No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-8 Russell Square , London, WC1B 5BE
When you’re visiting the capital you need to be in a location that’s close to everything and has all the facilities you need at a great four-star price. Hotel Russell in Bloomsbury gives you just that. We’re walking distance or a short taxi ride from Euston, St. Pancras and Kings Cross stations and next door to Russell Square tube station that takes you to Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square in minutes. Guests can also enquire at reception for 50% discount at Bloomsbury car park.

Steeped in history and heritage, a refurbishment means that behind the historic façade, most bedrooms, meeting rooms and the bar have all the modern amenities that you need to make your stay memorable.

Business guests and short break visitors alike are conveniently located to get around the city and can easily enjoy a theatre break, the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral or Harrods, as well as many more of the nearby central London attractions.

After a busy day, there’s just enough time to unwind in the Tempus Bar with a chilled glass of wine or steaming pot of tea. Our Tempus Restaurant is also a must for a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Picture of Hotel Russell, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 529 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Russell
Perfectly adequate. Reasonably located and decent value for London

Reviewed by
Stan M

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel was nothing like the photographs, I was disappointed by the level of customer service I received also. I asked to change rooms as the room I was put in originally was seriously below par. The room service was awful (we waited 45 minutes for drinks to be delivered to our room), the phone didn't work, the receptionist on arrival was rude, the dinner we had was embarrassingly overpriced, and the room was dated. Apart from being upgraded to a marginally better room I really did not enjoy my stay, and I will not be returning. Having booked through laterooms I can safely say that even at the discounted price this hotel is asking too much for a room.

Reviewed by
I Pierre

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is attractive, and located on a lovely square in Bloomsbury, only a short walk from the nearest Underground station. The chief problem with the room is that it was freezing. The heating system did not work. A space heater was provided, but, given the poorly fitting windows in the room and especially the bath, was inadequate. I would stay here again only in summer.

Reviewed by
Patrick T

From 14004 Berlin, Germany
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Single night stay
Stayed there three times- always good service and clean rooms.

Reviewed by
Scott M

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good reasonably priced stay in a reasonble size room
Not exciting or impressive but not bad for the price. Decent size room and ensuite; comfy bed; good checkin service, Qs at breakfast; no minibar.

Reviewed by
Jo R

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A friendly and very helpful team
The staff at Hotel Russell are superb-especially the door man (there seemed to be only one the weekend Jan 24 & 25)-a lovely welcome back to the hotel.

Reviewed by
G McBurney

From LIVERPOOL, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel and location
My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Russell to celebrate her 30th birthday and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. I booked a Junior Suite and requested a room high up with good views and the staff were very helpful in providing the room we were hoping for.
Despite the age of the window fittings the a/c made up for any drafts and we were never cold in the room, the noise from the a/c even helped to drown out some of the traffic noise (unavoidable in almost any hotel in London).
Location was perfect to get to both the West End and Euston, with easy access to shopping districts.

Reviewed by
C Scholes

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel and friendly staff only quip is at the price you pay. even though it's discounted I personally think breakfast should be included as at £19.99pp on top of your stay is a bit much but apart from that fantastic hotel.

Reviewed by
Scott Williams

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful surroundings and a huge bed!

Reviewed by
James I

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Russell
Amazing hotel and lovely staff. Would definitely come back.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am absolutely delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us at Hotel Russell. I appreciate your very kind comments which will be shared with our teams as we genuinely strive to create a memorable experience for all of our guests. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Hotel Russell in the future. Kind regards, Julie Hammond, Regional General Manager

Reviewed by
G slater

From England
Who stayed in January 2015

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next