No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Goodenough Club

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
23 Mecklenburgh Square , London, WC1N 2AD
Goodenough Club provides 4* guest accommodation overlooking the beautiful Mecklenburgh Square gardens in the heart of Bloomsbury. Goodenough Club is well located for all London's airports and train stations. We are a 10 minute walk from King's Cross St. Pancras - home to the Eurostar - which provides access to mainland Europe. We are also within easy walking distance of the West End, Covent Garden, Oxford Street, the British Museum, the Royal Opera House, London’s academic and legal centres, and the City.

Continental breakfast is available in our Club Guest Lounge – or you can relax here with a complimentary coffee and newspaper here in the afternoon or evening - free wi-fi is available.

A freshly cooked breakfast - and lunchtime hot meals - are available just across the Square in the College's Great Hall and Freddies Bar.

Reduced rate passes for daily membership of Nuffield Health Fitness and Wellbeing Centre can be purchased from the Club’s reception.

You are welcome to attend a comprehensive programme of free talks, lectures and concerts at Goodenough College - a vibrant community of 650 international postgraduates from over 90 countries of the world.

Due to restrictions imposed by listed building status there is no elevator, however someone is always on hand to help with luggage.
Picture of Goodenough Club, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marvellous - will stay again on my next visit to London
The location is ideally central. Ther reception guys were really friendly, the room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. The continental breakfast was the best I have ever had. I will return!

Reviewed by
Ray Mount

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Goodenough Club
Comfortable and very clean room, but a bit of a maze to find the right room. Staff very helpful. Breakfast good but very usual.

Reviewed by
Ian M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Goodenough Club
Great location. We asked for a view over the square. Central and quiet. Comfortable bed and quality decor. Breakfast arrangements the only criticism as we had to eat in the dining hall of the college and the food was not very good.

Reviewed by
jacqueline a

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
A good 2star, but not 4star

Reviewed by
Alan C

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business
Average

Reviewed by
Robert P

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good staff
Very pleasant place to stay. Staff were very accommodating and helpful.

Reviewed by
Steve Charters

From Marsannay la Cote, France
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short trip to London on my own
The area was very pleasant near to Russell Square Underground and near the British Museum. The accommodation was ok, quite basic but more importantly there is NO LIFT, so had the drag my heavy suitcase up 4 flights of stairs. Staff were very polite, continental breakfast downstairs was disappointing and I preferred to have breakfast out round London.

Reviewed by
s randall

From England
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Lovely hotel, booked 2 rooms one was in the older part of the hotel and one in the modern part. Both rooms lovely and clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast in the hall of the college was great freshly cooked food and lovely relaxed atmosphere . Located within walking distance from St Pancras was great for us and it was close to Russell Square for our journey to Covent garden. Staff polite and helpful, and it was good that we could leave our luggage at the hotel until our train journey home. Would stay again when we next visit London

Reviewed by
H Walker

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good, though breakfast bit disappointing.
Room was good, very spacious (by London standards) overlooking a garden square. Very quiet area though the walls of the room a little thin so you could hear other guests. Room well appointed, with a fridge and two opening sash windows. Spotlessly clean. Very good internet connection. Full English breakfast was available in th Great Hall of the college, (bit like eating in Hogwarts! ) but although plenty of choice was rather cold. Didn't like that the coffee and fruit juice was served in paper cups.
Our second morning we had continental breakfast in the hotel itself, much nicer. Waitress serving proper coffee and a very nice selection of items in much more comfortable surroundings.

Reviewed by
Jacky R

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great apart from steep climb to top floor in annexe
I was put in a room in the annexe, it was raining and so not ideal. I had a fairly heavy case and my room was as far from the room as it could have been, and up several flights of stairs, no lift.

Reviewed by
mark k

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next