No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-8 Russell Square , London, WC1B 5BE
When you’re visiting the capital you need to be in a location that’s close to everything and has all the facilities you need at a great four-star price. Hotel Russell in Bloomsbury gives you just that. We’re walking distance or a short taxi ride from Euston, St. Pancras and Kings Cross stations and next door to Russell Square tube station that takes you to Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square in minutes. Guests can also enquire at reception for 50% discount at Bloomsbury car park.

Steeped in history and heritage, a refurbishment means that behind the historic façade, most bedrooms, meeting rooms and the bar have all the modern amenities that you need to make your stay memorable.

Business guests and short break visitors alike are conveniently located to get around the city and can easily enjoy a theatre break, the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral or Harrods, as well as many more of the nearby central London attractions.

After a busy day, there’s just enough time to unwind in the Tempus Bar with a chilled glass of wine or steaming pot of tea. Our Tempus Restaurant is also a must for a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Picture of Hotel Russell, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 358 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top choice
Excellent location excellent price for what was expected. Stayed In many many London hotel and couldn't fault thus one bit, had a couple of issues but staff were very friendly and sorted them within an instant. Well worth a visit

Reviewed by
Lisa Lawrence

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, courteous staff will definitely stay again!

Reviewed by
Cindy F

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location, helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Rob K

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stay

Reviewed by
Christoffer E

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night in London
Stopped here on numerous occasions this time was the worst. The room had no widows as it was in the center of the hotel so very dark and dated room. The bathroom was discusting as it was many years out of date the shower head was stuck pointing at the wall and the grout/sealer was full of dirt and peeling away, it had been leaking that long the wood around it was rotting. The breakfast was discustting served on super small plates and not fit for any London hotel.
For nearly £200 totally outrageous and won't be stopping again.

Reviewed by
Ian H

From Skelmersdale, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxurious hotel
I stayed for one night before an important interview. The hotel was clean & the staff were extremely friendly. I stayed in a superior double room which was huge & luxurious. It had a large balcony with views over Russell Square & a large spacious bathroom. The shower was of good quality & power. The bed was large (at least a queen size) and very comfortable. Breakfast was buffet style & fairly standard of any 4 star hotel. Overall, a comfortable stay where I didn't have to worry about anything other than my interview!

Reviewed by
N Alam

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location, beautiful building, a little rough around the edges
Great location and a beautiful building. Check in was smooth and the chap that dealt with me was very personable and helpful.
Room was a fair distance from the stairs and lift. It was a small room but pleasant. I had a room that looked onto a service courtyard and it was very noisy. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and a good size.
Had asked for a wake up call but never received one- when I fed this back at check out I got no apology or feedback.

Reviewed by
Lucinda C

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic bargain
I got the room via LateRooms, and there was a substantial discount. I had a double bedded room overlooking the park for under £60. That aside, the hotel is fantastic anyway. All of the staff I met were extremely helpful and courteous. Food was great. I'd definitely stay here agian and recommend it.

Reviewed by
Trish B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
The Hotel Russell is in an excellent location, just around the corner from the tube station so easy access to all areas of London. It is only a couple of stops away on the tube to the main areas such as covent garden, Leicester square, Piccadilly Circus etc.
The hotel is lovely, so grand inside and absolutely spotless. All members of staff were so helpful and polite. The room itself (junior suite) was amazing, it was clean, spacious and it had an incredible shower in the bathroom.
Overall an excellent stay, will definitely be staying at the Hotel Russell again and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by
Amy Lamb

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Situation and style
The hotel is especially convenient for those coming to London through Euston Station and wishing to visit Bloomsbury, Covent Garden or the West End, or anywhere else in central London, by foot, bus. tube or taxi.
The bedrooms are clean, modern, and well equipped. The reception areas are enhanced by their (slightly faded) Victorian grandeur, and as such a treat in their own right..

Reviewed by
robert hilton

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next