Reviews - The Academy


17-21 Gower Street, London, WC1E 6HG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (117)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Caroline W

  • March 2015

Good Value central hotel

I like this slightly quirky hotel.

Rooms are good and clean. There's no restaurant for dinner but room service quality wais excellent. The only thing that lets this hotel down is dreadful limited service internet. The system is antiquated and frustrating. The only (but important) reason I would not return.

  • C Lord

  • February 2015

The Academy

Shower not the best.

  • Michael M

  • February 2015

Convenient and Quiet

We enjoyed our stay at the Academy.

The location is great near the British museum and West end theater district. We could walk to almost all our targeted attractions. Staff was friendly and the room was pleasantly quiet and clean. Potential guests should consider that the hotel has no elevator and should ask for a lower level room if necessary.

  • Hannah G

  • February 2015

The Academy

I was delighted with my room, which was unexpectedly a suite (room 26) when I had booked a standard room.

The bed was comfortable and the room facilities were spot on. I had a wee staircase down to my own bathroom with rolltop bath. The decor was charming and transformed a night staying over near the office into a mini break. Will definitely stay again.

  • W Raja

  • January 2015

Nice quaint little boutique hotel

Quaint little boutique hotel, very nice and the staff really accommodating.

Had drinks waiting for us in the room for my wifes Birthday with complimentary chocolates and card. Less than 5 minutes from the Soho, Leics Sq, so you dont get all the noise but cant get there with ease. Dont expect super modern, perfectly decorated rooms. Expect rooms that have a character and but keep perfectly in line with a Georgian townhouse. Would definitely visit again.

  • Tim Mills

  • January 2015

Good value, some nice features but let down by little things

We enjoyed our stay and will return.

Given cost it was good value. It has some nice features particularly a small but very nice library where we were able to sit and work. Wifi worked well throughout. Staff were generally very helpful, friendly and put things right or helped very promptly. Only on Sunday morning did the waitress not bother to ask if we wanted to upgrade from continental to full English although she had the previous day and seemed to forget us. The air conditioning was broken but it was warm/cool enough. Also lead with plug sockets and other connections was not working so had to plug direct to mains. Radio and tape player. Annoyingly failed to provide and then replace teabags although as soon as we asked they provided them and apologised. However kept providing 3 when there were two of us?. At least 4 so you can have 2 cups of tea surely.

Room was a bit small in my view but not my wife's. She really liked the place. Shower had cracked floor and although safe and clean needs replacing. Could not go in garden because of building works.

  • Nicholas B

  • January 2015

Great place for a weekend break

I stayed here with my wife for a weekend break and enjoyed our stay.

Great location for London site seeing near many attractions and 5 mins walk from the tube. Great service and the staff couldn't do enough to make our stay a great one. We'd recommend this place to anyone.

  • Charles C

  • January 2015

The Academy

Hotel in a good location but pricey for what it was.

  • K Crosskey

  • January 2015

Charming hotel, wonderful staff

Hotel is well run, nicely maintained and in a lovely area of London.

We stayed just one night and, though the room was an 8/10 due to some extremely minor inconveniences, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and polite and dealt with the problem swiftly and far surpassed my expectations.

  • S Tallamy

  • January 2015


High quality