No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-8 Russell Square , London, WC1B 5BE
When you’re visiting the capital you need to be in a location that’s close to everything and has all the facilities you need at a great four-star price. Hotel Russell in Bloomsbury gives you just that. We’re walking distance or a short taxi ride from Euston, St. Pancras and Kings Cross stations and next door to Russell Square tube station that takes you to Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square in minutes. Guests can also enquire at reception for 50% discount at Bloomsbury car park.

Steeped in history and heritage, a refurbishment means that behind the historic façade, most bedrooms, meeting rooms and the bar have all the modern amenities that you need to make your stay memorable.

Business guests and short break visitors alike are conveniently located to get around the city and can easily enjoy a theatre break, the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral or Harrods, as well as many more of the nearby central London attractions.

After a busy day, there’s just enough time to unwind in the Tempus Bar with a chilled glass of wine or steaming pot of tea. Our Tempus Restaurant is also a must for a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Picture of Hotel Russell, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 332 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Russell review
Our stay was very good, room was nice, the only downside really was that the concierge service needs to be reviewed, very slow and not customer friendly, in urgent need of customer friendliness. Other than that we enjoyed our stay

Reviewed by
W Pitchford

From Stone, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Russell Hustle
Very comfortable, a good night's sleep.

Reviewed by
Chris M

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room and great service.
Nice room and great service.

Reviewed by
Tom B

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant hotel!
- welcoming staff
- lovely rooms
- peaceful vibes
- popular

Reviewed by
E Woodford

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Satisfactory But Rooms Look A Little Tired
Overall my stay was fine for one night and the room was clean. But the overall feel of the hotel and room was looking a little tired for something so central to London. But for one night it was fine. I would not want to stay a few nights in that room.

Reviewed by
D Godfrey

From Weert, Netherlands
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good night in Queen Anne's Suite 101
First impression was great! The reception staff was happy cheerful and helpful. I got a discounted Suite which was on the first floor facing the park. Nice big room with a touch of old to it. The building is a little old so lots of vibrations from the traffic but i enjoyed my night sleep. The doors to the balcony can't be opened due to smoking policies i presume. None the less i feel very good about Russel hotel and will definitely choose them again.

Reviewed by
M A

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel, lots of atmosphere, lots of history. Room was large and spacious albeit rather warm at times during the night. Room seemed a little "tired" in places.....probably due a quick refresh. Nothing major, just general decor etc. It was clean and tidy. Can't complain though, central London location, easy to get to/from via adjacent tube station, good selection of bars and restaurants nearby and the view from my room on the 7th floor was fantastic!

Reviewed by
Gary A

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Trip
Ideal one night stop before business meetings. Very good discount on usual rate and very convenient for Euston station and tube system

Reviewed by
Leigh T

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous location
A great base for a short stay in Bloomsbury. Room was very comfortable. I'd like a bit more choice of tea and coffee in the room and the digital tv and radio stations were very limited. Other than that I was very pleased.

Reviewed by
victoria t

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cutomer service was alot to be diesired for, confusion on booking apon arrival. room was a let down.
unfortunately I came away feeling somewhat disappointed after checking out from Hotel Russell.
I booked my reservation through late rooms which included breakfast as an optional add on.
when we checked in we were told it was room only and that Late rooms do not offer breakfast as an option. I was very confused once I was told this info as I was certain I had booked the room with breakfast included. the Hotel receptionist said no definatly not and asked if I wanted to pay extra for breakfast, so I did as that what I thought id booked for in the fist place. once we got to our room I was very disappointed to come into a rather small tired looking room which upon entering the room hit us with a unpleasant damp and musty smell. we were on a business trip so we were extremely tired to have the energy to complain so we just put up with it. what I wouldn't put up with is that I checked my booking confirmation email to come across that my booking does include breakfast that I had now been charged for as extra when we checked in. I then had to go back down to reception and explain what had happened. No apology was made and I was informed that a refund will be given of the additional breakfast that had been charged upon checking in. she assured me that she would post the receipt of the refund under our the door to find in the morning. woke up to find that nothing had been posted under the door. had to report to reception again and explain situation all over again to another member of staff. Again was unapologetic and rather rude. finally got our refund of £24 that was overcharged! this now means that breakfast now had to be rushed due to wasted time at reception. will not be visiting again. Shame on you Hotel Russell.

Reviewed by
Faye H

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next