No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-8 Russell Square , London, WC1B 5BE
When you’re visiting the capital you need to be in a location that’s close to everything and has all the facilities you need at a great four-star price. Hotel Russell in Bloomsbury gives you just that. We’re walking distance or a short taxi ride from Euston, St. Pancras and Kings Cross stations and next door to Russell Square tube station that takes you to Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square in minutes. Guests can also enquire at reception for 50% discount at Bloomsbury car park.

Steeped in history and heritage, a refurbishment means that behind the historic façade, most bedrooms, meeting rooms and the bar have all the modern amenities that you need to make your stay memorable.

Business guests and short break visitors alike are conveniently located to get around the city and can easily enjoy a theatre break, the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral or Harrods, as well as many more of the nearby central London attractions.

After a busy day, there’s just enough time to unwind in the Tempus Bar with a chilled glass of wine or steaming pot of tea. Our Tempus Restaurant is also a must for a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Picture of Hotel Russell, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 423 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very satisfied
Although a little disappointed with the decor of the room the rest of the hotel although a little dated was charming and the service levels excellent. Will stay again. Thank you

Reviewed by
K Taylor

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short mid week break
Excellent location for getting around central London.
A historical hotel with character. Comfortable and clean, our rooms were 607 and 608
Were warm as previous reviews had indicated but as they were on the side of the hotel
We were able to sleep with windows open, the noise from the street below was not a concern.

Reviewed by
E Gordon

From , England
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good value

Reviewed by
l cole

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

still waiting for a call back re; complaint
we got rudely awoken at 5.00 AM by a member of staff (hopefully) trying to get into our room. Not very good at all.

Reviewed by
K Henderson

From Iver, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Having booked a single room I expected it to be compact, any yes it was smaller than the usual small double, but it was perfectly adequate, reasonably priced and a great central location.

Reviewed by
Andrea R

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break
Hotel booked fairly late for a weekend in London. The staff at the Russell are friendly and hgelpful. Our room was ready on early arrival and was very clean and well set out. Unfortunately the room was at the rear overlooking the central area and the noise from the air conditioning and extractor fans made for a difficult first nights sleep. After speaking to reception in the morning we were moved to a room at the front which was excellent with little noise disturbance from the road. The staff could not have been more helpful, our bags were moved for us whilst we were out for the day. There was a good choice of breakfast and the bar is great to relax in after an evening out. We will certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
Ian A

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Limited Menu
The evening dining experience was disappointing. The staff were very polite and service excellent, however the menu was very limited.
Laterooms site failed to mention the buffet breakfast, available at extra cost, but the food was a very good "Full English Service". However, the late start of 07:00 meant a quick dash through to make an 8:00 meeting.

Reviewed by
P Holgate

From England
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic!
We had a fantastic time from the minute we set foot in the hotel to the moment we left. Couldnt fault a thing! The welcome we received was wonderful right down to the Champagne voucher we were given! Location was good we walked to hotel from Kings Cross but tube station was very close, in fact just one stop away. Our room was bright and spacious and bed was really comfortable, would definitely recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
jacqueline k

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

London Show Weekend
London Show Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday new
Our stay at the Hotel Russell was booked with a view to being close to the West End, as I had reserved tickets for the Lord Of The Dance at The Palladium ( and what a great show that was).
We arrived Friday pm 3/10/2014, to be greeted by the concierge at our taxi, and bags were duly dispatched, nice touch. We were guided to reception, which was manned by two trainees ( their badges were worn) and two senior staff, but they were excellent and efficient in the duties. We were given room 433 on the fourth floor. A very spacious room, lovely Queen size bed, all very clean and tidy. The views from the balcony was brilliant, four floors up overlooking the Park, and a great view of the BT Tower.
The Tempus Bar had a lovely chilled atmosphere, we ate in here Friday before our show, excellent light food, and the Old Press shiraz was to die for, served at a spot on temperature.
We used the Bar many times during our stay, service was very good.
Saturday evening we booked for the Restaurant, only to be told that as there were two weddings within the hotel, we would have to eat in the Woburn suite. My wife was shown to the room, which she thought was great, we were given copies of the evening menu, at 4pm in the afternoon ! And we booked for 8pm. The food was excellent and Michael the Restaurant Manager had such a great attention to detail, and likewise his staff.
Breakfasts were superb, great range of food, the choice was endless. Monica who managed the breakfast room, was a joy to speak to and her attention to excellent customer service was a pleasure to behold, even when she had people queuing to be seated !
All in all a great experience, would highly recommend. Well done to all the smiling staff.
The No 7 bus approx. 300 yards from the hotel, services all Oxford Street down to Marble Arch
so you can take it easy to visit the West End, Regent Street, Oxford Street, etc. The buses run about every 6-7 minutes and circle back to Russell Square, up to the wee small hours. Absolutely brilliant.
Richard and Sandie F
Room Tip: We were asked on booking did we want a quiet room or a room at the front of the hotel as they tend to be noisier, but we had no problems with any noise...
See more room tips

Stayed October 2014, travelled as a couple

Reviewed by
Richard F

From Wymondham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Hotel, but with a few Faults
Hotel Russell is a fantastic old hotel, with a lovely character. The people who work at the hotel are friendly and very helpful, who make you feel special, but there are a few issues with the rooms. If you stay at the back of the Hotel, there is a Pub, which is very loud and kept us awake until nearly 2:00am in the morning. The window are not double glazed and the room is cold of a night. The rooms are basic, but very clean. I know there is a full refurbishment happening in the near future which should up grade the hotel even further. You have a Train Station next to the hotel and a bus stop outside, which is fantastic for access to the local transport. All in All a very enjoyable stay at the Russell Hotel. Would I stay there again, Yes no Question

Reviewed by
Gerard King

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next