No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Smart Russell Square

2Self Classified Hostel Ratings explained
71-72 Guilford Street , London, WC1N 1DF
Smart Russell Square Hostel is perfectly located in the heart of London to provide a great experience. Located just off London’s and Europe’s most popular shopping area, Oxford Street, we are also a short walk to the British Museum. Every room is key card locked as is entry to the main part of the building, security lockers in every room.
The hostel has 24 hour reception, FREE continental buffet breakfast, 24 hour FREE Wi-Fi and internet cafe, TV common room, self -service laundry and dryer facilities, guest kitchen facilities, currency exchange, travel shop, no curfew or lockout, and much more.
Our transport links are fantastic; we are located only a few minutes walking distance from Russell Square Tube or Metro Station which is directly linked to both Heathrow Airport and Kings Cross St Pancras for the Eurostar Train. We are directly linked either by bus or the tube to every major train and bus station in London. There are 24 hour buses running next to the hostel, making us accessible at day or night.
Local sights within walking distance include Oxford Street, British Museum, Covent Garden, Camden Town Market, National Portrait Gallery, Soho, National Theatre, National Gallery, West End Theatres, Regent Street, Leicester Square, Kings Cross and much more.
For your added security we require a £10 security deposit on arrival for the room key. If you pay by credit card we also charge 3% fee.
By choosing to stay with us, you will find yourself in a clean, comfortable hostel with the best of Central London at your fingertips!
*Please note are rates are per person per night in a shared dormitory room.

** Important Information **
- Photo ID required at the check-in,
- £10 refundable deposit (cash) required at the check-in,
- Credit card payment fee of 3% or £0.50,
- Locker fee £1.50,
- Late check-out fee of £10,
- Customers under the age of 16 must be accompanied by an Adult.Customers under 13 years old must be booked into private accommodation. The minimum age to stay at our hostels is The recommended age to stay at our hostels unaccompanied is from 16 onward.
Picture of Smart Russell Square, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay in London
Very good position for a stay in central London.

Reviewed by
Trevor E

From Diss, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap and basic,ok for 1 night

Reviewed by
ROY P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful no frills hostel. Staff helpful and polite, rooms small, utilitarian and clean.

Reviewed by
Nick G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money

Reviewed by
P Venkatesh

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor shower room
I was there 5 days ..and I can not go there again .....The shower room is very far from the rooms and complicated to find it ...the shower itself hardly works and always stop ...You have to push non-stop the tap to take water...and not too clear ...This why You can not find any pictures about the bathroom on their website ...The rooms are not too much better ..I couldn't open the window ,and was outside over 30 degree....not air inside ,not a fan ....three beds are on each other placed ...the size of the bed is nearly short and narrow ...Who is tall or fat (than me) very uncomfortable.But benefit the place is in the heart of London and the price cheap....

Reviewed by
M Eles

From Sevenoaks, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, cheap place to stay in the city
Only stayed here a night, but the room was pretty good. Hostel was a little loud, but ideal for anyone staying a bit longer and looking to meet some interesting people. Room was clean, bathrooms/showers were fine, all round pretty good. Located in a really nice, central area of london, two minutes from the tube and easy to find!

Reviewed by
Caithan M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
It's a decent hostel in a nice area. Facilities, room, beds are clean. Staff are polite. Breakfast includes coffee, toasts, and cereal.
Overall, the place is much more than acceptable and for the price it's definitely worth it.

Reviewed by
Juan R

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Take the Good with the Bad
Didn't really expect much for the price, but it was pretty decent. The breakfast consisted of toast and cornflakes and the room was clean but cramped. I was fine with the size of the bed and found it quite comfy, but my male friends who also stayed complained about the length. However, I myself did find the height of the bunk bed daunting with the narrow ladder as the bars around the bed were infront of the ladders exit, requiring me to roll through the bottom bar and top. One of the few grunts I had about the hostel was the staff, as polite and friendly as they were, they didn't seem to know anything about the service they were providing and never answered any of my questions. For example, all my group was booked together, but five of us were put together and one girl on her own. When we asked if we could all be in the same room, or to seperate us so she wasnt on her own, they just replied with 'no' and refused to give an answer as to why. Seeing as her room was empty, and our room only had us and two other people, we really did wonder why. We wern't really too bothered about this problem but it was a simple request and felt they were being evasive with us. Overall the clean sheets, clean toilets, good prices (including the vending machines), facilites, good location and provided breakfast more than made up for the service, confusing winding corridors and signs in the basement and the hot cramped bedrooms, and truly encourages you take the good with the bad and just enjoy yourself.

Reviewed by
Nikola T

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well located. Needs more plugs
This hostel is really well located, Russell Square tube is less than 5mins walk. Euston station 20min walk. Really good bars and restaurants all nearby and only 20mins to the Westend on tube.
The 2 drawbacks are the lack of plug sockets, only 2 in a room for 9 people so I had to sit in the common room each night waitng for my phone to charge. Also, the bed was too short. I'm 6'5" and had to sleep in the foetal position pretty much. If you're under 6' you won't have a problem.
As I say these were my only to gripes, I liked my stay here and will definitely stay here again when I visit That London.

Reviewed by
J Hunt

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does the job, but not great
Stayed here for 2 nights, wasn't hugely impressed - the beds are short(1.8M long I'd guess), so many in my room were sleeping with their legs off the side of the bed. Overall I probably would avoid this but for the price and the short notice it did the job. The showers were terrible - you to hold down the button for the water to come out. Breakfast was just bread and jam, or basic cereal.

Reviewed by
Duncan E

From Auckland, New Zealand
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next