The Academy

4

17-21 Gower Street, London, WC1E 6HG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (122)

80% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • N Henderson

  • August 2014

Nice area but disappointed with hotel

First impressions were great - lovely boutique feel to the reception and staff were friendly.

Lots of stairs to climb but we didn't mind this too much. We had booked a studio but we had to change to 2 doubles next to each other - we had been told in advance so that was ok. The room I shared with my 7 year old was fine - really comfy and adequate for what we needed and what I expected. However my husbands room whom he shared with my son was not great - the toilet was loose and did not flush properly, no cold water and he didn't feel that the shower was clean. He did mention this in the morning and the staff were sympathetic and apologised. However for a quick trip to London it suited our needs just fine and the area felt safe and quiet when walking back with children in the evening. Not sure if we would stay again - depends on room allocation. Overall friendly staff , comfy beds, breakfast not great but we often find this in hotels anyway.

  • C Watson

  • August 2014

Nice breakfast, pleasant staff, good value for money, clean.

  • Alexandra P

  • August 2014

Small buy cosy

On first entering the room I was very surprised at how small it was, and it did feel a bit claustrophobic.

However, once I settled in, it was actually quite cosy and homely.

  • Paul T

  • August 2014

Good for peace and quiet

  • Nicholas Metcalfe

  • July 2014

Tired hotel in Bermondsey

I had booked for afternoon tea on a Travelzoo deal and decided separately to stay the night at the hotel.

Impression and welcome was excellent on arrival. The general look of the hotel was rather disappointing, terrible carpets slightly tired look. The room was clean and although the air conditioning was broken the portable are conditioner was working well. Tea was very disappointing. We had booked 3 months earlier and had specifically requested a table in the garden. Th garden was full and we could not eat there. We eat in a conservatory area which was tired looking and opposite a well frequented toilet. One of the glasses of prosecco was off (two different bottles I guess) and when I asked for another this was off as well. The sandwiches had been made a lot earlier, even though we were having tea at 3PM, and were very dry . The filling was not very appetizing. Scones were delicious. Altogether a poor experience and as a result we decided not to have breakfast in the hotel.

  • L Hodgson

  • July 2014

Great little hotel in a fantastic location.

This hotel represents very good value for money and has much more character and a sense of elegance that is missing from your regular chain hotels.

The location is top-notch and my single room was a very comfortable size. If you do get cabin fever than there is also a well kept outdoor area and a conservatory that you can make use of, it's certainly all very homely.

My only problem was that the room was warm and stuffy due to the air-con being broken. This does seem to be a common theme with a few London hotels but I hope that the management can fix this before my next visit.

  • G Boyce

  • July 2014

Very enjoyable stay

I found the room to be very comfortable.

Air conditioning was excellent and given it was very humid that was a huge plus for me. It's also very well situated for all the excellent Theatres and Restaurants of London.

  • M Edwards

  • July 2014

Anniversary

Lovely room , very clean indeed.

Air conditioning was not working yet a large fan got us through the night.

The shower head needs to be larger and the spay was not very powerful.

Yet lovely staff , comfortable bed crisp sheets.

A pleasant garden at the back also as so was our room.

Great stay

  • C Guy

  • July 2014

Perfect

Just a lovely experience from start to finish

  • M Lewis

  • July 2014

Don't stay here!

I should have read Trip Advisor first.

All our complaints to the Deputy GM and the GM about this hotel were received as though they had never had such a complaint before; yet reading Trip Advisor it is clear they have been receiving the same complaints for years. What a soul-destroying place this must be for one to work in when ones whole day must be taken up dealing with complaints. We too walked up several flights of stairs to our room at the top of the hotel, on a very hot day to open the door to our room to be met by a 'fug' of sauna-like temperatures. The air-con didn't work so we were moved to the 'back-up' room. This is room 33 and has been specifically complained about before on this website, and should never be accepted. When we were taken to this room the maintenance staff were there getting it ready, cleaning the air-con and changing the light bulb in the shower room (cubicle). The air-con didn't work here either. Apparently because it was an 'uncharacteristically hot day' at 28 degrees and 74% humidity: we live in Singapore where it is typically 34 degrees and 90+% humidity, but the air-con is always super efficient. Why. Because it is maintained properly. The internet didn't work. I complained that the two things one expects from a hotel is to get a good night's sleep and to catch up with important business communications. I complained that Premier Inn offer a money back guarantee on both, to which I received the response 'well, that is their USP'. We got a terrible night's sleep only to be rudely disturbed at 0830 by the maintenance staff knocking the door. The ablutions are a joke - worse than those at EasyHotel at 26 pounds a night. I then put my back out falling off the loo seat, which wasn't secured to the floor - I'm not a fat guy. My daughter stayed in a room in another part of the hotel - her experience was exactly the same. The UK (I'm British) is appalling at hospitality at the best of times, but this takes the biscuit. It's an embarrassment.

The Academy needs to invest some serious money in a refurbishment: until it does Do not stay there.