No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mabledon Court

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
10-11 Mabledon Place, London, WC1H 9AZ

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The Mabledon Court Hotel is situated in the heart of historic Bloomsbury, in a quiet neighbourhood yet also close to the shopping and entertainment of the West End and major sights of London City. The Mabledon Hotel is ideally located for visitors. Kings cross, Euston, Euston Square and Russell Square stations are just a few minute's walk away. It is convenient for the city and very close to London University and the new British Library.

London's famous parks, theatres, museums, galleries and tourist attractions as well as main business areas are easily accessible. The Hotel is comfortable and friendly and has been run by the same family for three generations.
Picture of Mabledon Court, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 83 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and lovely staff
The hotel is really easy to find and is just a 5 minute walk from Euston. Reception staff are great, ultra helpful and efficient but still made time to chat. I liked the 24/7 control of hotel access - reception buzzing you in as soon as they recognise you. Breakfast was excellent and again staff were ultra nice and efficient. My room was smallish and apart from a cracked mirror everything was as it should be.

Reviewed by
D Walker

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not impressed.
This was my second stay at the Mabledon Court Hotel and it is an experience I shall not be repeating. Yes it is of easy access to Euston station, but that is the only plus point. The bathroom was dirty and there where other people's hair all over the place (no chance of it being mine or my companions because my hair is purple and my companions is blue) the bed was extremely uncomfortable and the best part of my stay was being woken up by the person next door showering, which sounded like they were actually in our room. The room we were given was way too small for 2 people to share.

Reviewed by
J Gilling

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room size con
We had a so-called double room, but in fact the size of the room wasn't even big enough for a single bed. Bathroom was also tiny with a minuscule shower tray. When we arrived we found a bag of rotting (and stinking) lettuce leaves in the cupboard presumably from previous guests. You couldn't come away from this hotel without thinking that all that the owners were interested in was squeezing as much money as possible out of their guests for the barest minimum in return - a con, a scam, a rip-off.
However the staff seemed pleasant enough.

Reviewed by
R M

From England
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel review
Clean room with ample tea, coffee and biscuits. Clean towels each day. Excellent cooked breakfast. Good sized TV. Room small and bed was really too small for 2 people.

Reviewed by
R Rhodes

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit on the small side!!
On arrival we were told by the very pleasant man on Reception that they had no twin rooms available (which I had tried to book) and we had a double room, which was fine, but this room turned out to be compact, to say the least. The bed was a 3/4 bed - not a full size double - and the shower room was approximately 4 foot square; the shower tray was less than 2 ft sq and the shower head was fixed at a height of approximately 5' 8. There was a narrow space down one side of the bed, the other side was tight up against the wall and there was no space for bedside furniture. Space for clothes storage was limited, so we didn't fully unpack the suitcase. The room tended to be very warm, and air conditioning was an electric fan which we found in the wardrobe and had to be left switched on all night. Breakfast was adequate and the staff very pleasant. All in all, we felt like Gulliver in Lilliput - had we been taller or heavier than average, we would never had fitted in the room! The lift was ancient and also small, but it worked if previous users remembered to shut the doors. Everything about this hotel seemed to be minature, except for the cutlery in the breakfast room, which seemed to be huge! Having said that, the location was superb - less than 5 minutes walk from Euston - and it was adequate for a short stay. The bed was reasonably comfortable, and there was very little noise from outside. Our room was right next to the lift, but we heard no noise at all from it. If all that's wanted is a place to sleep, this hotel is ok, but our room was certainly not big enough to be called a double.

Reviewed by
Gillian B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

impressed
excellent value hotel, room was clean, modern and breakfast excellent

Reviewed by
Mark P

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The price was ok . Double room at 95 pounds ..I can't complain .
It's clean , very old shower though .
I gave custumor service just one star ..because when I first came in the freceptionist was very rude / never smiled / mannered ..

Reviewed by
Ali F

From Sheffield , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room small but adequate shower was too small and not comnfortable, no air con an odour was present.
Staff helpful most of the time, the shower was far too small and no air con so an odour present most of the time( not human). Breakfast was good but could have been better, Coffee was a cheap make My wife only drinks coffee, the staff were friendly and quite helpful . Overall the stay was okay but being seasoned travellers it was quite disappointing really.

Reviewed by
a pestill

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor, and decietful
Beware the trick of them pretending you are getting a bargain because the price of the room has been cut. I booked on the basis that the rate had reduced from £450 to £125, when in reality the room was never worth more than £80. The room was tiny, the bed hard, and the shower miniscule and dirty. Never again.

Reviewed by
James Noble-Rogers

From Harpenden, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very convenient hotel
I liked my stay. The room was perfect with one problem. I am planning to return with my partner next week. However, the bed is to small for two people. I had a double bed on my own which was fine. But I cannot risk staying here again with my partner in a bed which I would describe as a small double. I did enquire if they had larger beds and the answer was negative. What a pity. The breakfast was first class and the girl serving, charming friendly and most helpful. I was there for the last day of the Matisse exhibition and my ticket was for 8am. The breakfast which starts as 7 was just what I needed. The other remarkable thing of this hotel is that is is very quiet and in walking distance from St Pancras.

Reviewed by
Brigitte Pemberton

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next