No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mabledon Court

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
10-11 Mabledon Place, London, WC1H 9AZ
The Mabledon Court Hotel is situated in the heart of historic Bloomsbury, in a quiet neighbourhood yet also close to the shopping and entertainment of the West End and major sights of London City. The Mabledon Hotel is ideally located for visitors. Kings cross, Euston, Euston Square and Russell Square stations are just a few minute's walk away. It is convenient for the city and very close to London University and the new British Library.

London's famous parks, theatres, museums, galleries and tourist attractions as well as main business areas are easily accessible. The Hotel is comfortable and friendly and has been run by the same family for three generations.
Picture of Mabledon Court, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 81 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best night's sleep for the price
This is the second time I've slept at Mabledon Court. On both my visits it has been a real pleasure. If you can get a good rate for the room (I'd probably not want to pay the full price), the bed size, the desk to work at and the breakfast all compare favourably with equivalent budget accommodation in the area.

Reviewed by
Seymour J

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better than expected
After reading some of the reviews I wasn't expecting much, however I was pleasantly surprised. The double room was small but fine for our needs (just wanted a place to crash for the night after seeing a show). Really great location within walking distance from St Pancras and has a very affordable pub just next door - perfect for a couple of drinks before going out. Shower was small and the fixed shower head was a pain being only about 5ft10 high. The portion sizes for the cooked breakfast were quite small but a minor complaint. The staff were all very pleasant and made us feel very welcome. All in all it was great value for the £65 it cost us for the night.

Reviewed by
M Price

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent if the price is right
This is a good little hotel in a smashing location that's perfect for the West End, theatre, St. Pancras, King's Cross and Euston. It's also in a lovely little area with great shops, independents as well as chains and nice restaurants. Do check out the Brunswick Centre further down into Bloomsbury between Euston Road and Russell Square.
My only quibble - and this isn't really the hotel's fault - is that it can be a bit noisy at night with guests slamming doors. Creaky floors sometimes make it sound like there's an elephant in the room above you and that means sleeping time is telescoped down to about five or six hours. Not good when you're using it as a base from which to go to work. Rooms are small but clean and functional. WiFi works very well, breakfast is good and the room it's served in is very nice.
I wouldn't dream of paying full price to stay here though. This is strictly a budget hotel for me. They are having a laugh thinking they can charge anything over £100 for a room; for that, you can do better. But at a budget price, it's excellent value for money. And the staff are nice and friendly.

Reviewed by
Laura Marcus

From Leek, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

easy walking distance from kings cross and tube
double room/en suite rather small but adequate for short stay
breakfast superb - fantastic choice complete with full english breakfast!

Reviewed by
Brian M

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really handy little hotel if you get right price!
I've stayed in The Mabledon many times and would gladly do so again. Provided you get it at a good price - up to £75 for a single - it's excellent value for money. The location is perfect and the hotel is clean, warm and the staff very welcoming.
I am not prepared to ever pay list price for this hotel though. At £95 for a single, I feel that's too much. I've stayed in the Strand Palace Hotel for less than that! This is a great little hotel but it is what it is - small and creaky! The floors creak and the doors slam shut making sleep difficult to even dare to contemplate much before 12.30 or 1am.
If ONLY this and other small old hotels like it would urge guests to be considerate if they're returning late. However that isn't the hotel's fault. Anyone reading this who stays in hotels a lot please think of your fellow guests when you return back from an evening out. Some of us aren't on a pleasure trip. Some of us are there for work and we have to get up early after a decent night's kip. I think in fact The Mabledon is used a lot by people working nearby or attending work conferences or events.
The location of the hotel can hardly be bettered. It's within walking distance of Euston, St. Pancras and King's Cross stations and going the other way you can walk down to Russell Square and Bloomsbury. The nearly Brunswick Centre is also worth a visit as it has a handy Waitrose with free coffee! Do explore Marchmont Street (turn right outside the hotel and walk past Cartwright Gardens) it's a lovely area, residential and buzzy too.
I would stay at The Mabledon again and I would recommend it to others whether on business or pleasure or both. It's clean, functional and does what it says on the tin. But it isn't worth list price. Only a deal on laterooms!

Reviewed by
Laura Marcus

From Leek, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, lovely room although small bathroom if you're over 5 foot 5
Lovely clean room, very friendly staff, extremely good location less than 10 mins away from all tourist attractions breakfast was great only downside was the small bathroom

Reviewed by
TOMAS L

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
It was a bed to sleep in. I normally wouldn't stay in anything below 5 star but needed a bed

Reviewed by
jamie m

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quick Trip to London
Hotel is very convenient to Euston train station. Sadly, hot water was mostly warm. Housekeeper was very nice and waited until after 12:00 to check on the room. Curtains keep all the light out if you are interested in sleeping late.

Reviewed by
JEFF F

From MANCHESTER, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and lovely staff
The hotel is really easy to find and is just a 5 minute walk from Euston. Reception staff are great, ultra helpful and efficient but still made time to chat. I liked the 24/7 control of hotel access - reception buzzing you in as soon as they recognise you. Breakfast was excellent and again staff were ultra nice and efficient. My room was smallish and apart from a cracked mirror everything was as it should be.

Reviewed by
D Walker

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not impressed.
This was my second stay at the Mabledon Court Hotel and it is an experience I shall not be repeating. Yes it is of easy access to Euston station, but that is the only plus point. The bathroom was dirty and there where other people's hair all over the place (no chance of it being mine or my companions because my hair is purple and my companions is blue) the bed was extremely uncomfortable and the best part of my stay was being woken up by the person next door showering, which sounded like they were actually in our room. The room we were given was way too small for 2 people to share.

Reviewed by
J Gilling

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next