No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Academy

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
17-21 Gower Street , London, WC1E 6HG
Located just off Oxford Street, The Academy is located in a peaceful yet central location in leafy Bloomsbury. A traditional townhouse hotel, originally built in 1776 with history, charm and character; each guestroom is tastefully decorated, and features iPod docking stations and flat screen TV's, for your entertainment.

Enjoy Full English or Continental breakfasts in our dining room – and dinner in one of the many fantastic restaurants nearby. During summer, take advantage of our two scenic, walled gardens or during colder days, relax in the peaceful, heated conservatory. Alternatively, in keeping with the area’s literary history, while away the hours in our small library before enjoying a drink in the sumptuous lounge.

Take advantage of The Academy's ideal location – just 10 minutes’ walk from Covent Garden’s boutique shops, The West End’s notorious theatres and Soho’s bustling nightlife. We are a short walk to the tube stations of Goodge Street (Northern Line), or Tottenham Court Road (Central Line). For the Eurostar, London St Pancras is just a 5 minute taxi ride or 15 minutes’ walk for the Eurostar is just a 5 minute taxi ride or a 15 minute walk. The Academy provides easy access to all London’s major Airports.

The Academy is a Grade II listed building (and, as such, does not have an elevator - all rooms are only accessible by stairs!). All guests receive a 50% discount on parking at Bloomsbury Square Car Park.
Picture of The Academy, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 143 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

holiday
Was nice for weekend away. Bed nice and comfortable.shame about breakfast

Reviewed by
Stephen j

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best little London hotel I've stayed in...
A pleasant single room, a gorgeous breakfast, nice surroundings and lovely decor ... I will be back.

Reviewed by
Jackie B

From Towcester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No lift for downstairs
Nice service, nice rooms , nice locations for shopping, but why no lift for upstairs

Reviewed by
Xiangxia K

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ademy means higher learning and i could find nothing but high standards here.
i had stayed here some time ago,and it was excellent then and is more so now.the reception staff were excellent and dealt with my booking very quickly as i had arrived late for a dinner engagment.in my room in less than 10 mins.porters very good.room very clean and spacious.will stay again.

Reviewed by
J A

From WEST YORKSHIRE, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming Hotel
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Academy.
The appearance of Hotel outside was very pleasant and this trend continued inside the building.
My room was spacious and comfortable. The complementary drinks and toileteries were of a high quality. I had an excellent sleep on a comfortable mattress.
Each member of staff treated me with courtsey and readily supplied any information I required.

Reviewed by
D Kennedy

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Academy
Friendly and helpful boutique hotel. Beautiful courtyard gardens too. A lovely surprise.

Reviewed by
Anna S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Incredibly overpriced and utterly charmless.
As our 4 year old excitedly struggled to open the heavy front door and my wife and I carried a pushchair up the stairs the Man on reception 2 mtrs away didn't even look up. The greeting was cold and unwelcoming. The 'suite' was little more than an elongated room with a sofa bed to accommodate our two children, and therefore nowhere to sit. The bathroom had mould in the grout and sealant and the shower fitting had a loose shroud resting on the shower head. There was an air con unit on the floor as well as on the wall which vented through the window preventing it from shutting and resulting in the traffic noise making it hard to get to sleep. The kettle was in a cupboard with nowhere obvious to plug it in so it went on the floor in the nearest socket. The floors creaked in the room above so badly, I couldn't sleep until they had gone to bed hours later.
The bed was comfortable and we were allowed to store our bag during the day.
We paid a 'late rooms' deal price of £179 for 1 night with no breakfast! I feel utterly robbed! If I had paid the full £500+ I would have been absolutely furious! Boutique Hotel? Dream on!!!

Reviewed by
r harcourt

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice and friendly hotel
We enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and understanding of the needs of a couple with a three year old. The garden and conservatory are nice places to relax. As a piece of advice when booking: if you find stairs difficult for any reason, be sure to say this, as it's an older building and there are no lifts. Our room was at the top of several flights of stairs.

Reviewed by
C Duckworth

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not somewhere I would recommend.
The hotel did warn there was no lift but the 8 flights of stairs to the room were a surprise. However, I need to lose some weight so no big deal there. However the room was straight out of the 1970s. Shower room was pretty grubby and the room itself not great. How they got 4 stars I will never know but although the location makes this somewhere attractive the actual decor and standard of room wouldnt get 3 stars from me. Shame really.

Reviewed by
Martin Brown

From Filey, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant hotel, steep stairs!
Great staff, and classically stylish rooms. WiFi rather erratic at least in the topmost room, and the stairs can be a challenge, although the staff will assist with suitcases.

Reviewed by
Carolyn Roberts

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next