No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-8 Russell Square , London, WC1B 5BE
When you’re visiting the capital you need to be in a location that’s close to everything and has all the facilities you need at a great four-star price. Hotel Russell in Bloomsbury gives you just that. We’re walking distance or a short taxi ride from Euston, St. Pancras and Kings Cross stations and next door to Russell Square tube station that takes you to Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square in minutes. Guests can also enquire at reception for 50% discount at Bloomsbury car park.

Steeped in history and heritage, a refurbishment means that behind the historic façade, most bedrooms, meeting rooms and the bar have all the modern amenities that you need to make your stay memorable.

Business guests and short break visitors alike are conveniently located to get around the city and can easily enjoy a theatre break, the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral or Harrods, as well as many more of the nearby central London attractions.

After a busy day, there’s just enough time to unwind in the Tempus Bar with a chilled glass of wine or steaming pot of tea. Our Tempus Restaurant is also a must for a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Picture of Hotel Russell, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 530 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing valentine break
Perfect for valentines! Very helpful staff, worth ever penny:

Reviewed by
A Dunlop

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK stay
A mixed experience. First of all I wanted to contact the hotel prior to my arrival so initially a woman from Laterooms said she would do this for me but there was no answer. I then tried three times over 2 days and each time the phone simply kept ringing so despite 4 attempts over 2 days by 2 people no-one was able to get through. On arrival the receptionists were efficient and friendly. I met a not so friendly porter who came to fix the tv which displayed an error message when it was switched on. The room was acceptable with a nice big bathroom. The english breakfast was well below par and I pity anyone who is charged £20 for it.

Reviewed by
Rob M

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Russell
Very good overall.

Reviewed by
Anthony Kilcoyne

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Russell
Ns

Reviewed by
R Jones

From Buckley, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent Hotel, perhaps a bit expensive
This is a venerable London hotel, with reasonable size rooms, a bit old-fashioned but clean and comfortable. The hotel directory was missing and one of the two telephones didn't work. Fairly good breakfast buffet - rather tired eggs and bacon but good other hot (and cold) food and pleasant coffee. Highly obliging staff. Maybe a trifle expensive for what it offered.

Reviewed by
Antony Griew

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A grand affair
The Hotel Russell felt quite grand. From the concierge to the reception staff, all we're extremely polite and attentive. We had trouble with the electronic door keys not working very well at all which was a pain as we had to go back to reception, but they helped us quickly. The room was spacious with a lovely view over Russell Square, though the windows needed some attention as they were quite dirty. The blackout curtains were good. The bed was very comfortable indeed, and huge! The bathroom was quite small. The room was clean. If breakfast had been included in the price I would have been happier. All in all quite good but with a few changes could have been better.

Reviewed by
Julia F

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Russell
Excellent throughout.

Reviewed by
Roy C

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight mid week stay
The rooms are very well-presented with easy to control heating and fan so you can adjust to your personal liking. They are happy to give a reliable wake up call. The only slight drawback is the phone is on the desk rather than by the bed, but it at least it assures you get up. Restaurant staff efficient with service and clearing tables.

Reviewed by
Dawn W

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent hotel, very small room with a lot of noise from industrial equipment
Quite a lot of noise from the air conditioning management units? outside? I was on the 6th floor and didn't manage to get a good nights sleep. I probably would have slept better on a factory floor.

Reviewed by
C Watkins

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, pity about the noise
I thought the hotel was great for a location, but on the first floor, which was where my room was, the paintwork looked a little shabby.
Although the bed was comfortable, the noise from traffic woke me up many times in the night.
Might stay again, but would have to stay on a higher floor.

Reviewed by
M Grout-Smith

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next