No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-8 Russell Square , London, WC1B 5BE
When you’re visiting the capital you need to be in a location that’s close to everything and has all the facilities you need at a great four-star price. Hotel Russell in Bloomsbury gives you just that. We’re walking distance or a short taxi ride from Euston, St. Pancras and Kings Cross stations and next door to Russell Square tube station that takes you to Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square in minutes. Guests can also enquire at reception for 50% discount at Bloomsbury car park.

Steeped in history and heritage, a refurbishment means that behind the historic façade, most bedrooms, meeting rooms and the bar have all the modern amenities that you need to make your stay memorable.

Business guests and short break visitors alike are conveniently located to get around the city and can easily enjoy a theatre break, the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral or Harrods, as well as many more of the nearby central London attractions.

After a busy day, there’s just enough time to unwind in the Tempus Bar with a chilled glass of wine or steaming pot of tea. Our Tempus Restaurant is also a must for a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Picture of Hotel Russell, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 357 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Russell
For today's standards the hotel is just too dark. My room looked like something from the 1960s. It was convenient for travel.

Reviewed by
Tim C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All good apart from wifi
They charge a rate of £15 per day for internet use. Not only is that extortionate, but it barely works. I had to go to reception a number of times during my stay for them to help me connect. It's just not a user friendly platform.
Other than that it was magnificent.

Reviewed by
Rita L

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, really friendly staff. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
C Bush

From Ashington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The place to stay
The hotel is situated next to Russell square tube it's perfect in location with easy access to all transport and attractions . The staff were excellent welcoming and thd hotel is smart clean and friendly
Meet were able to leave our bags on check out until we were ready to leave london this saved dragging bags about in a gloriously hot day . This hotel will now be our regular stay when coming to london

Reviewed by
Jan Forbes

From Wymondham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I have a pleasant stay. Thank you.
Well recommended.

Reviewed by
A RUMA

From lathrop, USA
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service
A great stay. The best customer service I've experienced in a long time. The bedroom was compact. We were given the option to upgrade but chose not to. The room was clean and well presented with everything we needed for an overnight stay.

Reviewed by
kathrine c

From Wilmslow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel, used it quite a few times
Great hotel, polite helpful staff, excellent location. Made to feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
Michael McMinn

From Workington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value but it was a late deal which was great for me. I would do the same again next time I come to London.

Reviewed by
D Kennedy

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room for improvement
Hotel convenient for the West End and public areas very comfortable. We had a standard room but the aircon was not temperature controlled so if we had it on the room just got colder and colder. The bed creaked when either of us moved. Very little shelf space in the bathroom. When will hotel planners realise most ladies like to sit down to do their makeup and put a mirror over the table/desk.
Breakfast was £12 if booked at checkin but poor value. Dried up bacon and fried eggs.
Our room was not serviced on the 1st day but a complaint got it sorted late afternoon after we returned to the hotel.
Staff were pleasant to deal with.

Reviewed by
J Hill

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

History and charm, with moder, first class facilities.
Ideal location, short walk from tube station. Elegant entrance to hotel, with marble staircase, very grand. Service was 5 star, very welcoming and helpful staff. Bar prices very reasonable. Good breakfast menu. Would stay again. Highly recommend.

Reviewed by
Gary Swan

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next