No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-8 Russell Square , London, WC1B 5BE
When you’re visiting the capital you need to be in a location that’s close to everything and has all the facilities you need at a great four-star price. Hotel Russell in Bloomsbury gives you just that. We’re walking distance or a short taxi ride from Euston, St. Pancras and Kings Cross stations and next door to Russell Square tube station that takes you to Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square in minutes. Guests can also enquire at reception for 50% discount at Bloomsbury car park.

Steeped in history and heritage, a refurbishment means that behind the historic façade, most bedrooms, meeting rooms and the bar have all the modern amenities that you need to make your stay memorable.

Business guests and short break visitors alike are conveniently located to get around the city and can easily enjoy a theatre break, the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral or Harrods, as well as many more of the nearby central London attractions.

After a busy day, there’s just enough time to unwind in the Tempus Bar with a chilled glass of wine or steaming pot of tea. Our Tempus Restaurant is also a must for a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Picture of Hotel Russell, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 332 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not quite as good as it should be
This is such a lovely place that it's a shame it's not just that little bit more polished. My room was nice and clean, but not spotless. The decor was nice, but had some problems, like one of the slabs being loose in the bathroom. They give you tea and coffee, but not biscuits. It's got nice facilities, like an iron and ironing board and hair dryer, but none of them are *quite* as good as they should be for the money.

Reviewed by
Andrew W

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable and adequate accomodation - ambience and traditional surrounding-friendly helpful servic
loved the traditional atmosphere and the retention of the charactor of original building - polished wood , marble, plasterwork ceilings, subdued lighting with lots of candle effects but good lighting in bedrooms and bathrooms
enjoyed relaxing in comfy armchairs in bar after a busy day
food very good and breakfast offered a fresh and appealing extensive array
staff were friendly and smiling and very helpful

Reviewed by
susan j

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
Excellent location. 30 sec walk from tube station. 10 minute walk to Oxford street. Lovely location looking onto Russell square. Very safe area. Great atmosphere in the hotel. Staff very friendly. Expensive to stay maybe overpriced. Hotel is very clean and will def be staying again.

Reviewed by
Robert Mccarthy

From Glanmire, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
Good location for getting to key places and also St Pancras. Nice hotel.

Reviewed by
Dominic G

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


It was a lovely comfortable room.But as soon as I entered the room,I saw one big toenail on the floor and that was disgusting.And a few hairs here and there.
Apart from that everything else was very nice and friendly welcoming receptionists.

Reviewed by
K Karabina

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

although there was no view from the bedroom window this did not matter as it was dark when we arrived and we left after breakfast. As we left the dining room after breakfast we noticed quite a queue waiting for breakfast and so we were glad we did not experience a wait. The complementary glasses of champagne were much enjoyed andf we shall lookforward to visiting Harrods with our voucher. Thank You!!

Reviewed by
Gill U

From Lingfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent old London hotel
I got a single room last minute as had arrived in London utterly let lagged after long working, I slept brilliantly in a quiet, clean room, with fantastic bathroom with big bath, and big long windows. Hotel itself is beautiful right on Russell Square in Bloomsbury, with the Brunswick center and tube right round the corner. A great old-London experience!

Reviewed by
Sophie M

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent central hotel
Our stay at The Russell hotel was a brilliant experience . We were greated at the service desk by a very happy receptionist who offered my friend and I a room each as we had ordered a double. They also advised that as part of our package we would receive a free drink at the bar and also a £20 voucher for Harrods. The whole stay was luxurious and the hotels décor is stunning. The breakfast was amazing with so many choices. All in all this was my favourite stay so far in London.

Reviewed by
derek bird

From wirral, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marble Splendour
This is a truly lovely hotel, magnificent original interior and recently refurbished rooms, for the £119 I paid for the night I would say that it's excellent value for money. My only criticism is that if you don't book with them direct then you have to pay £15 for the use of the wi-fi for 24 hours.

Reviewed by
Dan B

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

London overnight
Convenient, efficient, very clean and reliable. Excellent standard of everything except for the position of my room - right overt the courtyard full of constantly roaring aircon equipment for the whole large hotel.
On my last visit here I was thoroughly pleased as my room was on the opposite side of the corridor, facing a quiet side street. I left a comment at the desk and a note has been made for a quiet room next time.

Reviewed by
M Carol

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.