No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-8 Russell Square , London, WC1B 5BE
When you’re visiting the capital you need to be in a location that’s close to everything and has all the facilities you need at a great four-star price. Hotel Russell in Bloomsbury gives you just that. You can walk here from Euston, St. Pancras or Kings Cross train stations, or a taxi drive is a really short journey. The tube station Russell Square is literally next door and on the Piccadilly line will take you to Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square within minutes of you leaving the hotel. Steeped in history and heritage, a refurbishment means that behind the historic façade most of the bedrooms, the bar and the meeting rooms have all the modern amenities that you need to make your stay a really comfortable one. Business guests are in a convenient location to get around the city and short break visitors can easily enjoy a theatre break, visit the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral or Harrods and in fact all of the central London attractions that are close by. After a busy day, there’s just enough time to unwind in the Tempus Bar with a chilled glass of wine or a steaming pot of tea.
Picture of Hotel Russell, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 328 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


It was a lovely comfortable room.But as soon as I entered the room,I saw one big toenail on the floor and that was disgusting.And a few hairs here and there.
Apart from that everything else was very nice and friendly welcoming receptionists.

Reviewed by
K Karabina

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

although there was no view from the bedroom window this did not matter as it was dark when we arrived and we left after breakfast. As we left the dining room after breakfast we noticed quite a queue waiting for breakfast and so we were glad we did not experience a wait. The complementary glasses of champagne were much enjoyed andf we shall lookforward to visiting Harrods with our voucher. Thank You!!

Reviewed by
Gill U

From Lingfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent old London hotel
I got a single room last minute as had arrived in London utterly let lagged after long working, I slept brilliantly in a quiet, clean room, with fantastic bathroom with big bath, and big long windows. Hotel itself is beautiful right on Russell Square in Bloomsbury, with the Brunswick center and tube right round the corner. A great old-London experience!

Reviewed by
Sophie M

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent central hotel
Our stay at The Russell hotel was a brilliant experience . We were greated at the service desk by a very happy receptionist who offered my friend and I a room each as we had ordered a double. They also advised that as part of our package we would receive a free drink at the bar and also a £20 voucher for Harrods. The whole stay was luxurious and the hotels décor is stunning. The breakfast was amazing with so many choices. All in all this was my favourite stay so far in London.

Reviewed by
derek bird

From wirral, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marble Splendour
This is a truly lovely hotel, magnificent original interior and recently refurbished rooms, for the £119 I paid for the night I would say that it's excellent value for money. My only criticism is that if you don't book with them direct then you have to pay £15 for the use of the wi-fi for 24 hours.

Reviewed by
Dan B

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

London overnight
Convenient, efficient, very clean and reliable. Excellent standard of everything except for the position of my room - right overt the courtyard full of constantly roaring aircon equipment for the whole large hotel.
On my last visit here I was thoroughly pleased as my room was on the opposite side of the corridor, facing a quiet side street. I left a comment at the desk and a note has been made for a quiet room next time.

Reviewed by
M Carol

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Magical!
I love London at night and, having parked almost outside the Hotel Russell, I stopped to take a photo of how beautiful it looks at night. The staff on reception were very helpful, and set to work finding out the times of the congestion charge for me (7am-6pm if you need to know). The room was lovely, clean and warm ... and I really didn't want to get out of the comfy bed in the morning. The bathroom was luxurious and I only wish I'd been able to stay longer.

Reviewed by
Jane F

From Hastings, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better than expected
Arrived at reception and was greeted by Imna a very pleasant young lady who booked me in without any trouble,it does make a difference well done,room was fresh and clean with large TV ,bath and shower ,breakfast was very good with a good choice and good service,check out was also trouble free and asked if I enjoyed my stay another plus point,it must have been a very grand hotel in its heyday and am sure the management are doing there best in difficult times a credit to them keep up the good work,hope to be back

Reviewed by
David B

From , Scotland
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent Central London hotel. Close to covent garden, theatre district, oxford street. The bar is sooo relaxing after a day out.

Reviewed by
H Reid

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel in the center, where you feel like a prince :)

Reviewed by
Richard Goddard

From Colne, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.