No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-8 Russell Square , London, WC1B 5BE
When you’re visiting the capital you need to be in a location that’s close to everything and has all the facilities you need at a great four-star price. Hotel Russell in Bloomsbury gives you just that. We’re walking distance or a short taxi ride from Euston, St. Pancras and Kings Cross stations and next door to Russell Square tube station that takes you to Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square in minutes. Guests can also enquire at reception for 50% discount at Bloomsbury car park.

Steeped in history and heritage, a refurbishment means that behind the historic façade, most bedrooms, meeting rooms and the bar have all the modern amenities that you need to make your stay memorable.

Business guests and short break visitors alike are conveniently located to get around the city and can easily enjoy a theatre break, the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral or Harrods, as well as many more of the nearby central London attractions.

After a busy day, there’s just enough time to unwind in the Tempus Bar with a chilled glass of wine or steaming pot of tea. Our Tempus Restaurant is also a must for a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Picture of Hotel Russell, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 464 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable Stay
I enjoyed my stay at Hotel Russell. I would stay again.

Reviewed by
Peter T

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Stay
I stayed for 3 nights, great staff, I changed rooms due to the size and 3 ceiling lights were not working due to wiring issues, which made the small room even smaller, but the friendly staff swiftly changed me to another room and I was very pleased.
Food was very nice and staff very friendly, clean and great location

Reviewed by
L Burke

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We booked for 2 nights in early December 2014, the first night was fine but the second night was a nightmare. The hotel was hosting 4 Christmas parties on the night of the 5th December and we certainly knew about it. We had an early start on Saturday 6th so we decided to 'turn in' at a reasonably early time. We got back to our room at 10.30pm hoping for a good nights sleep before our journey home the following day. Our room was on the first floor but to be honest it might as well have been on the dance floor..... the music from the parties was so loud we had no chance of sleeping. It eventually stopped at 1.00AM on the Saturday morning...... lovely......
So basically what i'm suggesting is don't bother staying here over any weekend in December because the external Christmas parties must take priority over the paying guests.
The location of the hotel was perfect for us, it's just a shame that our last night there spoiled our stay. Would we stay there again, probably yes but certainly not in December.

Reviewed by
Amanda L

From Ripley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Russell
A beautiful old building (1898) full of charm - matched perfectly by the excellent staff. I understand that there will be a major refit in 2016. All of the staff that we interacted with were first class. Located about 15 mins walk from Kings Cross and literally 1 min walk from Russell Square underground station make this an ideal place for visitors to London to stay. The bedroom was clean with all of the usual amenities; breakfast was nothing special but certainly acceptable.

Reviewed by
Brian M

From Brighouse, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Utterly awful!
What would you expect for £170 a night? Mould in the shower and around the bath? Draughty windows, dirty carpet...? Didn't think so. My room was inexplicably hot (with the heating OFF) except by the windows, where the draught would have shamed hurricane. The bed was awful and the carpet filthy, and the entire experience was utterly awful. Thankfully, I was very drunk on returning to my room but on waking up, the shower had all the power of a piddling gnat. A scandal that they charge so much for this shambles. Avoid at ALL costs. There are far better hotels in Central London for similar money.

Reviewed by
Bali R

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Cold Water
The room was small and pokey with a huge piece of wood with the TV on completely obscuring the view out the window which itself had terrible paintwork.
My main complaint - no cold water in the morning so my shower was literally scolding.
It's clear to me from the receptionist when I complained this was a frequent problem.
A disgraceful hotel.
It should be investigated by the local authority for health and safety.

Reviewed by
D Bridle

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay in great location
I stayed for one night in a single room. No complaints at all, staff were helpful, room was immaculate and comfortable and walking distance to all things London. I will definitely return.

Reviewed by
S Ford

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Russell
Good place to stay for shows and the mine things to do in London. You can even walk as we did. To the shows and the mine things you need to at night. I was happy with the hotel and staying in London for a show or pleasure I thought it good.

Reviewed by
Mauice Ashmore

From Ng209rp, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good central London stay
Room was quite small, but you would expect this in London. Stayed here for two nights, view was awful from the window and generator outside the window was loud. Hotel was VERY warm in the room, air con didn't work and couldn't leave the window open at night because of the generator noise. Lobby decorations for Christmas was lovely and although we didn't
Need to have too much interaction with staff they were lovely when we spoke to them. Fab location and a 1 minute walk from russell square station.

Reviewed by
C Fawcett

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

100% perfect, would use & would recommend to everyone
Cheap, clean, effective, luxurious, quite, Central, good food & so much more, it wasnt top London Hotel in 2012 for no reason, there is more marble in the hallways then any other hotel I have ever stayed in.

Reviewed by
D Smith

From Hastings, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next