Reviews - Hotel Russell


1-8 Russell Square, London, WC1B 5BE

Price From 144.14 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (484)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • colin c

  • April 2015

Small room, not very clean

I booked a single room as it was only a short stay to meet friends, Room was exceptionally small which I wouldn't mind if it was clean.

Among other things a very large stain on the blind which looked like it was there for a while!!

  • Sophie S

  • April 2015


Excellent location, great value for money and beautiful hotel...

couldn't go wrong.

  • G Kingston

  • April 2015

Great value hotel in excellent location

On business but also my wife's 50th.

Room was really nice size and generally very nice if a little tired in places. They made us very welcome and the cake and wine for my wife was very much appreciated.

  • L Payton

  • March 2015

The hotel is very tired and has a 14million refurb program which has been started, the hotel building it's self is fantastic and great location The delux room was a very good size but tired, My friend had a junior double which was refurbed and was much better value for money , but the room was a lot smaller and big mordern bathroom.

For 1 night was a better deal

  • Richard Ellison

  • March 2015

Best Hotel for Euston

From entering to leaving the hotel the service was excellent.

No problems with checking in or checking out which is always a pleasant experience. The room was excellent and very comfortable to stay in. Breakfast was a pleasure and set us up for the rest of the day ( Our sons graduation at the Barbican Centre )

  • Joanna G

  • March 2015

Great location and friendly staff

I stayed on a Sunday so the rate was very good.

The welcome was great, the room was fine but the bathroom was rather cold - single-glazed and no heater. Nothing that a hot shower didn't sort though.

  • Richard a

  • March 2015

A piece of glamour

This beautiful old style hotel offers everything you could want - excellent, friendly staff, comfortable, quiet rooms and excellent food at a very reasonable cost.

Best value possible.

  • b harry

  • March 2015

Hotel Russell

The room was boiling hot, there was virtually no natural light and no mini bar.

No face wash . Bed was very comfy though. And staff very nice, room was very clean, but pretty basic

  • n p

  • March 2015

Hotel Russell

Recommended by a friend and we were not disappointed, central to all areas of London underground station on the doorstep, hotel staff excellent our train was not until the evening they let us leave our luggage until the evening before our train with no charge.

Overall made it a wonderful weekend.

  • R Carpenter

  • March 2015

High hopes dashed

Having come to the Hotel Russell 5 times for awards dinners I decided to give it a go staying here after an award dinner.

I was disappointed to discover my room was in the modern section of the hotel. On entering I was presented with a very dated looking decor. The windows had secondary double glazing which kept no noise out. The bathroom was grubby with human body hair in the shower. The bed was like a sponge. Truely disappointed and next time a shall stick to a Premier Inn!