No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Academy

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
17-21 Gower Street , London, WC1E 6HG
Located just off Oxford Street, The Academy is blessed with a peaceful yet central location in leafy Bloomsbury. It is a traditional townhouse hotel, originally built in 1776 with history, charm and character. Each guestroom is tastefully decorated, and for your entertainment, there are iPod docking stations and flat screen TV's with digital channels. When the sun is shining take advantage of the two walled gardens and listen to the trickle of the water fountain. Or during colder days relax in the peaceful heated conservatory. In keeping with the area's literary history, while away the time reading in the small library or enjoy a drink in the sumptuous lounge. Once rested, take advantage of The Academy's location - visit the boutique shops in Covent Garden, theatres of The West End and the nightlife of Soho, just a 10 minute walk away. The nearest tube station is Goodge Street (3 minute walk) on the Northern Line, or Tottenham Court Road (8 minute walk) on the Central Line. London St Pancras for the Eurostar is just a 5 minute taxi ride or a 15 minute walk. The Academy is easily accessable from all major London Airports.
Please note that The Academy is a Grade II listed building, and, as such, does not have an elevator. All rooms are only accessible by stairs.
Picture of The Academy, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 130 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

birthday boy
room was badly layer out and so felt choked up however location was fantastic

Reviewed by
S mohammed

From St. Albans , UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Big room, fully equipped with all the necessary luxuries - robes, slippers, fluffy towels, big comfortable bed. They allowed me an early check-in. Couldn't have been more helpful. Great rate for central London. I commute everyday but sometimes need to stay over - would stay here again above most other hotels. Great location for all central London.

Reviewed by
R Morgan

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth £200 per night
This is meant to be a 4* boutique hotel, and we paid £200 per night. I booked this hotel as a treat for my partner and I, to celebrate the completion of a professional postgrad qualification; I wanted something special. The hotel looks amazing on the website.
When I checked in, I was given a room which was totally shabby, there were marks on the walls, the bathroom was tiny and not clean. The bed had two large dips in the mattress due to overuse.
I requested a room change, and was taken to the top floor, to a bedroom in the roof space. This room was much better, and the bed felt new. However, the room was still extremely shabby and small, the shower needed replacing, the lights in the bathroom flickered on and off when the shower was in use. Worse, the water from the shower had a strange smell - I think the tanks needed cleaning out.
It was a very hot weekend, so we expected the room to be warm, but we had to have the air-conditioning and fan on full power all night because it was overwhelmingly hot. The curtains do not shut properly, so light streams into the room all night. All the carpets need replacing and are warn and marked.
Overall, this was the worst stay in a London hotel I have ever had. The price should be no more than £70 per night, and certainly nowhere near £200. I have stayed in nicer hotels for £35 pppn.
I would not recommend that you stay here, especially if you are looking for a relaxing weekend away to celebrate 8 years of study.

Reviewed by
K Price Edwards

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Altogether pleasant.
Overall this was a good experience. We we're welcomed warmly to the hotel, with only the lack of a lift and a few uneven steps making the room access problematical. The room itself was small but perfectly formed, and for the price in the area of London we were in I couldn't really have expected more. It was remarkably quiet despite the central location and the bed, easily the most important feature of a room, was as comfortable as any. If I had any complaints about the room it would be the lack of obvious spare sockets and the small sink and slightly underpowered shower, but otherwise all was well presented. Interacting with the staff was a good experience, and they were helpful but not intrusive. A birthday card for my wife was a nice touch that was totally in keeping with the unintrusive but good service. I can't comment on the food as we had alternative arrangements for breakfast.

Reviewed by
R Tippin

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Academy
Had two nights room only during late April. Very comfortable room with the most comfortable bed and pillows I think I've ever had in a hotel!

Reviewed by
Edward W

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I got a bargain
Having reviewed the hotel site, I realise I got a very good bargain on LateRooms. I stayed in what may be the smallest room in the hotel, but it completely met my needs for a one-night stay for a business trip. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful. I like the various public spaces in the hotel, all of which seem inviting and nicely decorated. I was slightly disappointed in the food - a tiny sandwich with limp lettuce on room service, and over-cooked eggs for breakfast, but other than that it was well-presented and tasted fine. I'd definitely stay there again, and hope to sample on of the hotel's cream teas, which look delicious.

Reviewed by
Patricia B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a shame the staff let the place down
Great location, great room, super soft sheets and towels... couldn't fault the hotel itself..... sadly the staff themselves let the place down. The reception staff were indifferent and the chambermaid service is a joke. She made the bed, left used cups and ice buckets in the room, very poor. Would recommend the hotel in terms of a great place to stay for London, just don't expect to be made to feel welcome!

Reviewed by
Jane M

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room!
The stay was great because the room was at the top and back of the hotel and if I was staying again, I should like room 30 again. Could turn off the air con and open the window and the room was quiet. Also, excellent location.

Reviewed by
Jane Humphreys

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the hotel was easy to find greay area with many places to eat nearby staff very helpfull
the visit was really great experience my two kids loved the room and how comfortable the beds were
will definetley visit again

Reviewed by
c mistry

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly comfortable and quiet

Reviewed by
Andrew P

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next