Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Greater London > London Hotels > Montague on the Gardens - A Red Carnation Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Montague on the Gardens - A Red Carnation Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
15 Montague Street , London, WC1B 5BJ
You will hardly believe that you are located near Covent Garden, West End theatres and adjacent to the British Museum - or for that matter, close to London's financial. This beautiful four star townhouse hotel overlooks a private and secluded garden - yet within moments you can enjoy all of the wonderful sights and pleasures that London has to offer. Dedicated to providing business and leisure guests with outstanding personal service, exceptional comfort and every modern convenience this intimate boutique hotel is proud of its AA Four-Star Deluxe, English Tourist Board Five Silver Crown and 'Best Floral Hotel in London' awards. The Montague's charm and relaxing décor coupled with the service accolades benefit business and holiday clients alike. The fully air-conditioned luxurious guest rooms and deluxe suites engender a feeling of a fine country hotel located on a quiet side street. The beautifully appointed conservatories and wood deck are ideal for summer barbeques and al fresco dining as well as regular live jazz entertainment overlooking a secluded private garden square. For the summer months The Montague on the Gardens offers Al Fresco Dining. This includes both The Terrace and Garden Grill - a peaceful and secluded, open-air space in the heart of the city, overlooking the sculptures in the gardens of the Bedford Estate. The Garden Grill is the ultimate in al fresco dining, featuring a selection of mouth-watering à la carte dishes and barbecues cooked from the grill. With the tantalising aromas from the sizzling grill and the unique and beautiful surroundings dining al fresco at The Garden Grill, the perfect summer venue, is an experience to remember. Bookings for 10 people or more carry separate terms - the hotel will contact you directly to advise.
Picture of Montague on the Gardens - A Red Carnation Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

They spoilt us rotten! :0) Stayed at the Montague for our 4th Wedding Anniversary
We had the pleasure of spending two wonderful nights at the Montague on the Gardens (2nd-4th May 2013) for our fourth wedding anniversary. Right from our arrival they made us feel welcome and laid on some lovely surprises during our stay. The champagne waiting for us in our downstairs double room was very welcome too. The room and bed were really comfortable, the cooked breakfast lovely and were blown away by the afternoon tea...amazing :0). We've stayed in quite a few hotels around the world, but this one is one of the best we've ever stayed at. Our sincere thanks to Dirk Crokaert and his fantastic team for a truly memorable stay.
Tim and Dawn Croft, Exeter

Reviewed by
T Croft

From Exeter, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint Hotel - Good location for Oxford Street & West End
My partner and I have stayed here a couple of times for a shopping and theatre weekend as it is in an ideal location just five minutes walk from Tottenham Court Road/Oxford Street and with easy access to most West End Shows. The British Museum is just around the corner. The staff are very helpful and courteous without being over powering. Rooms are pleasant if a little small (we were in Room 327) but it was more than adequate for our needs with a nice bath and a shower that was in the ceiling - a bonus when you are tall. Tea & Coffee facilities plus a safe for your valuables and a flat screen TV with lots of channels including Sky Sports if you get tired of the shopping and even free Wi-Fi whether you come armed with a laptop or not. Lots of toiletries etc, fluffy towels and even bathrobes and slippers. Breakfasts are really nice and the crispy bacon is to die for - lots on offer with eggs done how you like them. A nice touch is the availability of tea/coffee, fresh fruit and healthy snack bars in the lounge area plus all the broadsheet papers, magazines etc. We had a complimentary afternoon tea in our deal and that too was extremely pleasant, some might say colonial. All in all a very nice quiet hotel for a stay in London. You will not be disappointed.

Reviewed by
Mike Dews

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two-night weekend break
The room was very small for the price and rather overdecorated especially with mirrors. But the hotel is in a lovely quiet area and looked over a little park. We enjoyed their afternoon tea and champagne and breakfast was good. The staff are highly trained to deliver good service but sometimes a bit aggressive in their desire to help. We chose the hotel as it was dog friendly but couldn't bring our dog in the end, which was a shame,

Reviewed by
penny f

From England
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location
Excellent hotel and location for theatreland. Very friendly and attentative staff. Our room on the third floor was a little cramped but attractively decorated and very clean. Having the room until 6pm on day of departure was great as we had another day in London.

Reviewed by
C Cox

From Ringwood, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

London weekend
The experience was fantatsic from the moment wwe entered the front door to when we got in the taxi to leave.
Very attentive staff, couldn't do enough for you and impeccable service at all times.

Reviewed by
B Brazier

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I did a lot of browsing, looking for a good value (as opposed to cheap) weekend stay. Paid for a location walkable within 20 minutes to west-end theatre, British Museum and National Gallery and the Thames. Very happy with our stay - lovely large comfortable bed (though it fills the room) . great staff - they get friendly right, breakfast was nice. just what we wanted for a busy but also romantic weekend away. Recommended.

Reviewed by
s pullan

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best hotel staff we have ever met
The staff were excellent - nothing was to much of a problem. Happy friendly helpful staff, this is very hard to find. Well done,

Reviewed by
Kim Smith

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We will return.
Excellent hotel.Our second visit, this was our silver wedding anniversary and the service from the hotel team was excellent.In particular the breakfast manager was brilliant.Thank you Lucia.

Reviewed by
Gillian Davis

From Wolverhampton, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5