No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Jenkins Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
45 CARTWRIGHT GARDENS Bloomsbury, LONDON, WC1H 9EH
From the moment you arrive at the Jenkins Hotel in Bloomsbury you will feel at home, in the best tradition of English Bed & Breakfast Hotels.

The Jenkins Hotel is small, only thirteen rooms, and is situated in Bloomsbury, within easy reach of the West End and the City, as well as Theatreland and the main shopping areas. The hotel takes Visa and Mastercard

"One of 'Ten of the Best' value hotels in London." Mail on Sunday

The Hotel has free WIFI in all areas.

Please note that guests staying at the Jenkins Hotel should check in at our sister hotel, The Judd, directly across the street from the Jenkins.
Picture of The Jenkins Hotel, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute one night in London.
Needed a quick & easy booking for a single night in London to see a show.

Reviewed by
S Rose

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent!
Myself and 3 friends stayed in the quad room here when in town to see a show- we could not fault it! Excellent room, spotless, modern, fab location and yummy breakfast! Will definitely be staying again!

Reviewed by
Emma O

From Windsor, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Jenkins Hotel
Good value.

Reviewed by
robert gooden

From crowborough, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent small room, clean and well appointed
Nothing shabby about my stay at the Judd hotel, especially for the price

Reviewed by
A Rowe

From Crook, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great find for a last minute stay
Really good value. Small double room but ideal for me as I was staying alone.
Spotlessly clean & good value.

Reviewed by
caroline H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Security concerns
There are lots of comments abut the rooms being small, they are. Mine was a twin bedded one but it would have been tight for 2 people, it was ok for me as I could put my bag etc. on the spare bed. However my room was clean, modern, comfortable bed, tv, controllable temperature with a small fully equipped shower room. But - The Jenkins is an unstaffed accommodation unit for the Judd, you get through the front door of the Jenkins using your room key card. My room was on the 'Lower Ground Floor', what was the basement of the old house. From what I saw the rooms are grouped in twos behind fire doors, there are stairs, short corridors and many turns. My room had a window looking onto a central light well, not outside. The window was locked. My concern was that the rooms do not have phones, there is no way of contacting reception. What is you have a medical emergency during the night or you are worried by something outside your room? I am a fit mature person but I felt vulnerable and very isolated. I was also concerned about the fire evacuation procedure in a difficult environment with no staff on hand.

Reviewed by
Adrian S

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Jenkins Hotel
Accommodation was decent, very comfortable bed. Clean room. I would have liked a desk. The staff were incredibly helpful & attentive. Very friendly staff, made a decent hotel experience into a good one.

Reviewed by
Paul A

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A useful little hotel - but noisy doors!
First off I want to thank The Jenkins for kindly refunding me two nights as my plans changed and I didn't need to spend four nights there; only two. I was hugely relieved to get my money back for the two nights I'd paid for but didn't use.
My room was on the lower ground floor (LG03). It was clean and once I'd been shown how to work the central heating nice and toasty warm. But there was no phone to ring reception which was next door in the Jenkins' sister hotel. This made me feel a little vulnerable. Also the front door banged whenever someone came in and that made the fire doors bang and the doors to the rooms bang too. When someone came in at 2.22am - I know the exact time because they woke me up - I couldn't get back to sleep. Also there was a noisy generator outside my room that emitted a low murmuring noise all night. (This troubled me far less than the noisy guest who came in late).
For the money, nearly £100 a night, I didn't feel this was very good value. For that price I expect more. There were no shelves in the tiny bathroom to put a bathbag and - worse - no table on which to make coffee! Just tiny shelf with the kettle on it and three cups on top of each other. Where are you supposed to make tea and coffee, where? There was a small bedside table but that was some distance from the kettle.
The breakfast was fine, a buffet style full English, but served in a very utility room which wasn't very comfortable or inviting. So I skipped it on my second, and last, night.
My bed was incredibly comfortable and on one of my nights gave me a very blissful night's sleep. The disturbed night due to a very inconsiderate guest coming in late and noisily was not the hotel's fault but the design of the doors is. And that, together with no phone or reception, is why I won't stay here again.

Reviewed by
Laura Marcus

From Leek, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

girls night away
it was a good sized room for the 3 of us to stay for the night. clean tidy room.

Reviewed by
hannah p

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay in London
Very comfortable room in a quiet area but close to the British Museum, and public transport. Large windows looking on to gardens with tennis courts and wild life.

Reviewed by
Angela R

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next