No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-8 Russell Square , London, WC1B 5BE
When you’re visiting the capital you need to be in a location that’s close to everything and has all the facilities you need at a great four-star price. Hotel Russell in Bloomsbury gives you just that. You can walk here from Euston, St. Pancras or Kings Cross train stations, or a taxi drive is a really short journey. The tube station Russell Square is literally next door and on the Piccadilly line will take you to Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square within minutes of you leaving the hotel. Steeped in history and heritage, a refurbishment means that behind the historic façade most of the bedrooms, the bar and the meeting rooms have all the modern amenities that you need to make your stay a really comfortable one. Business guests are in a convenient location to get around the city and short break visitors can easily enjoy a theatre break, visit the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral or Harrods and in fact all of the central London attractions that are close by. After a busy day, there’s just enough time to unwind in the Tempus Bar with a chilled glass of wine or a steaming pot of tea.
Picture of Hotel Russell, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 328 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my son and I really enjoyed our stay
The hotel is extremely well positioned and very clean.

Reviewed by
Tim Watts

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overall a pleasant experience
Very nice hotel....a little mix up about the breakfast but other than that we had a very pleasant stay. Staff were very polite and helped me to set the scene for my partner and I as brang him there to propose. Thank you all at hotel russell you made our stay very special.

Reviewed by
NAOMI J

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal Central London affordable hotel
Good central location for meeting student daughters and for enjoying West-end. Good value, decent accommodation and friendly staff. Lovely period building and nice atmosphere in the bar.

Reviewed by
Gregory V

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A room with a view
I really like the Russell, its a great hotel in a perfect position (for me), the design is really grand and the service is very good, they go a step further than most London hotels to make you feel welcome.
Do yourself a favour though, if the weather is good have breakfast at the cafe in the park, its lovely.

Reviewed by
Dan B

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed the stay at Hotel Russell. Room was very nice and super clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Sarah-Louise L

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
A fine welcome to the hotel greeted us on our arrival. Our room was reasonably clean but the bathroom was dirty . The bedroom had been the subject of redecoration but this was not to a high standard, it reminded me of the old Victorian hotel properties on the coast which are tired and need total modernization and renovation. The stair case of brown marble was a good feature but now dated. The ballroom smelt musty and the bar at the side of reception was functional.
I would not wish to pay more than £89 a night for this double room as I have stayed in far better accommodation for this sum and premier inn is a much higher standard as are several youth hostels
The hotel did not entice me to eat there at all and we decided to eat out in the City.
One very nice touch was that the hotel left my wife a small slice of lemon cake on a plate to celebrate her birthday with a birthday message . That was very kind but the cake was not covered over and was inedible.
For a place to sleep overnight the hotel sufficed but sadly I would not want an extended stay there

Reviewed by
John M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel review
Fantastic hotel, staff were very friendly and keen to help. Room was lovely, very spacious and spotless!

Reviewed by
G Murray

From Nottinghamshire, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
A lovely hotel in a great location. Walking distance from so many places. Room was lovely and fab shower! Didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment. Concierge service was a bonus.

Reviewed by
K B

From England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
The Russell Hotel has it all, great location, great setting, friendly and helpful staff nothing is too much trouble.
I would recommend it to everybody, we had a suite and it was fantastic very spacious clean and with a park view.

Reviewed by
Lee B

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely brilliant - great location
Was a bit hesitant after reading some reviews , but I'm glad I still booked the hotel....
Really enjoyed our selves , hotel staff were brilliant very helpful. The room was exactly how id imagined it spacious and clean.
Defiantly will be going back .....

Reviewed by
U Chaudhry

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next