Reviews - Hotel Russell

4

1-8 Russell Square, London, WC1B 5BE

Price From 161.17 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (470)

84% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Ann A

  • November 2015

Mascara

The room had not been cleaned properly with a former guests mascara on the dressing table.

  • Peter Cardinali

  • November 2015

Great location, good service and clean. Food just ok and accommodation tired in places.

  • J Commons

  • November 2015

Beautiful building let down by rooms

On arriving at the hotel we wer offered a larger room with 'courtyard view'.

The courtyard turned out to be where all the air conditioning units are, no view and very noisy. The larger room was actually a disabled room with a wet room bathroom which was very basic. Complained about the noise from the air conditioning units and they promptly moved us to another room with no hesitation. This room overlooked a back street. The room was too stuffy even with the air conditioning on so we thought we would open a window however small blocks of wood were screwed in to prevent them being opened, looked tacky and felt this was a safety risk if you wanted to open them in the event of an emergency. I left a £50 credit card payment at reception for 'extras' I assumed this would be for the mini bar which didn't exist!. First room had a safe but the second didn't!. Bathroom was very basic with a mini bath and shower curtain, smallest sink ever with a tap that could take your eye out when cleaning your teeth. Final issue was the hair dryer which stated the safety check was due in June 2015, hair dryer was in a wardrobe and people have obviously shut the cord in the door as the internal wires were exposed in two places. On checking out I pointed hair dryer issues out to staff who didn't seem overly concerned!!. On the plus side the building, foyer and the stairs are amazing just a shame the rooms didn't live up to the first impressions. My partner has complained to the hotel but states they didn't seem bothered.

  • Stuart P

  • November 2015

Seriously worth considering

At a bargain price which brought the hotel on a par with the popular chains, a stay here is seriously worth considering as an alternative to the more obvious choices in the mid-price market.

Slightly-faded elegance is complemented by polite and attentive staff and a very nicely furnished and comfortable room. Being at the rear of the building, our room was also very quiet. Slight criticisms: the shower thermostat was very tricky to set between "icy" on the one hand and "scalding" on the other and the a/c, while very effective at cooling the room, didn't have any intermediate setting between "arctic blast" and "off". I quite liked the former, although my partner was less keen. Location is ideal: two minutes' walk from Russell Square tube and within easy reach of a number of attractions (including the British Museum), eating places and shopping areas.

Response from hotel

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you had a lovely stay with us at Hotel Russell.

We genuinely endeavour to create a relaxing experience for all of our guests and I am so pleased that our team were so polite and attentive.

Each room has been individually decorated to enhance the charm and style of the room and I am glad that you enjoyed this as well as the quietness of the room.

I do apologise for the difficulty you encountered with the shower temperature and have highlighted this to our Chief Maintenance Engineer to inspect as soon as possible. I am sorry for any inconvenience caused.

We are ideally located as we are a stone's throw away from many of London's major attractions and transport links, and also pleased that you enjoyed this.

We appreciate your feedback and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell in the future.

Kind regards,

Bebita Dhaya,

Guest Relations Executive

  • gail c

  • November 2015

No hanging space for longer garments

there was no hanging space for longer garments, even a hook on the door/wall would have been helpful for coats etc.

The wardrobe was only long enough for shirts but not skirts. Incessant music in restaurant although staff did turn it off on request in bar.

  • d lumb

  • November 2015

this hotel is so easy for sight seeing visits to London ten minutes walk from Euston five minutes walk to the tube quite a lot of things to see are only a short walk away.

then after a long day return and enjoy a relaxed atmosphere in a lovely hotel with excellent friendly staff

  • David S

  • October 2015

Hotel Russell

It was a nice place to stay, but too expensive for the quality of the room.

  • C Almond

  • October 2015

Hotel Russell

Enjoyed our stay very much, staff very attentive and helpful.

Lovely location.

  • Claire R

  • October 2015

Would we return? Yes

The most efficient checking in ever.

Great, helpful staff. We walked from St Pancras station and the following day left our case with the concierge. Picked our case up early evening and walked back to catch our train. Perfect location for us.

  • Mary H

  • October 2015

Would book here again. Good hotel, pleasant staff.

Stayed here for a weekend.

Liked the location and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Room was ok but would have liked a bit more storage space for clothes. Wardrobe was small with very little shelf space and only drawer was in the bedside table. Room could have been cleaned a little more thoroughly. Bin not emptied, empty water bottle left and not replaced. Did find the traffic noise a nuisance when trying to sleep (secondary double glazing?).