The Z Hotel Piccadilly

3

2 ORANGE STREET, LONDON, WC2H 7DF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (73)

92% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Mark D

  • May 2015

Tiny but good

Very efficient & friendly check-in and check-out, I was offered complimentary wine and cheese.

The room was about the size of 3 double beds, with 1 double bed next to a large non-opening window. There was a small desk with tea & coffee facilities and a well designed, compact, glass enclosed toilet and shower room. The bed was extremely comfortable and I only got woken up one by the aircon. I would recommend for a 1 or 2 day stay for one person but it would have been crowded if I'd taken my wife or more than one change of clothes.

  • Stephen O

  • April 2015

Room too small for comfort felt like a box

The green light which I could not switch off kept me awake a fair chunk of the night.

Breakfast was a bit basic

  • Susan B

  • April 2015

Good value in a central location

The en suite bathroom is integral to the room with frosted glass and sliding door, however, our door did not slide so a very open arrangement.

Good and clean with attentive staff. Price a bit high for what's provided.

  • Stephen H

  • April 2015

Convenient!

Stayed for one night for theatre trip.

Ideal location walking distance to theatre etc. room as described. Check in easy, staff helpful, room clean, bed comfy, shower excellent. Ideal for us and would go back again.

  • Jo R

  • April 2015

rat in a box

Clean and the bed was comfortable but felt like a rat in a (windowless) box with only the whirring AC keeping me alive...

never again

  • M Myntti

  • April 2015

Would recommend, with caution about a couple of things

The Hotel Z Piccadilly suited well for my and my mother's five-day leisure trip in London.

It is a very comfortable and tidy hotel with cozy beds, and the breakfast buffet was delicious. We could really relax and sleep well in the room after long days of walking. Hotel Z Piccadilly is also located at Piccadilly circus, where is also a cross-section of Piccadilly and Bakerloo underground lines. Out of them, Piccadilly line takes to Heathrow airport, which was a major benefit for us, and Bakerloo line took to a few attractions we were interested in (namely Sherlock Holmes museum and Madame Tussauds). However, there are a few things that travelers might want to take into account; in general, accommodating in a two-person room (we had double-bed to save up space) suits best for those travelers who know each others well. To less familiar travelers the experience might be awkward. Firstly, the shower&toilet area is separated from the other room only by smoked glass, and when the other person is taking a shower, showering can be seen by the other person. It didn't bother me and my mother, but I could believe it can be disturbing to some duos of travelers. Also, our double-bed had only one big blanket rather than two regular-sized ones, making me and my mother to further suspect that the rooms were designed for (romantic) couples. For more privacy, a non-see-through wall at least between the bed and the shower area in addition to two blankets could have been a plus, though it wasn't a major issue for us. A bigger issue was a stiff shower tap that was hard to turn especially with soapy hands. I gave 3 for the "value of money" not that much for the actual money-ratio, but due to the biggest disappointment we encountered. We reserved a room with a window. Okay, we got a room with a window, actually with windows. But. Unlike in the photographs shown, we didn't have one big mirror opening to the street, but instead we had two TINY WINDOWS (a few square feet) in the corners of the room. Okay, those gave light and street view too, but they didn't answer to our expectations. I'd really hope that Hotel Z Piccadilly would make pricing differences between rooms with mini windows or actual windows -- they give very different experiences. Now, my review might initially appear negative, but I mostly brought up things that separated the experience from perfection. Despite these misinformation issues and clashing expectations, we enjoyed our stay in Hotel Z Piccadilly, and I could recommend it to fellow travelers.

  • Philip H

  • April 2015

superb

Compact room but clean airey modern central location - you could not ask for better

  • Ray Ward

  • April 2015

Very welcoming staff, room spotlessly clean. Location perfect.

Staff were great, room was small, but we were aware of that.

Spotlessly clean, Great location in the heart of London. Nice touch with the early evening complimentary cheese and wine.

  • martin w

  • March 2015

Hotel was not easy to find as the outside signage was poor from the main road.

I was in a basement room & there was constant noise of running water (. it wasn't raining) from a pipe that passed through the room (boxed in mid-room). Otherwise everything was fine.

  • K Burt

  • March 2015

The Z Hotel Piccadilly

Perfect choice for a 1/2 night stay in London.

Bed was really comfortable although I did bash my knee on the window ledge and now have a big bruise!