Reviews - Hotel Russell

4

1-8 Russell Square, London, WC1B 5BE

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (532)

84% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Victoria C

  • May 2015

Restaurant closed

Whilst I enjoyed staying at the Hotel, for a variety of reasons I opted to eat me evening meal in the hotel.

The main restaurant was closed but a small room (The Library) was open with a few makeshift tables. The setting and menu choices were uninspiring and whilst ok flavour wise, it certainly wasn't what I had in mind when I booked the hotel. I think I should have been told about this when i booked or at the latest when I checked in so that I had time to make alternative arrangements. Saying all that the staff were extremely helpful and courteous and my single room fitted the bill perfectly.

  • Rosina S

  • May 2015

good quality accomadation

  • Jennifer L

  • May 2015

Lovely hotel, snobby staff

I was thoroughly pleased to get a stay at The Russel Hotel London, for a very good price.

I am a person who enjoys spending money to have a comfortable stay when I travel but I find it even better when I can stay somewhere really nice, for a cheaper cost. Don't we all love a bargain. My room was more than lovely. The bathroom especially very clean. It was very comfortable indeed. However I felt that the staff looked down on me as I was a young female traveling alone and I had booked through this website. The ladies who dealt with me at reception upon my arrival really ruined the stay for me. I did not feel welcome at all. Very disappointing.

  • P Nicholls

  • April 2015

Lovely building

Lovely building and nice room.

Only minor gripe is that some of the wooden window frames are getting a bit tatty, although this didn't impact our stay in any way.

  • ieuan williams

  • April 2015

very good

fine lovely hotel.

nice touch for our 25th anniversary bubbly and cake in room . People complained in other reviews said windows looked tried that is because its listed can not change windows, also mould around bath there was small amount in sealant but once again this is normal unless you change sealant every month, in all fine room great for london would stay again what more can you ask, stayed in a lot more expansive hotels which where well below this standard

  • P Wood

  • April 2015

London town.

Great location and the room was stunning and very good value for money.

  • L Cheney

  • April 2015

Hotel has changed since the new administration and hotel management - now the hotel lacks the elegance and sophistication that once had - I stayed previously in this hotel - more than 15 times

  • s butler

  • April 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Russell, London.

Breakfast was especially good value.

  • C M M

  • April 2015

Great hotel, great welcome, central location

I enjoyed my stay

  • Stephen Griffiths

  • April 2015

The Russell Hotel is great for a romantic break !

We had a very good warm welcome .Impressive interior and the chandeliers and sweeping staircase made for a good photoshoot!.

The room was lovely we loved the rose petal heart on the bed and the swan heart shaped towels added a romantic touch. Breakfast was fantastic and I was impressed how they catered well for special diet needs on request. The service was excellent from the friendly waiters.

Our only disappointment was the hospitality tray in the bedroom... we would have liked a selection of herbal teas plus bottled water .

.We would definitely go back,