Hotel Russell

4

1-8 Russell Square, London, WC1B 5BE

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (552)

85% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Sarah P

  • March 2015

Victorian Faded Glory

The Hotel Russell is a massive Victorian Gothic building with some amazing interiors, designed in part by the man who designed interiors for the Titanic.

It is a big and busy hotel so there was a bit of queuing at reception but the staff were doing their best. Service was impersonal but mostly efficient. The room (superior double) was spacious for London - the bins hadn't been emptied from the previous guest but otherwise it was clean. The room was way too hot for us but once we turned off the a/c and opened the windows it cooled down nicely. The bed was huge and comfortable, the bathroom was relatively small and the shower was evil - the choice was ether arctic cold water or near boiling point with no middle ground at all. We tried the bar in the evening which was fine but typically expensive. The hotel is well placed on Russell square with the tube right round the corner plus some cafes and a Tesco if you are looking for a cheaper meal option.

  • e tan

  • March 2015

Great Location, Museums and Galleries a pleasant walk away- needs maintenance

The hotel is brilliantly located.

During our stay in London we were able to walk to a number of galleries and museums within a few minutes so is great. The area itself is lovely with great squares, cafés and pubs nearby. The room we had was fine- super comfy bed, brilliant shower etc. The bar downstairs was great, good atmosphere, fantastic cocktails and lovely staff. On the downside our room located next to the ventilation units on the roof and proved rather noisy. On the Saturday night as well, there was a function downstairs and we were treated to a rather painful rendition of 'Oh what a night' at high volume- this did however finish promptly at 12 as promised by the hotel. The room itself lacked heating and was not what could be described as cold but it definitely was not cosy. The only way to warm the room was provided by a blow heater on the ceiling which was pretty loud when active. We turned it off when we went to bed so awoke to a very cold room.

There was only one free plug socket in the room meaning you had to unplug the lamp or tv if you have more than one device - there is no overhead lighting in the room so it became very dark as soon as you did this. When my partner and I were trying to charge our phones this was rather inconvenient. I think all of these problems indicate a room that is in need of modernisation and simple upkeep; addressing these problems wouldn't take too much effort. The wall paper was peeling off the walls and had been badly patched with these also temporary fixes were also coming off the walls. The hotel itself is lovely, very impressive but in the rooms probably needs a little bit of love and attention. In summary, I'd say if you're looking for a centrally located hotel where you'll be coming in late and don't mind the cold this is a great option. If however you're senstive to cold, like an early night, have multiple electronic devices- I'd probably try somewhere else nearby.

  • Anna S

  • March 2015

Grand hotel. Good value

Good room and bathroom - large, clean.

Wifi &c. Fabulous setting and great location. Some corridor noise from lifts &c.

  • P Metcalfe

  • March 2015

A room with a view

Russell Hotel was easy to find, coming out of Russell Square underground.

Just turn left out of u.g., walk a short distance to the crossing and left again. A very short walk later, you're at the imposing entrance - revolving or straight-through door. Check in was a very short wait. I presented my documents, was asked for a credit card (not debit) and asked if I wanted breakfast or not. I was then given my key card and told what room I was in. On checking into my single room I discovered a large double-bed and a desk, TV & cupboard to put my suitcase in. The bedroom was about 10 by 14 feet. The bathroom was to the left on entrance. Bath/shower combo, sink and plenty of towels/supplies. Room was about 10 by 1o feet. The floor creeked a bit and there was a minor (?) socket that looked slightly exposed. Tea & coffee (Douwe Egbert) facilities were provided under the TVand there was also pay-per-view movies of all genres. The hotel directory gave further information on services supplied. The breakfast room was neat and orderly, with a good range of tables for seating between 1 & 8 people per party. It was self-service full english and/or continental + cereal and/or fruit. Coffee or tea was brought to your table. Toast was provided via a rotor-toaster. All the staff were very pleasant and attentive. I did not use the lounge-bar, but it did seem to swing as I was going by in the evening. Overall, the cost of £228 for a very central Londay stay was a price worth paying as I was attending a specific event (London Super Comic Convention). Paying £24 for two breakfasts was an indulgence, but you could help yourself as much as you wanted. Checkout was easy too. I was also offered a chance to leave my case for collection later, but I only didn't as I only had two stops to make (one in Camden Town and the next Paddington). And the room with a view (myroom 439) was of the air extractors & heating vents.

  • Derek H

  • March 2015

Cracking room

Offered an upgrade to a Junior Suite for £30.

Best £30 spent for a long time. The room on the 7th floor was outstanding, In my top 3 of all time and I have stayed in a lot of hotels!

  • Alex B

  • March 2015

Great staff, upgraded to a an empty suite for no extra cost, a nice touch.

Nice bar staff, very accommodating.

  • Craig R

  • March 2015

comfortable hotel

Enjoyed a one night stay at this welcoming and comfortable hotel, Parking could of been an issue if i hadnt stayed on a Sunday when free local parking was available.

Room service food menu was a little limited but overall a good quality and welcoming hotel

  • Antony R

  • March 2015

Hotel Russell

Excellent value.

Central location. Quality hotel with character.

  • Mac C

  • March 2015

Hotel Russell

Beautiful hotel, and great friendly staff, bedrooms need some TLC, but very comfy bed and quiet nights sleep considering the hotel is based on a busy main road.

Excellent location, within walking distance from the westend district, covent garden and kings cross station. Would most definately return.

  • Jason C

  • March 2015

Fantastic value for money in central London.

Brilliant Laterooms deal.

You couldn't find better value for money in central London. When originally built this must have been a very grand hotel. The main areas have been improved over the last year and are clean and well maintained. The bedrooms was clean and completely as expected. Only disappointment was that the bathroom needed some TLC. Paint and shower surround were stained and flaking. But I will definitely be staying here again as its great value for money.