No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Devonshire Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
94, Station Lane , Hornchurch, RM12 6LX
Devonshire Hotel is a family run boutique hotel which combines modern, stylish accommodation with a friendly, intimate service, delicious breakfast and freshly prepared home-made snacks. We also offer free wi-fi and secure parking. Located in Hornchurch (Essex), it is well linked to central London by underground and overground train links.

The Hotel is situated a 5 minute walk from Hornchurch High Street and a short drive/bus ride from the towns of Romford, Upminster, Dagenham and Rainham. Travel connections are easy and convenient in all directions.
Picture of Devonshire Hotel, Hornchurch at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful frontage, compact clean room.
Great little hotel. Room compact but had everything you needed. A problem connecting to the Internet, which I was told was normal. Staff were able to help me overcome it, but if it's normal it would be nice if it was something that was thought worthy of being fixed.

Reviewed by
J Grace

From Falmouth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Was comfortable and breakfast great

Reviewed by
David T

From Lichfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Devonshire Hotel
A booking error resulted in me being upgraded to a beautiful suite on night one and on night two a family member was turfed out to accommodate me. The staff could not have been more helpful and professional.
The rooms were top quality and the breakfast, cooked to order, was just perfect.
Its a shame they do not do an evening menu, but it is only 5 mins into the centre of town where there must be about every type of restaurant to suit very pocket.
Also free parking as well.

Reviewed by
N Coneybear

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quick stay but very confortable
I stayed here for 1 night arriving very late but everyone was friendly and the room standard was very high. I would definitely consider this hotel again when staying in the area.

Reviewed by
Todd C

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Find
This is my second business trip to this hotel in the past 6 weeks - I would certainly recommend it for short stays (both business and leisure). My room this time was a family room, although larger it did not quite have the 'boutique' feel of the smaller room I stayed in on my first trip.
The accomodation is of a good standard, prices are reasonable, parking is free / secure and breakfast is excellent. The hotel is only a few hundred metres from Hornchurch centre, where there is an abundance of restaurants to choose from (the hotel does not offer food apart from breakfast).

Reviewed by
Robert W

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel was in a superb location to visit our friends birthday celebrations at the Vertigo Lounge. Our room was very quiet even with it being above the breakfast room. Lovely room and bathroom. Great service at reception. Our only complaint would be that the bed was very hard, would have preferred a much softer mattress!

Reviewed by
Karen D

From Mayfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had room at front and was very noisy with traffic. Man in charge at breakfast, very impersonal. Breakfast extra, but very nice. Bedroom was small.

Reviewed by
P Quirk

From Kilwinning, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good
A lovely stay and the breakfast was very good.
Only "could do better" comment was there was not enough tea and coffee with milk and sugar in the room. We did not ask for more as I am sure we would have been given more.
Bed was comfortable and car park locked so vehicle is secure.

Reviewed by
Ann p

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Accommodation but very little warmth!
We found this hotel to be of a very high quality. Clean, comfortable, good food and although not offering evening meals it was situated in an area that provided resturants, bars and clubs serving every kind of food for any kind of pocket. The flooring in the hotel was pine, (except the bedrooms), and, as early retirers, we found the arrival of late nighters to be quite noisy. Perhaps we might have found upstairs Quieter. Our room was on the ground floor.
The down side to the hotel was the total lack of atmosphere. There was no greeting on arrival. The receptionist seemed suprised when I ask her name. The night porter completely ignored us; other members of staff were not rude but made the minimun of effort to make us feel welcome. This hotel would probably suit business folk making a short overnight stay but was certainly without even the slightest hint of chalm that might be expected by a couple looking for a romantic retreat or a family looking for a home from home. Sorry, this hotel left us cold!

Reviewed by
Ford St John de Veer

From Winsford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice
Really nice hotel. It's only a five minute walk to Hornchurch station, on the District line (takes about 40-45 minutes to get to Zone 1). The room and bathroom were both well cleaned, and the bed was comfy. The staff were friendly and efficient. Also, there is free wifi in the rooms which runs at a reasonable speed. A touch on the expensive side but I was a single person in a double room so with two people it's more reasonable. Overall pretty good.

Reviewed by
Katriona B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next