No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Academy

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
17-21 Gower Street , London, WC1E 6HG
Located just off Oxford Street, The Academy is located in a peaceful yet central location in leafy Bloomsbury. A traditional townhouse hotel, originally built in 1776 with history, charm and character; each guestroom is tastefully decorated, and features iPod docking stations and flat screen TV's, for your entertainment.

Enjoy Full English or Continental breakfasts in our dining room – and dinner in one of the many fantastic restaurants nearby. During summer, take advantage of our two scenic, walled gardens or during colder days, relax in the peaceful, heated conservatory. Alternatively, in keeping with the area’s literary history, while away the hours in our small library before enjoying a drink in the sumptuous lounge.

Take advantage of The Academy's ideal location – just 10 minutes’ walk from Covent Garden’s boutique shops, The West End’s notorious theatres and Soho’s bustling nightlife. We are a short walk to the tube stations of Goodge Street (Northern Line), or Tottenham Court Road (Central Line). For the Eurostar, London St Pancras is just a 5 minute taxi ride or 15 minutes’ walk for the Eurostar is just a 5 minute taxi ride or a 15 minute walk. The Academy provides easy access to all London’s major Airports.

The Academy is a Grade II listed building (and, as such, does not have an elevator - all rooms are only accessible by stairs!). All guests receive a 50% discount on parking at Bloomsbury Square Car Park.
Picture of The Academy, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 140 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for peace and quiet

Reviewed by
Paul T

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired hotel in Bermondsey
I had booked for afternoon tea on a Travelzoo deal and decided separately to stay the night at the hotel. Impression and welcome was excellent on arrival. The general look of the hotel was rather disappointing, terrible carpets slightly tired look. The room was clean and although the air conditioning was broken the portable are conditioner was working well.
Tea was very disappointing. We had booked 3 months earlier and had specifically requested a table in the garden. Th garden was full and we could not eat there. We eat in a conservatory area which was tired looking and opposite a well frequented toilet. One of the glasses of prosecco was off (two different bottles I guess) and when I asked for another this was off as well. The sandwiches had been made a lot earlier, even though we were having tea at 3PM, and were very dry . The filling was not very appetizing. Scones were delicious. Altogether a poor experience and as a result we decided not to have breakfast in the hotel.

Reviewed by
Nicholas Metcalfe

From Hindhead, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay
I found the room to be very comfortable. Air conditioning was excellent and given it was very humid that was a huge plus for me. It's also very well situated for all the excellent Theatres and Restaurants of London.

Reviewed by
G Boyce

From GLASGOW, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little hotel in a fantastic location.
This hotel represents very good value for money and has much more character and a sense of elegance that is missing from your regular chain hotels. The location is top-notch and my single room was a very comfortable size. If you do get cabin fever than there is also a well kept outdoor area and a conservatory that you can make use of, it's certainly all very homely.
My only problem was that the room was warm and stuffy due to the air-con being broken. This does seem to be a common theme with a few London hotels but I hope that the management can fix this before my next visit.

Reviewed by
L Hodgson

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary
Lovely room , very clean indeed.
Air conditioning was not working yet a large fan got us through the night.
The shower head needs to be larger and the spay was not very powerful.
Yet lovely staff , comfortable bed crisp sheets.
A pleasant garden at the back also as so was our room.
Great stay

Reviewed by
M Edwards

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't stay here!
I should have read Trip Advisor first!
All our complaints to the Deputy GM and the GM about this hotel were received as though they had never had such a complaint before; yet reading Trip Advisor it is clear they have been receiving the same complaints for years. What a soul-destroying place this must be for one to work in when ones whole day must be taken up dealing with complaints.
We too walked up several flights of stairs to our room at the top of the hotel, on a very hot day to open the door to our room to be met by a 'fug' of sauna-like temperatures. The air-con didn't work so we were moved to the 'back-up' room. This is room 33 and has been specifically complained about before on this website, and should never be accepted. When we were taken to this room the maintenance staff were there getting it ready, cleaning the air-con and changing the light bulb in the shower room (cubicle). The air-con didn't work here either. Apparently because it was an 'uncharacteristically hot day' at 28 degrees and 74% humidity: we live in Singapore where it is typically 34 degrees and 90+% humidity, but the air-con is always super efficient. Why? Because it is maintained properly.
The internet didn't work. I complained that the two things one expects from a hotel is to get a good night's sleep and to catch up with important business communications. I complained that Premier Inn offer a money back guarantee on both, to which I received the response 'well, that is their USP'.
We got a terrible night's sleep only to be rudely disturbed at 0830 by the maintenance staff knocking the door.
The ablutions are a joke - worse than those at EasyHotel at 26 pounds a night!
I then put my back out falling off the loo seat, which wasn't secured to the floor - I'm not a fat guy.
My daughter stayed in a room in another part of the hotel - her experience was exactly the same.
The UK (I'm British) is appalling at hospitality at the best of times, but this takes the biscuit. It's an embarrassment.
The Academy needs to invest some serious money in a refurbishment: until it does Do not stay there.

Reviewed by
M Lewis

From SINGAPORE, Singapore
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
Just a lovely experience from start to finish

Reviewed by
C Guy

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
The Academy flatters to deceive in my opinion. At nearly £200 per room, we were disappointed with the size, cleanliness and facilities on offer. The air conditioning had broken down on the hottest 2 days of the year and the fan was not up to it as a replacement. The room was far smaller than appeared in the photographs and we were left a little underwhelmend by having to walk up 4 flights of starers because there was no lift.

Reviewed by
Neil F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
I booked this hotel less than 24 hrs before arrival and got a great price.
I liked everything about this hotel. It is close to the center, clean, staff was very helpful.
My only objection was that shower hand was non-detachable.

Reviewed by
Z Miric

From Croatia
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Money?!!
A nice view from outside I paid quiet a lot of money for a room with no actual day light !!! I paid well into the hundreds to also not be able to use the mini fridge unless I was willing to pay for that? Room service is not 24 hours as written down either

Reviewed by
Megan S

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next