receptionist didn't ask how our stay was so I didn't bother telling him, he didn't seem interested. It felt like a one night stop hotel, maybe before a flight or meeting, the staff didn't seem to want or expect you to return.

Reviewed by
J Fox

From York, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Made to feel most welcome by the staff, who looked after our luggage as we arrived several hours before check in was available (as well as the following day when the luggage was cared for until early evening of departure day after check out)
The room was comfortable and clean, and the service excellent. Luggage was in rooms when we arrived back for check in (which was good as we were on the second storey)
Didn't sample any of the food, as we ate breakfast out, but the conservatory and garden are a peaceful oasis in London.
Excellent location, just round the corner from the British Museum and the liveliness of Covent Garden and a short walk from Russell Square and Warren Street tube stations.

Reviewed by
Jason S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy, clean and comfortable
I was a little daunted when I was shown my room (number 3) which is almost subterranean with minimal natural light but it was cosy ,clean and comfortable and perfectly suited my few days in London. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and caused me to sleep in late the first morning ! The shower was good and staff were polite and efficient. Free good quality wi-fi and no charge for leaving a bag there after checking out which is an annoying habit with some hotels these days. A ten minute easy walk to Drury Lane. There was not a lot not to like.

Reviewed by
Roger Thompson

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely hotel - but you pay for location.
I was greeted by a rather professional businessman type who couldn't quite manage a smile, instead proceeding to deal with my check in payment. The man who carried our bags was incredibly friendly and gave information about the room, making up for the initial hostility.
The room was spotlessly clean, and delightfully opulent (the far side of tacky, which is always a risk when you employ a green and gold colour scheme). The beds were comfortable, the TV large, and the mini-bar well stocked. An en-suite room, with a functioning, if a little old, shower. Having not attended breakfast I'm not able to give any insight into the kitchen.
Overall, the Academy is a well-kept, central hotel. It has a lovely location, which is naturally why the price is as steep as it is. I would not pay the amount requested again. I also feel that the staff could do with a reminder that a paying guest is a guest indeed, be they the typical well-suited businessman or the teenager in a hoody. However, an enjoyable experience and a lovely room.
****

Reviewed by
N Brown

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night in Bloombsury
Really helpful, nice room and good location,

Reviewed by
David R

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location and welcome but improvements required.
We stayed for one night in Room 7 located on the ground floor overlooking the hotel's garden/patio. It was clean and spacious, but out of the three windows, one was completely missing its lock so security was potentially an issue. We flagged this to reception and was told that it would be looked into, but we heard nothing further. It was slightly pricey for what it's worth, but this may just be due to its proximity to Oxford Street, the West End and Covent Garden.

Reviewed by
Katherine W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Out-of-town visitor
It would have been more generous to have breakfast included in the rate.
We were pleased to be upgraded to the luxury suite. But when presented with a bottle which I assumed to be the customary white wine I was surprised to see it was still water.

One is more aware of the overall cost of a brief stay when paying from one's own pocket compared to those on company expenses

Reviewed by
L S

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next