Reviews - The Academy

4

17-21 Gower Street, London, WC1E 6HG

Price From 245.77 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (124)

82% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Jane M

  • May 2014

What a shame the staff let the place down

Great location, great room, super soft sheets and towels...

couldn't fault the hotel itself..... sadly the staff themselves let the place down. The reception staff were indifferent and the chambermaid service is a joke. She made the bed, left used cups and ice buckets in the room, very poor. Would recommend the hotel in terms of a great place to stay for London, just don't expect to be made to feel welcome!

  • C P

  • April 2014

A little gem

An excellent little hotel, inexpensive yet central.

It lies between UCL and Oxford Street. We'll be back

  • Patricia B

  • April 2014

I got a bargain

Having reviewed the hotel site, I realise I got a very good bargain on LateRooms.

I stayed in what may be the smallest room in the hotel, but it completely met my needs for a one-night stay for a business trip. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful. I like the various public spaces in the hotel, all of which seem inviting and nicely decorated. I was slightly disappointed in the food - a tiny sandwich with limp lettuce on room service, and over-cooked eggs for breakfast, but other than that it was well-presented and tasted fine. I'd definitely stay there again, and hope to sample on of the hotel's cream teas, which look delicious.

  • Jane Humphreys

  • April 2014

Great room!

The stay was great because the room was at the top and back of the hotel and if I was staying again, I should like room 30 again.

Could turn off the air con and open the window and the room was quiet. Also, excellent location.

  • c mistry

  • April 2014

the hotel was easy to find greay area with many places to eat nearby staff very helpfull

the visit was really great experience my two kids loved the room and how comfortable the beds were

will definetley visit again

  • Andrew P

  • April 2014

Friendly comfortable and quiet

  • M Manyiwa

  • April 2014

Great place

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

I found the room to be very well presented and for once I found sleeping somewhere other than my 'own' bed easy. I would recommend this place, while it isn't the cheapest place to stay, its worth every penny, plus more.

  • Chris TREVALLION

  • April 2014

Ideally located & pleasant hotel

Comfortable and clean with polite and accommodating staff.

Really easy to get to a wide range of galleries, theatres, markets and attractions. Only little minus (and this is a personal opinion) was the lack of choice of tea and the very small cups on offer in the room and the busy road outside. Good value only if you get a good deal as there are other hotels that are situated in quieter areas that offer the same or better for a similar price.

  • S Phillips

  • April 2014

City Break

Very good

  • M C

  • March 2014

Good & not so good!

Very good location for what I wanted.

Close to the British Museum. Train station & underground system within walking distance.. Lots of different types of eating establishments within easy walking distance. Comfortable, cosy room. Good décor. Downside. Not good for people with a physical disability. No lifts, ramps or stair lifts.

Steps & stairs to get anywhere in hotel, including dining. My room at top of building, 8 flights of stairs to get there. Shower door had been removed & replaced with a curtain. Tattie. Sealant around shower tray, old, black & mouldy. It's not difficult or expensive to replace the door & replace the sealant.

Although I've said I'd stay there again, I could not take my wife or daughter there, because of all the steps & stairs!