No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Star Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Church Road, , , Lingfield, RH7 6AH
We have a number of well appointed bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms. Choose from twin, double or family rooms. Very convenient for Lingfield Park races, we’re also only 6 miles from Gatwick Airport and 8 miles from the M25 so many people find us ideal for business travel. There’s a large garden with views across the open countryside, plenty of tables, and a climbing frame for the children. And in the winter we have a roaring open fire in the traditional oak-beamed and flagstoned bar. Good food is very important at The Star whether it’s a full meal in the restaurant or a quick snack in the bar. Our restaurant is staffed by qualified chefs who prepare modern European cuisine with fresh ingredients. But The Star is also a proper local pub with real ales on draught, a quiz night and a great welcome for everyone. Lingfield village dates back to Anglo Saxon times. The14th century Church was rebuilt in 1431 and contains some of the finest brasses and monuments in the country. The area around the Church (just opposite The Star) is a conservation area and contains many fine buildings from the 16th to the 18th centuries.
Picture of The Star Inn, Lingfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Friendly staff, clean & comfortable room, good location, but rather noisy surroundings (Gatwick airport…)

Reviewed by
W.F. L

From 1273 HP Huizen, Netherlands
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place, but noisy!
Room was good and cannot complain about service in the evening. Menu is overpriced, as a starter, one half of a bruschetta bun with two cherry tomatoes and a sliver of mozerella, £6.50! Breakfast good but service is woefully slow.
Obviously used by contractors during the week but our room was above the bar area and very noisy until at least 11.30 pm.

Reviewed by
Michael M

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room above a nice country pub
Nice spacious room, didn't hear any noise from the Pub.

Reviewed by
Brian R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant
Stated here after a wedding room was quaint and clean however walls paper thin. Did the job for what we needed. The garden is lovely

Reviewed by
a Charles

From Burgess Hill, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Fantastic food, friendly service although the bar girls were a little slow but I think they were new.
Rooms are basic but clean and value for money.
Would recommend as it is based in a lovely village and is in close proximity to the race course. We were attending a wedding and it was perfect for this.

Reviewed by
g bunn

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly atmosphere
pub food very good

Reviewed by
k archer

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb room
The room was spacious, very well furnished, clean and
in good decorative order. It was perfect for a short stay.

Reviewed by
John Rogers

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room, nice staff very good value for money. Will stay again

Reviewed by
john jones

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Star Inn Lingfield
This was my second visit, not quite as good this time, the room was not as comfortable and the rubbish bin had not been emptied. Still excellent value, and I would not be put off from staying again when in the area.

Reviewed by
Henry C

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic accommodation . No hot water in shower & no heating!

Reviewed by
Chris S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next