No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-8 Russell Square , London, WC1B 5BE
When you’re visiting the capital you need to be in a location that’s close to everything and has all the facilities you need at a great four-star price. Hotel Russell in Bloomsbury gives you just that. We’re walking distance or a short taxi ride from Euston, St. Pancras and Kings Cross stations and next door to Russell Square tube station that takes you to Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square in minutes. Guests can also enquire at reception for 50% discount at Bloomsbury car park.

Steeped in history and heritage, a refurbishment means that behind the historic façade, most bedrooms, meeting rooms and the bar have all the modern amenities that you need to make your stay memorable.

Business guests and short break visitors alike are conveniently located to get around the city and can easily enjoy a theatre break, the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral or Harrods, as well as many more of the nearby central London attractions.

After a busy day, there’s just enough time to unwind in the Tempus Bar with a chilled glass of wine or steaming pot of tea. Our Tempus Restaurant is also a must for a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Picture of Hotel Russell, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 531 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful surroundings and a huge bed!

Reviewed by
James I

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Russell
Amazing hotel and lovely staff. Would definitely come back.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am absolutely delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us at Hotel Russell. I appreciate your very kind comments which will be shared with our teams as we genuinely strive to create a memorable experience for all of our guests. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Hotel Russell in the future. Kind regards, Julie Hammond, Regional General Manager

Reviewed by
G slater

From England
Who stayed in January 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Russell
Excellent value for money. Hotel is very convenient for the West End and British Museum, with a tube station within 150m.

Reviewed by
K E

From England
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

They moved me so it was fine
I was originally accommodated on a room on the inner courtyard of the first floor. The problem with that, as in a lot of older hotels, was that it suffered from the low level but persistent thrum of the ventilation system.
As it was January they had rooms spare so I was put in a suite of the 7th floor facing the square. Result! The rooms are refurbed to a very high standard and the staff are very efficient. but don't get a room low down on the inner courtyard if you are a light sleeper.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment experienced. I am sorry that you found our central air conditioning unit a disturbance as this usually provides a slight humming sound, and will certainly take your comments on board. I am pleased that my team were able to upgrade you to a suite as a goodwill gesture and glad that you enjoyed this. I do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell upon your next visit to London. Kind regards, Julie Hammond, Regional General Manager

Reviewed by
paul s

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nearly perfect
Lovely hotel. Great location. Would have expected bottled water in standard room never mind superior room and better choice on courtesy tray but nitpicking aside would recommend this hotel.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am pleased that found our Hotel lovely and enjoyed our ideal location. Bottled water is standard in all of our superior rooms with fridges and we have ensured a wide variety of teas and coffees including biscuits are available complimentary for guests. Please be assured that your comments have been taken on board. We appreciate your recommendation and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Julie Hammond, Regional General Manager

Reviewed by
John C

From Forres, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room with a view
Our room was on the second floor and overlooked Russell Square. However the downside of this is that the room also overlooked the main road which doesn't go to sleep when you do. Despite secondary glazing the street noise is quite intrusive overnight when all else is quiet.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your park view room. I am, however dismayed that you found the London traffic noise a disturbance even through the glazing. Please do let us know upon your next stay and we will be happy to allocate you a quieter room. We strive to create and maintain high standards at our Hotel and please be assured that your comments have been taken on board. Kind regards, Julie Hammond, Regional General Manager

Reviewed by
A Corner

From Horley, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Leisure break to see the shows
This is a great hotel location wise and good value for money. It is a short walk from Euston station so perfect for avoiding the chaos of driving in London. We found our room to be clean, tidy, warm (it was winter) and great for a winter wander to Shaftesbury Avenue where we spent the weekend enjoying the shows. Worth a stay!

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Russell. We are ideally located as we are a stone's throw away from many of London's major attractions and glad that you found this beneficial during your stay. We appreciate your recommendation and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Julie Hammond, Regional General Manager

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Russell
Very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
J Lomas

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely old hotel . Room very comfortable although we did have constant noise all night from fans/aircon outside our bedroom window.... Dusturbed sleep. Staff were very helpful especially the
Concierge ... Bar staff very efficient ...

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment experienced due to the central air condition unit. This usually provides a slight humming sound, however I have requested our Chief Maintenance Engineer to inspect this. I am pleased that you found your room comfortable and our team were extremely helpful, especially our Concierge and Bar staff. I do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Julie Hammond, Regional General Manager

Reviewed by
June H

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

George the dragon
Lovely hotel, with character and style, had problem with lines on TV, reported it twice and unfortunately it was never rectified not was I informed regarding the statusvof the complaint.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our Hotel lovely with character and style, especially George our luck Dragon. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused due to the difficulties encountered with your television as well as our delayed response. I have highlighted this to our entire team to ensure that this does not occur again. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to create and maintain high standards at our establishment. I hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell in the future. Kind regards, Julie Hammond, Regional General Manager

Reviewed by
C Bell

From Prestwick, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next