No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Academy

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
17-21 Gower Street , London, WC1E 6HG
Located just off Oxford Street, The Academy is located in a peaceful yet central location in leafy Bloomsbury. A traditional townhouse hotel, originally built in 1776 with history, charm and character; each guestroom is tastefully decorated, and features iPod docking stations and flat screen TV's, for your entertainment.

Enjoy Full English or Continental breakfasts in our dining room – and dinner in one of the many fantastic restaurants nearby. During summer, take advantage of our two scenic, walled gardens or during colder days, relax in the peaceful, heated conservatory. Alternatively, in keeping with the area’s literary history, while away the hours in our small library before enjoying a drink in the sumptuous lounge.

Take advantage of The Academy's ideal location – just 10 minutes’ walk from Covent Garden’s boutique shops, The West End’s notorious theatres and Soho’s bustling nightlife. We are a short walk to the tube stations of Goodge Street (Northern Line), or Tottenham Court Road (Central Line). For the Eurostar, London St Pancras is just a 5 minute taxi ride or 15 minutes’ walk for the Eurostar is just a 5 minute taxi ride or a 15 minute walk. The Academy provides easy access to all London’s major Airports.

The Academy is a Grade II listed building (and, as such, does not have an elevator - all rooms are only accessible by stairs!). All guests receive a 50% discount on parking at Bloomsbury Square Car Park.
Picture of The Academy, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 127 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Academy
Excellent hotel for location, close to British Museum and a short walk to the theatre area. All staff were excellent and couldn't be more helpful. Room was small but well decorated and the bed was the comfiest I have ever slept in. Bathroom very small and the decor and fittings are dated but very clean. Bedroom heater not working though fan heater was available. We didn't need it even though it was -1c outside.

Reviewed by
Robert V

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Academy
Rooms were comfortable - however we had to ask for the heating to be put on as the rooms were cold. Lobby and staircases were in need of some decoration - lots of marks on walks and skirting boards. No SKY TV in a 4* hotel!

Reviewed by
D Linehan

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Characterful Hotel
The hotel is nicely situated in Bloomsbury which is handy for central London yet its location is relatively quiet. The staff were very friendly although on arrival there was some confusion as to whether I had paid for breakfast. I had. This was soon sorted out.
The room in which I stayed wasn't huge but it was comfortable. The air-con wasn't working but this wasn't a issue in December. The bathroom was OK but wasn't big enough for a bath, so shower only. I slept well.
I thought the breakfast was excellent. They appear to serve high quality ingredients.
I would definitively stay here again..for the right price.

Reviewed by
David James

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Expensive, dated with small room for the money.
Whilst the staff were very pleasant this was not value for money. Room only at £169 with paint peeling in parts of the hotel, shower room very small and sink hanging off wall were not representative of the cost.
Bed was comfortable and clean, as was all of the hotel, but a very warm room wasn't helped by broken air con.

Reviewed by
G Thompson

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pricey but worth it for a treat
The Garden Suite was fab in every way.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline H

From Wallingford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
We had an enjoyable stay. The only downside was the busy road at the front, traffic kept us awake most of the night so we asked to be changed to a rear-facing room the next day, which was excellent.
The staff were very polite and helpful, also both rooms were clean and tidy, good facilities with plenty of room.
Breakfast was excellent, with a very large choice.
We would stay again but only in a rear-facing room.

Reviewed by
Andy Harper

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, clean and comfortable
The location was ideal for me, just a short walk from Euston. My single room wasn't big but very clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
J Gibson

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Academy hotel is excellent
The Academy hotel is very close to tube and shops but manages to feel quiet and secluded away from the hurried busyness of a central London location. The welcome was perfect, booking in sorted swiftly and easily. staff very friendly and accommodating. our room was at the top of the beautiful ancient building and was well worth the climb. gorgeously comfortable and perfectly kitted out with tea & coffee facilities, a mini bar and lovely big bath in the bathroom. even room service was quick and delicious. we had a really lovely sleep and finished our stay with a fresh and tasty breakfast. I couldn't fault the academy and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a great stay in a unique small London hotel. will definitely return.

Reviewed by
T Battershill

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing rooms in a great location
Fantastic rooms, spacious, just a shame I arrived late at night and checked out early so didn't get the chance to appreciate it.

Reviewed by
Graham York

From East Molesey, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel - Well Worth a Stay
The title says it all really. The hotel was approx 10/15 minute walk from Kings Cross, very welcoming (nice fire on in the reception area) and had a nice feel to it. Rooms were clean, bed very comfortable, good strong free wi-fi and no issues at all. They also had a conservatory which is useful if you were travelling in a group and a garden. Great location. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
R G

From England
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next