No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-8 Russell Square , London, WC1B 5BE
When you’re visiting the capital you need to be in a location that’s close to everything and has all the facilities you need at a great four-star price. Hotel Russell in Bloomsbury gives you just that. We’re walking distance or a short taxi ride from Euston, St. Pancras and Kings Cross stations and next door to Russell Square tube station that takes you to Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square in minutes. Guests can also enquire at reception for 50% discount at Bloomsbury car park.

Steeped in history and heritage, a refurbishment means that behind the historic façade, most bedrooms, meeting rooms and the bar have all the modern amenities that you need to make your stay memorable.

Business guests and short break visitors alike are conveniently located to get around the city and can easily enjoy a theatre break, the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral or Harrods, as well as many more of the nearby central London attractions.

After a busy day, there’s just enough time to unwind in the Tempus Bar with a chilled glass of wine or steaming pot of tea. Our Tempus Restaurant is also a must for a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Picture of Hotel Russell, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 454 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfort and slightly faded grandeur
We were in town for a late show, so had decided to stay over, rather than chase the last train home. The Russell appeared to offer good value, and so it proved. This is an old building which, no doubt, has a splendid history. The exterior and public areas betray the style of times goneby, and must have been considered the height of fashion when built in the 1890s. Our room was clean and comfortable, and had windows which actually open; such an advantage over modern "steel and glass" places. Staff were very helpful, as we'd expect these days. The breakfast was varied and plentiful: a good start to the day. Overall, a good spot for a short stay in London, in walking distance of Bloomsbury and Soho.

Reviewed by
Jan S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb building
It is a real buzz to stay in such a handsome place, it looks great outside and inside too.
The rooms are significantly bigger than the ones we have had at the Hilton on the same street! From now on we will definitely choose this over the other luxury hotels we've used before.

Reviewed by
Susan Wilde

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room review
1st room toilet was far too small so we were shown another room and changed to that. Initially no cold water in the bathroom for brushing your teeth, maintenance were called and sorted the problem. First morning shower head would not stay up so we had to use the spray head by hand which was no use for washing hair - this problem was also resolved quickly by maintenance. We have stayed in the hotel twice before so we were really surprised and disappointed to encounter these problems.

Reviewed by
Helen Waller

From Denny, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable. Breakfast was good but service was slow at busy times. I would visit again when in London

Reviewed by
F Amelia

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

give it a miss
The noise from the road is poor.
the state of the ceiling poor.
the shower quite possibly the worst i have witnessed.

Reviewed by
E Worth

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

tony
It was not good at all and I wudnt stop the ne time again it wasnt wot ud look for or want out of a hotel in london at all and at a 119 a nyt it was way to much for wot we got

Reviewed by
a smith

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible noise pollution
Have stayed at the Russell several times and always enjoyed my visit. However, this stay was spoiled by the terrible noise pollution emanating from outside the hotel. I'm fairly confident that other rooms I've stayed in had double or secondary glazing, unfortunately the room this time did not benefit from this. A real shame as everything else about the hotel is great.

Reviewed by
kevin d

From STOKE-ON-TRENT, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, friendly and helpful staff , fabulous period building
This hotel perfectly suited us for location and the staff and service was excellent. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in and the room was clean and tidy although looking a little tired . That said it was reasonably priced for a great location and the breakfast was gorgeous. I would definitely stay here again....

Reviewed by
Nicola Jane Fisher

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic for 4*

Reviewed by
J Sykes

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Satisfied
More than happy with the accommodation and service. Location also good.

Reviewed by
Nick A

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next