Reviews - The Academy


17-21 Gower Street, London, WC1E 6HG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (122)

81% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Louise W

  • November 2014

Not run of the mill!

The hotel was easy to get to from Euston Station, yet close to Central London.

It was very comfortable with everything provided, including nice touches such as fresh apples. The room had plenty of character and was well appointed. Breakfast was very good too. The best thing about it was that it felt more like a house than a hotel.

  • Peter R

  • October 2014

Location Location

For my needs this was fantastic as only 300yards from my work visit and really handy for Restaurants and bars around Tottenham Ct Rd and Bloomsbury.

I had no issue with the fifth floor room and no lift but some might struggle and would need to ensure a room lower down. Nice feel to the place, quiet quality. Thank you, I shall be returning. (got it at a discounted rate and would have considered the full price too high).

  • Stephen j

  • October 2014


Was nice for weekend away.

Bed nice and comfortable.shame about breakfast

  • Jackie B

  • October 2014

Best little London hotel I've stayed in...

A pleasant single room, a gorgeous breakfast, nice surroundings and lovely decor ...

I will be back.

  • Xiangxia K

  • September 2014

No lift for downstairs

Nice service, nice rooms , nice locations for shopping, but why no lift for upstairs

  • J A

  • September 2014

ademy means higher learning and i could find nothing but high standards here.

i had stayed here some time ago,and it was excellent then and is more so now.the reception staff were excellent and dealt with my booking very quickly as i had arrived late for a dinner my room in less than 10 mins.porters very very clean and spacious.will stay again.

  • D Kennedy

  • September 2014

Charming Hotel

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Academy.

The appearance of Hotel outside was very pleasant and this trend continued inside the building. My room was spacious and comfortable. The complementary drinks and toileteries were of a high quality. I had an excellent sleep on a comfortable mattress.

Each member of staff treated me with courtsey and readily supplied any information I required.

  • C Duckworth

  • August 2014

A nice and friendly hotel

We enjoyed our stay.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and understanding of the needs of a couple with a three year old. The garden and conservatory are nice places to relax. As a piece of advice when booking: if you find stairs difficult for any reason, be sure to say this, as it's an older building and there are no lifts. Our room was at the top of several flights of stairs.

  • r harcourt

  • August 2014

Incredibly overpriced and utterly charmless.

As our 4 year old excitedly struggled to open the heavy front door and my wife and I carried a pushchair up the stairs the Man on reception 2 mtrs away didn't even look up.

The greeting was cold and unwelcoming. The 'suite' was little more than an elongated room with a sofa bed to accommodate our two children, and therefore nowhere to sit. The bathroom had mould in the grout and sealant and the shower fitting had a loose shroud resting on the shower head. There was an air con unit on the floor as well as on the wall which vented through the window preventing it from shutting and resulting in the traffic noise making it hard to get to sleep. The kettle was in a cupboard with nowhere obvious to plug it in so it went on the floor in the nearest socket. The floors creaked in the room above so badly, I couldn't sleep until they had gone to bed hours later. The bed was comfortable and we were allowed to store our bag during the day.

We paid a 'late rooms' deal price of £179 for 1 night with no breakfast. I feel utterly robbed. If I had paid the full £500+ I would have been absolutely furious. Boutique Hotel. Dream on!!!

  • Martin Brown

  • August 2014

Not somewhere I would recommend.

The hotel did warn there was no lift but the 8 flights of stairs to the room were a surprise.

However, I need to lose some weight so no big deal there. However the room was straight out of the 1970s. Shower room was pretty grubby and the room itself not great. How they got 4 stars I will never know but although the location makes this somewhere attractive the actual decor and standard of room wouldnt get 3 stars from me. Shame really.