No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Academy

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
17-21 Gower Street , London, WC1E 6HG
Located just off Oxford Street, The Academy is located in a peaceful yet central location in leafy Bloomsbury. A traditional townhouse hotel, originally built in 1776 with history, charm and character; each guestroom is tastefully decorated, and features iPod docking stations and flat screen TV's, for your entertainment.

Enjoy Full English or Continental breakfasts in our dining room – and dinner in one of the many fantastic restaurants nearby. During summer, take advantage of our two scenic, walled gardens or during colder days, relax in the peaceful, heated conservatory. Alternatively, in keeping with the area’s literary history, while away the hours in our small library before enjoying a drink in the sumptuous lounge.

Take advantage of The Academy's ideal location – just 10 minutes’ walk from Covent Garden’s boutique shops, The West End’s notorious theatres and Soho’s bustling nightlife. We are a short walk to the tube stations of Goodge Street (Northern Line), or Tottenham Court Road (Central Line). For the Eurostar, London St Pancras is just a 5 minute taxi ride or 15 minutes’ walk for the Eurostar is just a 5 minute taxi ride or a 15 minute walk. The Academy provides easy access to all London’s major Airports.

The Academy is a Grade II listed building (and, as such, does not have an elevator - all rooms are only accessible by stairs!). All guests receive a 50% discount on parking at Bloomsbury Square Car Park.
Picture of The Academy, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 140 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City Break
Very good

Reviewed by
S Phillips

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good & not so good!
Very good location for what I wanted.
Close to the British Museum.
Train station & underground system within walking distance..
Lots of different types of eating establishments within easy walking distance.
Comfortable, cosy room.
Good décor.
Downside!
Not good for people with a physical disability.
No lifts, ramps or stair lifts.
Steps & stairs to get anywhere in hotel, including dining.
My room at top of building, 8 flights of stairs to get there.
Shower door had been removed & replaced with a curtain. Tattie!
Sealant around shower tray, old, black & mouldy.
It's not difficult or expensive to replace the door & replace the sealant!
Although I've said I'd stay there again, I could not take my wife or daughter there, because of all the steps & stairs!

Reviewed by
M C

From England
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab room, location, food - even had a concession at local NCP which saved £15 on parking
we had a great stay

Reviewed by
SIMON PALMER

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet and Unassuming
I found this hotel ideally situated in a quiet and safe part of London. It was within easy walking distance of covent garden and the theatres. Our room on the top floor was neatly presented and the linen looked crisp and towels were beautifully soft.
My only criticism (and it was only a quick visit ) was that on arrival, ( and subsequent returns), although the greeting was pleasant, I felt it rather understated, perfectly helpful when answering any questions we had. There was no real sense that our custom was important and welcome. We were not asked any questions as to how far we had come in fact there was very little pleasantries exchanged. On reflection this was quite disappointing.

Reviewed by
Angela C

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from home in london
Friendly staff room food comfort first class well done we will be back

Reviewed by
David McGinnis

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

London at its best.
A well located comfortable hotel with well trained helpful staff.

Reviewed by
John Poole

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed size
Single bed size relatively small

Reviewed by
Theo S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Like a box of chocolates
The rooms in this hotel are like a box of chocolates, varying significantly in size and quality. I believe the disparity in the reviews reflect this fact. We began our stay in a cramped, 2-star room, with a microscopic bathroom, then switched to a remodeled, 4-star room that was cleaner and much more spacious. Don't hesitate to ask for another room if you are not satisfied with the one that was initially assigned. A walk across the hallway could be equivalent to moving from a second-rate hotel to a first-class establishment.

Reviewed by
Jerome C

From USA
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

London Weekend
We were not particularly impressed with the room for the money spent, from visits to London in the past we have found the closer you are to 'town' the worst the accommodation is.. maybe this is a more use/maintenance thing because of the central location??

Reviewed by
E C

From , England
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem
An excellent little hotel, inexpensive yet central. It lies between UCL and Oxford Street.
We'll be back

Reviewed by
C P

From England
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next