No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - PAVILION HOTEL

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
34 36, Sussex Gardens , London, W2 1UL
The Pavilion Hotel is a small funky laid back townhouse Hotel in central London ideal for artistically minded clientele.
All the 30 rooms have been designed to project a funky and glamorous image. Many are themed and have names such as "Honky Tonky Afro" a tribute to the 1970's and "Casablanca Nights" a deco inspired Moorish fantasy."Better Red than Dead" is a voluptuous symphony of vermilion, claret and crimson and "Enter the Dragon" a mystical cocktail of oriental treasures. Other rooms have equally exotic names. All rooms have small en-suite bathrooms, satellite TV’s with DVD/CD and direct dial telephones.
The Hotel has become extremely popular with the fashion, music, T.V and film industries. Supermodels, Oscar winning actors, famous musicians and T.V stars have all visited the walls of the Pavilion.
If you're looking for something different and glam, then the Pavilion is definitely for you. The Hotel is extremely photogenic and has also become a popular location for photo/ fashion shoots by photographers such as Mario Testino who shot at the Hotel for British Vogue. It's also regularly used for T.V filming, music videos and celebrity interviews.
Location:
HOTEL ROOM'S AT THE PAVILION HOTEL (with room themes)
CASABLANCA NIGHTS... (MORROCAN)...TWIN
The Hotel is situated in a convenient Central London location, within walking distance of Hyde Park, Marble Arch, Paddington Station, Oxford Street (London’s main shopping street), Madame Tussards (Famous
waxworks museum),and the Edgware Road (full of restaurants and cafes).
Picture of PAVILION HOTEL, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 192 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint little place
The hotel is located very well close to subway and buses with walking distance to Hyde Park, West End etc. Lots of cafés and shops in the neighborhood. Busy street outside so it can be a bit noisy with a room facing the street, or side-street with window open, but it's in the city so it is to be expected. Laid-back, friendly and helpful staff. No problem getting an extra pillow or finding a place to charge your phone after we'd checked out. You stay here mainly for the location plus the fabulously quaint interior design, which is nothing short of lavishly kitschy. Our twin room, the Funky Zebra, was small but clean and functional with a bit wobbly but quite comfortable beds. We didn't manage to get any hot water in the shower, but the large sink in the room produced it scolding hot. Perhaps the cold water issue could have been fixed by the staff but we didn't really care so we didn't bother to ask. Breakfast is brought to the room (there is no lounge or common area, at least not that we could find...) at a time of your choosing and is ok, basic continental.There is a water kettle in the room with tea and coffee. Overall a nice stay! Storing the luggage felt somewhat awkward since they put it in the hall more or less unattended (reception desk/room is attended 24/7 though). I left it there with laptop in it and it was still there when I came back, but would have preferred a safer alternative...the proper hotel website could use a style update of its sadly antiquated form btw ;)

Reviewed by
n nygårds

From Sweden
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I used to live in London & was revisiting for a week in August 2014 to work/see friends scattered about. I was travelling alone. Being middle aged I needed some coddling.
My needs were somewhere: cheap, central london/24h public transport links, 24h reception so I could come/go late at night, privacy/not disturb others. I booked a package [don’t ask] for 1st 2 nights and looked on websites incl LateRooms for a hotel for the remainder. The review section was very helpful: I immediately decided against some other hotels; the Pavilion sounded intriguing so I decided to take a punt. The cancellation policy meant I could change my mind but I was not disappointed.
It is very easy to get to, 5 mins walk from Edgware Rd or Paddington tubes and by day/night bus.
It doesn't serve meals but the area is full of Middle Eastern supermarkets/restaurants/cafes
open late
Rooms are individually themed. I had the single ‘Quiet Room’ on the top floor, overlooking the street. The stairs [no lift] are carpeted so I did not disturb anyone, or vice versa, and there was no street noise. Space was a bit cramped [maybe I should lose weight] but I turned down the offer of a larger room. It was warm, sufficient bedding, en suite sink/shower/toilet. Being lazy, I seriously considered just lying in bed reading a book/watching tv instead of going out.
Very considerately, Continental breakfast was left on a tray outside the room – unfortunately I don’t like muffins or Special K, but that was my fault for not telling staff.
Cleaning staff were very discreet and didn’t disturb me. Reception, including Sean the owner, were very considerate, even when I came in at 02:40 am.
What else can I say, except to remember you in my will [if I have any money left]. Yes of course I would love to come back. I recommend this place to anyone [unless we are fighting for the last vacancy]
Anil
PS I just hate questionnaires like this where the e-mail doesn't send or you lose all you've typed in...

Reviewed by
Anil B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

amazing hotel
Beautiful rooms! The hallways are even themed. Everywhere you look is super interesting. The room I stayed in "Indian summer" was small but beautiful. The 4 poster bed and drapes took up mist of the room but it was a beautifully themed space. Like if a Victorian explorer had decorated it after a trip to India.

Reviewed by
S Cox

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved it!!
Gorgeous but small room, maybe too small for more than one night. Room clean and very well presented. Staff friendly and helpful. Good value for money and very close to tube stations and some sights. Would stay again! Quiet setting- even with window wide open- even though just off main thoroughfare. I loved it, but might be too compact for a family over several nights, but I only had a double room. Loved the room theme

Reviewed by
Tracey H

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An eclectic mix
I stayed in the war and peace room. Very Victorian military. Lots of eclectic memorability to hide a small room. I'd come back to try the other rooms.

Reviewed by
Tony D

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful decor, noisy night
The décor at this hotel is delightful - unique and worth seeing. I was in a tiny room at the top of the hotel on a hot evening - there was no option but to keep the window open because there was no other method of ventilation, and unfortunately it's a part of London where there is noise most of the night. The bed was probably the lumpiest one I've ever slept in. Friendly check-in and very accommodating with getting breakfast to my room early.

Reviewed by
Amanda C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bored With The Same Generic London Hotels?
Well, head to the Pavilion Hotel, just 5 minutes walk from Paddington station. The outside may look ordinary but the minute you enter the establishment you enter a different world. The décor may not be subtle or under-stated but it is memorable. We were allocated "Up, Up & Away" a quiet ground floor room with a Balloon theme. Despite staying on the infamous London heat-wave day the temperature was acceptable and we even slept through to 8.50am. What was even nicer was the fact that the continental breakfast was left outside our room without disturbing. Excellent customer service.

Reviewed by
David Cox

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Okay for short stay. Convenient for oxford street and Lords cricket. Rooms very quirky but small and dark.

Reviewed by
Andrew P

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was lovely, but very small, quirkiness of hotel let down by disengaged front desk staff.

Reviewed by
Adele S

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in London
The quaintly decorated rooms disguise (but not vey well) the fact that the hotel is in serious need of a makeover.

Reviewed by
A Ayres

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next