No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Academy

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
17-21 Gower Street , London, WC1E 6HG
Located just off Oxford Street, The Academy is blessed with a peaceful yet central location in leafy Bloomsbury. It is a traditional townhouse hotel, originally built in 1776 with history, charm and character. Each guestroom is tastefully decorated, and for your entertainment, there are iPod docking stations and flat screen TV's with digital channels. When the sun is shining take advantage of the two walled gardens and listen to the trickle of the water fountain. Or during colder days relax in the peaceful heated conservatory. In keeping with the area's literary history, while away the time reading in the small library or enjoy a drink in the sumptuous lounge. Once rested, take advantage of The Academy's location - visit the boutique shops in Covent Garden, theatres of The West End and the nightlife of Soho, just a 10 minute walk away. The nearest tube station is Goodge Street (3 minute walk) on the Northern Line, or Tottenham Court Road (8 minute walk) on the Central Line. London St Pancras for the Eurostar is just a 5 minute taxi ride or a 15 minute walk. The Academy is easily accessable from all major London Airports.
Please note that The Academy is a Grade II listed building, and, as such, does not have an elevator. All rooms are only accessible by stairs.
Picture of The Academy, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 133 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a shame the staff let the place down
Great location, great room, super soft sheets and towels... couldn't fault the hotel itself..... sadly the staff themselves let the place down. The reception staff were indifferent and the chambermaid service is a joke. She made the bed, left used cups and ice buckets in the room, very poor. Would recommend the hotel in terms of a great place to stay for London, just don't expect to be made to feel welcome!

Reviewed by
Jane M

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room!
The stay was great because the room was at the top and back of the hotel and if I was staying again, I should like room 30 again. Could turn off the air con and open the window and the room was quiet. Also, excellent location.

Reviewed by
Jane Humphreys

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the hotel was easy to find greay area with many places to eat nearby staff very helpfull
the visit was really great experience my two kids loved the room and how comfortable the beds were
will definetley visit again

Reviewed by
c mistry

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly comfortable and quiet

Reviewed by
Andrew P

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place
The staff were very friendly and helpful. I found the room to be very well presented and for once I found sleeping somewhere other than my 'own' bed easy. I would recommend this place, while it isn't the cheapest place to stay, its worth every penny, plus more.

Reviewed by
M Manyiwa

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideally located & pleasant hotel
Comfortable and clean with polite and accommodating staff. Really easy to get to a wide range of galleries, theatres, markets and attractions. Only little minus (and this is a personal opinion) was the lack of choice of tea and the very small cups on offer in the room and the busy road outside. Good value only if you get a good deal as there are other hotels that are situated in quieter areas that offer the same or better for a similar price.

Reviewed by
Chris TREVALLION

From Rye, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City Break
Very good

Reviewed by
S Phillips

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good & not so good!
Very good location for what I wanted.
Close to the British Museum.
Train station & underground system within walking distance..
Lots of different types of eating establishments within easy walking distance.
Comfortable, cosy room.
Good décor.
Downside!
Not good for people with a physical disability.
No lifts, ramps or stair lifts.
Steps & stairs to get anywhere in hotel, including dining.
My room at top of building, 8 flights of stairs to get there.
Shower door had been removed & replaced with a curtain. Tattie!
Sealant around shower tray, old, black & mouldy.
It's not difficult or expensive to replace the door & replace the sealant!
Although I've said I'd stay there again, I could not take my wife or daughter there, because of all the steps & stairs!

Reviewed by
M C

From England
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab room, location, food - even had a concession at local NCP which saved £15 on parking
we had a great stay

Reviewed by
SIMON PALMER

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from home in london
Friendly staff room food comfort first class well done we will be back

Reviewed by
David McGinnis

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next