No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Academy

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
17-21 Gower Street , London, WC1E 6HG
Located just off Oxford Street, The Academy is located in a peaceful yet central location in leafy Bloomsbury. A traditional townhouse hotel, originally built in 1776 with history, charm and character; each guestroom is tastefully decorated, and features iPod docking stations and flat screen TV's, for your entertainment.

Enjoy Full English or Continental breakfasts in our dining room – and dinner in one of the many fantastic restaurants nearby. During summer, take advantage of our two scenic, walled gardens or during colder days, relax in the peaceful, heated conservatory. Alternatively, in keeping with the area’s literary history, while away the hours in our small library before enjoying a drink in the sumptuous lounge.

Take advantage of The Academy's ideal location – just 10 minutes’ walk from Covent Garden’s boutique shops, The West End’s notorious theatres and Soho’s bustling nightlife. We are a short walk to the tube stations of Goodge Street (Northern Line), or Tottenham Court Road (Central Line). For the Eurostar, London St Pancras is just a 5 minute taxi ride or 15 minutes’ walk for the Eurostar is just a 5 minute taxi ride or a 15 minute walk. The Academy provides easy access to all London’s major Airports.

The Academy is a Grade II listed building (and, as such, does not have an elevator - all rooms are only accessible by stairs!). All guests receive a 50% discount on parking at Bloomsbury Square Car Park.
Picture of The Academy, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 139 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed only one night , however it was a great confortable, clean room, fast and efficient service.
The location is close to restaurants, shopping centres, theaters. It was very convenient hotel to visit London. We will stay there again in our next visit to the city and highly recommend it.

Reviewed by
A Morelos

From Leatherhead, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value Very Nice Venue
Lovely old school hotel - recommended

Reviewed by
Ian P

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great quality, would stay again
I got a good price (for London) - £148 for a single room with cooked breakfast. I got a lovely, comfortable room that I could swing a cat in (unusual for London!) with lots of what I consider extras; dressing gown, slippers, mini bar, fruit, free wi-fi, spacious bathroom, trouser press. I had a room service dinner which was delicious and I feel reasonably priced (Thai King Prawn Curry with rice for £11). Staff were very welcoming and friendly and the ambience in the hotel was lovely. Close to Oxford Street and Tottenham Court Road (about 10mins walk), so great location too. I was travelling alone on business and it felt very safe; lock and chain on the door, all well lit. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to a friend.

Reviewed by
Joanne S

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bathroom old, noise from creaky floorboards disappointing. Service excellent, location great
At the reduced price (£90) available through Late Rooms the value for money was acceptable. The full rack rate quoted (£390) on Late Rooms must be in someone's dreams. Answers to following questions assume the reduced price is standard.

Reviewed by
D Gurr

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value, comfortable
Excellent room. Avoid front of hotel is normal London traffic bothers you. Guest staying next room very noisy. When I complained the next morning, this had happened previous night. Management needs to deal with this unacceptable nuisance immediately. No offer to compensate. Very good value for £90. Would stay again at this offer

Reviewed by
Richard B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small single room
I stayed in a small single room which was adequate in size - like majority of single rooms. The staff were efficient and friendly.

Reviewed by
Pam O

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So near yet so far
The Academy is a hidden gem of a hotel.
Staff attentive and efficient, room excellent (The Virginia Wolffe Suite), Breakfast was very good with a good selection.
Extremely good value for money so close to Central London yet away from the the crowds.
The only negative.... No Marmite at breakfast

Reviewed by
james T

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romantic retreat
A beautiful hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary

Reviewed by
Helen F

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Past Its Best
Ok but dowdy. We were stuck in the attic. The decor was good but things like the net curtains for example very dirty. Many of the bathroom floor tiles bathroom floor tiles were cracked. There was only one wall socket. Along with the customary bottle of water there were three apples. I tried one but it was in people. Pretty I know, but we paid nearly £200 for one nights accommodation. At that price, you would expect A far better experience.

Reviewed by
P Carter

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay
Good location. Travelling alone so nice to have a small single room, quite sufficient for one person.
Good breakfast, plenty of fresh fruit

Reviewed by
Sara H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next