No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-8 Russell Square , London, WC1B 5BE
When you’re visiting the capital you need to be in a location that’s close to everything and has all the facilities you need at a great four-star price. Hotel Russell in Bloomsbury gives you just that. We’re walking distance or a short taxi ride from Euston, St. Pancras and Kings Cross stations and next door to Russell Square tube station that takes you to Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square in minutes. Guests can also enquire at reception for 50% discount at Bloomsbury car park.

Steeped in history and heritage, a refurbishment means that behind the historic façade, most bedrooms, meeting rooms and the bar have all the modern amenities that you need to make your stay memorable.

Business guests and short break visitors alike are conveniently located to get around the city and can easily enjoy a theatre break, the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral or Harrods, as well as many more of the nearby central London attractions.

After a busy day, there’s just enough time to unwind in the Tempus Bar with a chilled glass of wine or steaming pot of tea. Our Tempus Restaurant is also a must for a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Picture of Hotel Russell, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 457 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The rest of the hotel may have been 4* but our room was most definitely not. Very clean but extremely small. Couldn't get to wardrobe without moving coffee table and then having to move it back before getting round the side of the bed. Luckily we only took one bag as no idea where a suitcase would have fit, let alone two. Heater in room didn't work ( luckily we were warm enough as no extra blankets provided). Bathroom window didn't shut entirely. No welcome pack in room which is always useful. On the plus side, the bed was extremely comfortable, the shower was amazing with pressure and heat and the staff very friendly. Would stay again on the premise of a larger room.

Reviewed by
Deborah H

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mini break
Good location. Rooms not too spectacular and could do with modernising. Bathroom old and yellowing and very small.

Reviewed by
Emily H

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel russell
We were on out honeymoon, the reception staff were lovely an we had drinks and cake left in our room for us. Was a lovely touch

Reviewed by
Donna Cunningham

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy
I asked at check-in for a quiet room - but even on 4th floor as we were at the front of the building the road below was very busy and noisy.
Please note that the rate quoted of £170 (quite fair) did not include vat - so the real rate for the room was an additional £34 making a charge of £204

Reviewed by
M Marr

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, but tired and in need of refurbishment
This hotel is well located and the staff and pleasant and friendly. The rooms are clean, but tired-looking. We were located in a junior suite on the 7th floor and the room was freezing when we entered. Our room seemed to have been heated by a single warm air vent on one side of the room - totally inadequate for a room of that size. It took over an hour to become tolerably warm. The tap in the bathroom was wobbly and the shower had a tendency to vary wildy from tepid to scorching hot, providing a most uncomfortable shower experience. Single glazing means that the noises of the City can be quite disturbing. I have stayed in this hotel before and would not recommend upgrading to the junior suite - it is quite simply a bigger room of no better quality and with no other perks.

Reviewed by
Catherine M

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My room.
Excellent for my purposes. The TV worked and the bathroom was excellent especially the shower! I spend a lot of time in Africa and so it was nice to be staying in luxurious conditions! The room itself was quiet and the bed extremely comfortable. It was great to have a number of electricity plugs available. I do not eat breakfast so cannot comment on the food. I was out both evenings so did not have dinner on site.

Reviewed by
Robert Lane

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Upgrade cold and overlooked
I stayed at the Russell overnight on 8th December 2014. I have stayed at the Russell on occasional business trips to London since 2006, so I was pleased to be offered an upgrade for £35 to a Junior Suite on the 7th Floor. I had stayed on the 7th floor in the past and have always enjoyed the quality of the room.
This was not the case on 8th December. Room 718 is a corner room. The windows are not double glazed so it is both noisy and very cold. Despite turning up the heating to its maximum of 28 degrees on the wall control, I was unable to get the room temperature above 17.5 degrees overnight. I have a thermometer on my travel alarm clock, which I know from experience is accurate.
In addition, one of the windows in the corner turret had no roller blind! This meant that the entire room was open to view. When I reported this in the morning, staff appeared astonished. It was clear to me that the blind had been missing for some time as the fixings were entirely different from the roller blinds in place.
So my £35 upgrade bought me a cold room that was entirely overlooked. Other smaller issues indicated to me that whilst the room is very modern, it is not being well maintained. Cold water pressure was almost non existent, it took an age to fill the kettle. The control knob in the shower was so stiff that it was quite a job to turn the water on and off. The control knob itself it really badly designed, being a shiny cylinder with just a small knob on it, very difficult to grip in any case, and hard to turn as the mechanism was so stiff.
The experience was all very disappointing.

Reviewed by
John L

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
This was the second time I had stayed at Hotel Russell in a week. The room was excellent and the breakfast excellent.

Reviewed by
E Hughes

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Darlington guest
Nice room, friendly efficient staff, lovely breakfast.

Reviewed by
Neal R

From Spennymoor, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel has character
Ok hotel with interesting architecture.

Reviewed by
Martin J

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next