No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-8 Russell Square , London, WC1B 5BE
When you’re visiting the capital you need to be in a location that’s close to everything and has all the facilities you need at a great four-star price. Hotel Russell in Bloomsbury gives you just that. We’re walking distance or a short taxi ride from Euston, St. Pancras and Kings Cross stations and next door to Russell Square tube station that takes you to Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square in minutes. Guests can also enquire at reception for 50% discount at Bloomsbury car park.

Steeped in history and heritage, a refurbishment means that behind the historic façade, most bedrooms, meeting rooms and the bar have all the modern amenities that you need to make your stay memorable.

Business guests and short break visitors alike are conveniently located to get around the city and can easily enjoy a theatre break, the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral or Harrods, as well as many more of the nearby central London attractions.

After a busy day, there’s just enough time to unwind in the Tempus Bar with a chilled glass of wine or steaming pot of tea. Our Tempus Restaurant is also a must for a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Picture of Hotel Russell, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 381 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room
I liked the room, however I was disappointed to find that the "double room" I had booked was actually a twin which had the beds pushed together. Other than that the room was lovely, very comfortable and warm.

Reviewed by
Christina B

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed the stay at Hotel Russell
Very attentive staff, clean, friendly and convenient location

Reviewed by
David R

From Bridlington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel experiience
I had to put my daughter and myself in the category of family as there was not one for mum and daughter, both of us being over 21! The staff were really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was amazing. The bar staff were very friendly and chatty not "stuck up" as we have found in some London Hotels. Everyone made us feel at home and relaxed.

Reviewed by
Christine Miles

From St. Neots, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My room was extremely noisy so much so that it was impossible to sleep. The window was old and the wooden frame was rotten making it impossible to close, hence no relief from road noise. The windows are single paned which is inadequate anyway. When I told the lady on desk at check out, she advised that I should have called in middle of night but it was too late now. Not v satisfactory I'm afraid.

Reviewed by
O Byrne

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleased to be upgraded

Reviewed by
S P

From , England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Russell Hotel experience
Central hotel, very convenient for West End London, completely efficient and comfortable.

Reviewed by
M James

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great quality accomodation
Managed to get a good deal on my room at the Hotel Russell so great value for money. The staff were both helpful and friendly and quickly fixed a problem with the TV in the room. The room was large and clean and the bed was really comfy, shower had good pressure although it's a bit of a squeeze as the door opens in. Breakfast was £12 for continental which included a large variety of good quality food. Overall impressed.

Reviewed by
D Lee

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel! Massive room. Felt like royalty

Reviewed by
Jonathan S

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
This hotel has no dropping area for bags at the entrance, which is on a very busy road. Don't take the car. The entrance is tired and the reception area unwelcoming and dark. The room was very clean and had everything you would need but was small and on the eighth floor, one floor up from the seventh floor lift stop. This was a last minute booking at a discounted rate and this was a discounted room. The bar was dark with poorly trained staff, a whiskey sour bore no resemblance to a cocktail and the promised and offered bar nuts did not arrive. London has many more better hotels.

Reviewed by
Karen B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable
Great for a business night. Good bed, quality accommodation. Shame breakfast wasn't included.

Reviewed by
J Gilbertson - TQI Limited

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next