No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - PAVILION HOTEL

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
34 36, Sussex Gardens , London, W2 1UL
The Pavilion Hotel is a small funky laid back townhouse Hotel in central London ideal for artistically minded clientele.
All the 30 rooms have been designed to project a funky and glamorous image. Many are themed and have names such as "Honky Tonky Afro" a tribute to the 1970's and "Casablanca Nights" a deco inspired Moorish fantasy."Better Red than Dead" is a voluptuous symphony of vermilion, claret and crimson and "Enter the Dragon" a mystical cocktail of oriental treasures. Other rooms have equally exotic names. All rooms have small en-suite bathrooms, satellite TV’s with DVD/CD and direct dial telephones.
The Hotel has become extremely popular with the fashion, music, T.V and film industries. Supermodels, Oscar winning actors, famous musicians and T.V stars have all visited the walls of the Pavilion.
If you're looking for something different and glam, then the Pavilion is definitely for you. The Hotel is extremely photogenic and has also become a popular location for photo/ fashion shoots by photographers such as Mario Testino who shot at the Hotel for British Vogue. It's also regularly used for T.V filming, music videos and celebrity interviews.
Location:
HOTEL ROOM'S AT THE PAVILION HOTEL (with room themes)
CASABLANCA NIGHTS... (MORROCAN)...TWIN
The Hotel is situated in a convenient Central London location, within walking distance of Hyde Park, Marble Arch, Paddington Station, Oxford Street (London’s main shopping street), Madame Tussards (Famous
waxworks museum),and the Edgware Road (full of restaurants and cafes).
Picture of PAVILION HOTEL, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 201 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Highland Fling
Room was in very good decor and extremely clean. Good location, although noise from the street was loud at times but to be expected considering it's London

Reviewed by
a hamilton

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value hotel in London. Room was interesting, we stayed in the Honky Tonk Afro room. Comfortable enough for 2, I would stay in this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Nikki J

From Stone, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cramped and uncomfortable
Too much furniture crammed into a tiny room on the third floor (steep stairs, no lift, but my bag was carried up for me by a member of staff). No bulb in the bedside lamp. Bed was incredibly uncomfortable and creaked every time I moved. Breakfast was quite nice but as it was served in the room, it had to be eaten in bed as no other space available.

Reviewed by
Mary R

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An eclectic and cosy stay
We lode this hotel, friendly staff, very informal (which I prefer) extremely laid back, felt at home right away.... We were in the flower power room, which was very flowery indeed, and the whole place was interesting, full of little nooks, I would recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by
Pete House

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky theatrical venue
I have stayed twice now in this hotel in rooms with a different theme each time. I would like to go back to try out every room they have! It is a wonderfully atmospheric and theatrical place, showing great style and imagination in the interior design. The rooms have evocative names, not the usual sterile room number. So much more interesting than budget hotel chains, a perfect retreat for those of an artistic nature or those with an interest in vintage collectables.

Reviewed by
Lesley W

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pavilion hotel....or not?
Upon arrival I was told that there was no room available in the Pavilion hotel; however, they had arranged a room for me in an adjacent hotel (called Four Star Hotel). Considering the low price I paid per night, this was a luxury sized room, though very basic. For example, there was a small desk, but no chair for it. The bathroom was clean, the size of the shower cabin very small, but the shower itself was good. The room was noisy and folks were talking till late night in front of the room and in the room above. The last two nights of my four nights were in another (smaller) room, which was a bit less noisy.
The staff is generally friendly, though some were not and it almost felt as if I disturbed them while asking information on the room etc.
The hotel promises to have WIFI, indeed it is working sometimes, but often there is a limited connection.
Breakfast is generally fine, choice is limited, and the staff speak little English.

Reviewed by
J van der Hooft

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
Danniel S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The small single-rooms are REALLY small, but ok for the price
+ : price, area, silent, good pubs and cafees nearby
- : breakfast not too good, had to leave the key at the reception, small - really small! (but I guess the double rooms are a bit more comfortable)

Reviewed by
K Arntsen

From Norway
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dark & Dingy and very cluttered and very tired - Definitely not 3 star as suggested ???? more like a boarding house!!

Reviewed by
P Lomas

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint little place
The hotel is located very well close to subway and buses with walking distance to Hyde Park, West End etc. Lots of cafés and shops in the neighborhood. Busy street outside so it can be a bit noisy with a room facing the street, or side-street with window open, but it's in the city so it is to be expected. Laid-back, friendly and helpful staff. No problem getting an extra pillow or finding a place to charge your phone after we'd checked out. You stay here mainly for the location plus the fabulously quaint interior design, which is nothing short of lavishly kitschy. Our twin room, the Funky Zebra, was small but clean and functional with a bit wobbly but quite comfortable beds. We didn't manage to get any hot water in the shower, but the large sink in the room produced it scolding hot. Perhaps the cold water issue could have been fixed by the staff but we didn't really care so we didn't bother to ask. Breakfast is brought to the room (there is no lounge or common area, at least not that we could find...) at a time of your choosing and is ok, basic continental.There is a water kettle in the room with tea and coffee. Overall a nice stay! Storing the luggage felt somewhat awkward since they put it in the hall more or less unattended (reception desk/room is attended 24/7 though). I left it there with laptop in it and it was still there when I came back, but would have preferred a safer alternative...the proper hotel website could use a style update of its sadly antiquated form btw ;)

Reviewed by
n nygårds

From Sweden
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next