No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-8 Russell Square , London, WC1B 5BE
When you’re visiting the capital you need to be in a location that’s close to everything and has all the facilities you need at a great four-star price. Hotel Russell in Bloomsbury gives you just that. We’re walking distance or a short taxi ride from Euston, St. Pancras and Kings Cross stations and next door to Russell Square tube station that takes you to Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square in minutes. Guests can also enquire at reception for 50% discount at Bloomsbury car park.

Steeped in history and heritage, a refurbishment means that behind the historic façade, most bedrooms, meeting rooms and the bar have all the modern amenities that you need to make your stay memorable.

Business guests and short break visitors alike are conveniently located to get around the city and can easily enjoy a theatre break, the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral or Harrods, as well as many more of the nearby central London attractions.

After a busy day, there’s just enough time to unwind in the Tempus Bar with a chilled glass of wine or steaming pot of tea. Our Tempus Restaurant is also a must for a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Picture of Hotel Russell, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 526 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An evening at the World Darts (Alexandra Palace)
This hotel is ideally situated next to the Russell Sq Tube Station on the Piccadilly Line which goes direct to Wood Green then a short bus ride or walk to Alexandra Palace to watch the darts. It is also a short walk from Euston Station which made it a perfect location for our evening at the darts. The hotel staff were very friendly and obliging and the hotel itself had a warm and homely feel to it. Although only there for one night our room was great and very clean and spacious

Reviewed by
Andrew Law

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite satisfied
As a customer, I was satisfied with mostly everything at the Hotel - however, a member of staff [female] knocked on the door [room 712] very early in the morning, around 8.30 perhaps on the 3rd of January. I found that very inconsiderate and rude. They didn't even state why they did it, they just apologised quickly and disappeared. I would hope this shouldn't happen again in the future!

Reviewed by
A Maior

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Russell
I was very disappointment with this particular hotel and do not reccomened this to anyone who wishes to stay here. The only positive outcome of our stay was that the maid was a wonderful, helpful woman. The staff on the desk and the information desk were so unhelpful.

Reviewed by
Emma Q

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

:)
Really loved the atmosphere and the room - the staff at the reception were friendly, too.
The only thing I would mention is that some of the waitresses at breakfast were gossiping about the guests as they were cleaning the tables around 10.00 am on the 30th of December. Luckily, they did it in their own native language, not in English [I will not specify which language it was in order to be polite] - and as I speak almost 6 languages and can differentiate at least 20 more, they were unlucky to have been understood. I would recommend that they are trained better so they behave in a professional manner at all times in front of guests.

Reviewed by
A Maior

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So easy
Very pleasurable stay. Helpful staff and a good atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Lucy P

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room
We booked the room last minute and got a great price for a london room, put into a junior suite very impressed with the room, very large room great views excellent value for money!

Reviewed by
Natalie M

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a pleasant experience from the moment we arrived at the hotel, we were welcomed with a big smile from the doorman and received a professional and pleasant interaction with the reception staff, who made it quite clear that anything we may need to make our stay better was just a phone call away. Our room was on the sixth floor and despite making our booking at short notice we were lucky enough to have a room which had a good view of Russell Square. The double room was tidy and had good facilities, the bed was comfortable and though the room was cold and first, within minutes of putting on the air conditioner heater it was at a comfortable temperature. We slept well at the hotel and considering that we were in an old building in the centre of London without double glazing, the noise from passing traffic and the winter winds was not too disturbing. Breakfast at the hotel was very good value and of a high standard, the staff were on hand throughout and though it was very busy were pleasant and always had smiles which we were happy to reciprocate. When we checked out, our bill was correct and there were no unexpected surprises, we departed with the doorman, again with a big smile, asking if we needed a cab and wishing us a good journey home. All in all a hotel that we will want to stay at again when we next visit our great capital city.... Thank you Hotel Russell and all the staff

Reviewed by
william c

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our room was on the 8th floor , the lift went as far as the 7th, 2 short flights of stairs to the 8th, room was small but well equipped, food was good , the hotel was spotless, staff were fantastic, we had a great stay, We parked in the npc , 2 nights £36, this not the carpark that the hotel promoted at £30 a night.. All in all we couldnt fault anything.

Reviewed by
g ware

From Loughton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Love this place.
I stayed at Hotel Russell on 3 separate nights over the Christmas and New Year period, December 2014. Each time I stayed, the staff were lovely. So helpful and attentive. The building itself is gorgeous and the location was perfect for my needs, as I was seeing West End shows and catching the end-of-year sales. On Christmas Eve when I checked in to my room, I round a Christmas stocking full of all sorts of London-themed souvenir gifts and some snacks. It was such a lovely surprise, especially given that I was by myself and many 1000s of kilometres away from friends and family at Christmas time.

Reviewed by
Erin K

From Nagoya, Japan
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for location and great subway connection
Stayed at the hotel 5 times for leisure weekends in London. The hotel is good value for the location. The staff are polite and efficient. Some housekeeping issues however these are usually resolved. It would not meet American Four Star Standards however for London I assume this is the standard.

Reviewed by
N Emery

From Chicago, USA
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next