No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Goodenough Club

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
23 Mecklenburgh Square , London, WC1N 2AD
Goodenough Club provides 4* guest accommodation overlooking the beautiful Mecklenburgh Square gardens in the heart of Bloomsbury. Goodenough Club is well located for all London's airports and train stations. We are a 10 minute walk from King's Cross St. Pancras - home to the Eurostar - which provides access to mainland Europe. We are also within easy walking distance of the West End, Covent Garden, Oxford Street, the British Museum, the Royal Opera House, London’s academic and legal centres, and the City.

Continental breakfast is available in our Club Guest Lounge – or you can relax here with a complimentary coffee and newspaper here in the afternoon or evening - free wi-fi is available.

A freshly cooked breakfast - and lunchtime hot meals - are available just across the Square in the College's Great Hall and Freddies Bar.

Reduced rate passes for daily membership of Nuffield Health Fitness and Wellbeing Centre can be purchased from the Club’s reception.

You are welcome to attend a comprehensive programme of free talks, lectures and concerts at Goodenough College - a vibrant community of 650 international postgraduates from over 90 countries of the world.

Due to restrictions imposed by listed building status there is no elevator, however someone is always on hand to help with luggage.
Picture of Goodenough Club, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely quiet accommodation. great for business or leisure trips.
lovely accommodation in a quiet part of Bloomsbury. We will definitely use the goodenough club again

Reviewed by
victoria w

From Egremont, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only if you are desperate for a room near Kings Cross
Definitely did not live up to the images on the web. Room was the size of a cupboard.

Reviewed by
M Pettit

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quiet respite from the noise of the city
Hotel is situated in a listed Georgian building in a quiet square. The receptionists were very helpful and polite and helped us to the room with our luggage. The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable, with a good quality mattress on the bed. Continental breakfast was a nice selection with good quality coffee. It's a good choice for those who want a quiet stay in London, I would definitely stay again - in comparison to many other London hotels I've stayed in, it's one of the better ones.

Reviewed by
Jane M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel
Nice Room (we stayed in the Mews, i.e. modern area of the buiding), generous breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, very good location (walking distance from King's Cross, St. Pancras, Euston for trians; and Russel Square & Chancery Lane for tube).
Only downside: the price (quite high in general, but in the average for central London)

Reviewed by
Arianna G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely
This was my second stay there. The staff were very helpful, friendly and polite. The suite was fantastic and I would stay there again.

Reviewed by
T Polo

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff and fantastic value for money

Reviewed by
S Brooke

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay in the heart of the City
A row of mews type houses converted in to rooms, very nice, clean comfortable and great location

Reviewed by
G Knight

From Dunmow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay, very clean
Excellent stay, very clean

Reviewed by
D Lusardi

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet but small room
The club is a short walk from Kings Cross in a quiet location. I opted for the Standard Single Room which although was quiet was very small and up 3 flights of stairs. Had I known I would have opted for a double at least. Unlike most hotels in London breakfast was included and I was tempted by the cooked breakfast in the main hall in a different building over the road. However as I had an early meeting decided to opt for the continental breakfast in the basement which had a reasonable selection.

Reviewed by
Rachel M

From Newmarket, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Possibly very good - but not our experience!
Good bed, decent sized room, quiet location overall.
But...
When you can't stand up in the shower because the roof is too low and the shower head is only up to your chest, you know something is wrong.
Being put in the 'basement' (sorry, 'Lower Ground Floor') was the first sign that this wasn't going to be the best room we could have had at the price we paid (not cheap).
Damp patches in the room - near electric sockets - could explain why the vent in the bathroom was not switched on. We put it in briefly to discover it worked, but didn't want to leave it on in case the damp walls affected it.
Missing keys for window locks meant that they could not be secured or left open.
Breakfast on the Sunday was cold - what was available - and staff were hard to find to ask for anything other than what was on display (and had been for quite a while in some cases).
Disappointed from the moment the words 'Your room is on the Lower Ground Floor' would be an understatement.

Reviewed by
Karl B

From Bromyard, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next