No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-8 Russell Square , London, WC1B 5BE
When you’re visiting the capital you need to be in a location that’s close to everything and has all the facilities you need at a great four-star price. Hotel Russell in Bloomsbury gives you just that. We’re walking distance or a short taxi ride from Euston, St. Pancras and Kings Cross stations and next door to Russell Square tube station that takes you to Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square in minutes. Guests can also enquire at reception for 50% discount at Bloomsbury car park.

Steeped in history and heritage, a refurbishment means that behind the historic façade, most bedrooms, meeting rooms and the bar have all the modern amenities that you need to make your stay memorable.

Business guests and short break visitors alike are conveniently located to get around the city and can easily enjoy a theatre break, the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral or Harrods, as well as many more of the nearby central London attractions.

After a busy day, there’s just enough time to unwind in the Tempus Bar with a chilled glass of wine or steaming pot of tea. Our Tempus Restaurant is also a must for a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Picture of Hotel Russell, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 454 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel, fantastic clean lovely rooms. Brilliant customer service and really good location !

Reviewed by
g m

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
Room was a great size, really clean and luxurious for the bargain price we paid. Great location in central London, would highly reccomend.

Reviewed by
G Boylan

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
Staff were very helpful, even when it came to storing medication for my wife which needed to be chilled in a fridge. Didn't eat at the hotel as we had earlier plans for dinner elsewhere. Breakfast seemed a bit expensive at almost £20 each. No parking facilities unfortunately but theres plenty of options nearby. We parked at the Holiday Inn next doorin a secure indoor carpark for £15 for 24 hours. Overall very happy to return or recommend to others.

Reviewed by
A Quinn

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very happy with Hotel Russell
Room was very clean - spotless in fact , was quite basic however we did book the cheapest selection of rooms so overall very happy as for central London in walking distance this hotel was perfect for a weekend break. The building its self is stunning , is nice to see a hotel which looks a bit different. Staff very helpful and friendly , we didn't have any food but would like to try next time as the resturant looked high quality.

Reviewed by
Hannah B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing hotel, great location!
My friend and I wanted a weekend away and saw this hotel on Laterooms. It was a great price for a four star hotel so we decided to book it. We could not have been any more happier with our stay there. We stayed in a twin room and it was a very clean spacious room! We had fresh thick towels everyday and the hotel was lovley and quiet. Added extras such as a hairdryer, ironing board and a mini fridge make a weekend away much easier. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and I will be recommending to others.

Reviewed by
H McCarthy

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our second stay at the Russell
This time we got a bigger, better room, much appreciated. Hotel in a very good position to explore London by tube or on foot, and to find food & drink locally in the evening.

Reviewed by
David F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
A fantastic stay very helpful staff couldn't do enough for you,room was top class,very peacefully

Reviewed by
ashley young

From Faversham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced
Very nice hotel, but the overall experience could be better for the price. Had to wait 10 minutes in a large queue to be checked in, which would have moved much quicker had the receptionist not spent most of his time cracking jokes with guests. On finally checking in and going up to the 5th floor, I found he hadn't set up the key card properly - another trip back downstairs for this to be fixed (so about 20 minutes after I arrived I finally got into the room). The room was nice and clean (and surprisingly quiet), but I couldn't get any hot water out of the shower no matter how hard I tried. The hot water that came out of the sink's taps was an alarming yellowy-brown colour too.

Reviewed by
Jennifer W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grand entrance
Very close to tube station
Fun & lively hotel bar

Reviewed by
Andrew Backhouse

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for British museum and tube. Great customer service
Every member of staff were friendly, polite and accommodating. Had a free upgrade which was great. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend to friends and family. Breakfast was lovely, great choices and cooked just right.

Reviewed by
r payne

From St Neots, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next