No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Academy

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
17-21 Gower Street , London, WC1E 6HG
Located just off Oxford Street, The Academy is located in a peaceful yet central location in leafy Bloomsbury. A traditional townhouse hotel, originally built in 1776 with history, charm and character; each guestroom is tastefully decorated, and features iPod docking stations and flat screen TV's, for your entertainment.

Enjoy Full English or Continental breakfasts in our dining room – and dinner in one of the many fantastic restaurants nearby. During summer, take advantage of our two scenic, walled gardens or during colder days, relax in the peaceful, heated conservatory. Alternatively, in keeping with the area’s literary history, while away the hours in our small library before enjoying a drink in the sumptuous lounge.

Take advantage of The Academy's ideal location – just 10 minutes’ walk from Covent Garden’s boutique shops, The West End’s notorious theatres and Soho’s bustling nightlife. We are a short walk to the tube stations of Goodge Street (Northern Line), or Tottenham Court Road (Central Line). For the Eurostar, London St Pancras is just a 5 minute taxi ride or 15 minutes’ walk for the Eurostar is just a 5 minute taxi ride or a 15 minute walk. The Academy provides easy access to all London’s major Airports.

The Academy is a Grade II listed building (and, as such, does not have an elevator - all rooms are only accessible by stairs!). All guests receive a 50% discount on parking at Bloomsbury Square Car Park.
Picture of The Academy, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 144 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent situation
The Academy is a pleasant comfortable hotel in a fairly quiet street within walking distance of the British Museum. It has lovely gardens for a quiet drink or just to have coffee and read the paper. Room are a good size and spotlessly clean. Unless you are quite agile make sure you don't get a basement room and they are quite dark. En suite was fine with excellent fluffy bath sheets. Breakfast was amazing whether having full English of Continental. Would stay here again.

Reviewed by
F Garner

From Clitheroe, England
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dark and expensive
Room very dark; obscured windows so no exterior view. Bathroom very awkwardly designed - we are slim but still had to squeeze between bath and wall. No spare electric point for mobile charging - had to unplug iPod dock. Breakfast service slow but friendly.

Reviewed by
A Beaumont

From Barton on Sea, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely room ideal for 4 people
great room for a family and fantastic location for London. very lovely staff. slightly dated but don't let this put you off. £180 for family of 4 is great value and love the character of the place

Reviewed by
jacob p

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will stay again and recommend Room 7
We found the Academy to be well located and tastefully decorated, our room (7) although not overly big, (have paid more for smaller), was quite suitable and had all the amenities required. Staff were all pleasant and accommodating. One thing I would recommend them to look into is placing some form of ashtray/bucket facility in the walled garden and front entrance, this would alleviate cigarette littering and make it easier for staff to clean up outside. We can't comment on the quality of food as we were out most of the time but for the room prices charged, would have expected at least the Continental Breakfast to be included. All in all, vouching for room 7, we shall have no hesitation in booking for our future trips to London.

Reviewed by
R Viljoen

From Fraserburgh, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location
Great location and a lovely hotel. Just a word of warning though there is not a lift. Our room was on the top floor up six flights of stairs,. The staff were great and took our luggage up for us. I will happily stay at this hotel again.

Reviewed by
carol h

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

birthday boy
room was badly layer out and so felt choked up however location was fantastic

Reviewed by
S mohammed

From St. Albans , UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Big room, fully equipped with all the necessary luxuries - robes, slippers, fluffy towels, big comfortable bed. They allowed me an early check-in. Couldn't have been more helpful. Great rate for central London. I commute everyday but sometimes need to stay over - would stay here again above most other hotels. Great location for all central London.

Reviewed by
R Morgan

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth £200 per night
This is meant to be a 4* boutique hotel, and we paid £200 per night. I booked this hotel as a treat for my partner and I, to celebrate the completion of a professional postgrad qualification; I wanted something special. The hotel looks amazing on the website.
When I checked in, I was given a room which was totally shabby, there were marks on the walls, the bathroom was tiny and not clean. The bed had two large dips in the mattress due to overuse.
I requested a room change, and was taken to the top floor, to a bedroom in the roof space. This room was much better, and the bed felt new. However, the room was still extremely shabby and small, the shower needed replacing, the lights in the bathroom flickered on and off when the shower was in use. Worse, the water from the shower had a strange smell - I think the tanks needed cleaning out.
It was a very hot weekend, so we expected the room to be warm, but we had to have the air-conditioning and fan on full power all night because it was overwhelmingly hot. The curtains do not shut properly, so light streams into the room all night. All the carpets need replacing and are warn and marked.
Overall, this was the worst stay in a London hotel I have ever had. The price should be no more than £70 per night, and certainly nowhere near £200. I have stayed in nicer hotels for £35 pppn.
I would not recommend that you stay here, especially if you are looking for a relaxing weekend away to celebrate 8 years of study.

Reviewed by
K Price Edwards

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Altogether pleasant.
Overall this was a good experience. We we're welcomed warmly to the hotel, with only the lack of a lift and a few uneven steps making the room access problematical. The room itself was small but perfectly formed, and for the price in the area of London we were in I couldn't really have expected more. It was remarkably quiet despite the central location and the bed, easily the most important feature of a room, was as comfortable as any. If I had any complaints about the room it would be the lack of obvious spare sockets and the small sink and slightly underpowered shower, but otherwise all was well presented. Interacting with the staff was a good experience, and they were helpful but not intrusive. A birthday card for my wife was a nice touch that was totally in keeping with the unintrusive but good service. I can't comment on the food as we had alternative arrangements for breakfast.

Reviewed by
R Tippin

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Academy
Had two nights room only during late April. Very comfortable room with the most comfortable bed and pillows I think I've ever had in a hotel!

Reviewed by
Edward W

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next