No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-8 Russell Square , London, WC1B 5BE
When you’re visiting the capital you need to be in a location that’s close to everything and has all the facilities you need at a great four-star price. Hotel Russell in Bloomsbury gives you just that. We’re walking distance or a short taxi ride from Euston, St. Pancras and Kings Cross stations and next door to Russell Square tube station that takes you to Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square in minutes. Guests can also enquire at reception for 50% discount at Bloomsbury car park.

Steeped in history and heritage, a refurbishment means that behind the historic façade, most bedrooms, meeting rooms and the bar have all the modern amenities that you need to make your stay memorable.

Business guests and short break visitors alike are conveniently located to get around the city and can easily enjoy a theatre break, the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral or Harrods, as well as many more of the nearby central London attractions.

After a busy day, there’s just enough time to unwind in the Tempus Bar with a chilled glass of wine or steaming pot of tea. Our Tempus Restaurant is also a must for a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Picture of Hotel Russell, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 401 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good front of house hospitality across reception, door and bar - very small bath room - rooms need updating to 2014 standards
Clean and welcoming

Reviewed by
Mike P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Bucket List
To stay at Hotel Russell had been on my Bucket List since I first visited London .
Russell was my pre-marriage name and I enjoyed the history of the original family.
I loved the majestic building and its situation close to Underground Station.
The concierge was very kind when I needed a taxi. However it seems a traveller alone
is given the smallest room in the Hotel with the outlook into a block of flats.
I am glad I made it eventually to the Hotel Russell.

Reviewed by
F Colyer

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely stay as always. The room was comfortable and spacious and had good views. The desk area was away from the TV which made it easier to work. It was especially nice to be able to open a window rather than rely on air-conditioning. The hotel is very good value for such a central location.
The only gripe was that neither the iron nor the hair dryer was working but I'm sure the problem would have been fixed promptly had we discovered it earlier.

Reviewed by
M Winthrop

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel within walking distance of West End and Covent Garden
Conveniently situated Hotel within walking distance of many tourist attractions. An attactive hotel boasting many period features but excellently furnished rooms offering every comfort at an affordable price. A very peaceful nights sleep in a comfortable bed after a hectic days sight seeing was much appreciated.

Reviewed by
Darren D

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A comfortable stay with very good customer service
Our room was small but we expected that as we had booked a standard double and it was clean and comfortable with a large en suite. We received excellent service from all staff and were particularly impressed with the reception and bar staff and the restaurant manager who coped well with an unusually over run breakfast room, noticing from across the crowded restaurant that we hadn't had our coffee very quickly. We had a comfortable and pleasant stay and the hotel is beautiful and well situated.

Reviewed by
S Parkes

From Bognor Regis, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was exactly as described, the room was really comfortable, the staff were very efficient.
This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and again we were really satisfied.
Checking in and out was really quick and efficient, the room was very comfortable, and the breakfast excellent.

Reviewed by
graham s

From Broadstairs, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent experience
Booked the shoppers package, excellent deal with Harrods voucher & full English breakfast included. Hotel in excellent location & beautiful classy hotel. Staff really friendly & helpful. Highly recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Maria W

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very late
Left by rail company unable to get home so booked at very short notice. Stayed here before so knew what I expected. Nice touch to give a welcome bottle of prosecco

Reviewed by
alistair h

From grimsby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

most welcoming and friendly staff, room a little small and breakfast a little generic

Reviewed by
Theresa O

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Great location, beautiful surroundings. Brilliant value for money although I wish these hotels wouldn't charge so much for breakfast!

Reviewed by
Donna P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next