Smart Russell Square

2

71-72 Guilford Street, London, WC1N 1DF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (57)

68% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Brian Jones

  • November 2013

Legal documentation requirements.

having attended the property I was asked to pay a cash payment of £10:00 as security!!!!.

working on a VERY Tight budget the only spare cash I had was for food and transport to my evening location. As a consequence I left without staying..... NO previous mention had been made of bond payment. I was also requested to show my passport I should point out that it is not a legal requirement to own a passport or a driving licence to live in the UK this was another factor not raised in the booking process.

  • D Robertson

  • November 2013

Russell Square Hostel - Nov 2013

Couldn't fault the hostel team.

I had to make a change to my booking and they couldn't have been more helpful/ easy to deal with and proactive in helping me check a bit I'd got wrong. Hostel is very close to Russel Square station - very convenient - enter at 70 - not well signed and work going on to the entrance but I just called the number and staff were very attentive and came to the door to direct me in when I was lost. As other reviewers have mentioned, there is no bedlinen on the beds - you are given/have to make your own which is a struggle if you are on the top bunk and a challenge if the person below is already in bed but it did meant you knew that the linen you were sleeping in was always fresh. No so sure about the duvet which was not changed…… There's a deposit to pay for the linen which you do get back on check out so long as you return the linen but would have been good to know that upfront - luckily I had enough cash on me. Beds all have a little curtain around the bunks so there is some privacy but there's no individual lights so you can be a long time waiting for someone to switch the main lights off. Very busy hostel and much nosier than others I've been in - a few lads partying in the room next door till 3am. Breakfast was very basic but adequate - self service coffee/tea, cereal and as much toast as you can make. Stops at 9.30 and everything is taken away. If you have already handed in your bedlinen and key you'll need to ask the team to let you back in to the loos but they did - so all fine. Would go back.

  • Gary Ledsham

  • November 2013

Free Wifi?????

They advertise FREE WIFI but infact you only get halfb an hour then you pay for each half an hour there after which soon adds up!!.

Break fast was Tesco calue cornflakes, value bread, value tea bags, If you don't like value range, or cornflakes or white bread (No browned offered) you make your own. Too few electric sockets available, uncomfortable seats in the common rooms and badly positioned TV's. Could be much better with some thourght

  • John S

  • November 2013

Bad, but not terrible

Getting a good hostel in London for the right price is very difficult.

However when I saw the Smart Russell Square hostel with a cheap price I plumped for this as I was working up the road in King's Cross for the week. Whilst the bed was clean and fresh sheets were provided I was not overly happy with the cleanliness of accommodation. The floor in the hostel room was littered with bags and suitcases of other guests due to the need to pay for a locker. This obviously impacted on the ability to clean the floor which appeared grubby. The tap in the room worked fine until the water turned a dirty brown colour and no explanation was given regarding this. The bathroom was also a cause for concern. Often there would be urine or hair left on the seat or the surrounding floor and guests would often shave in the sinks and not wash away their hair which was, for lack of a better word, appalling. The shower room was also not very attractive to look at and resembled that of a swimming pool from the 1980's. Dirt would often be on the floor along with the wet footprints of the other guests. The room was often warm due to the number of bodies cramped in, whilst this was not unexpected the size of the room left me confused as to how 16 bodies were crammed in. Other hostels I have stayed in have had large rooms for 16 guests rather than the small offering in this accommodation. As such privacy was at a premium and whilst the curtains were a good touch it did not stop the girl in the bed below me from seeing me change boxers one morning and likewise I also saw females changing whilst I was putting on my shoes or doing up my belt. Overall the hostel was cheap and the quality I got was a bit less than I desired, the staff were all friendly and helpful and the area where the hostel is serviced is on the Piccadilly Line and makes it easy to venture into areas in the centre of London as well as making it easy to connect with King's Cross and other areas such as Camden and Hammersmith.

  • C Colucci

  • November 2013

Inconvenient and run down

Renovation workers were everywhere, from hallways to kitchen Showers and facilities were in a basement, miles from the room, and you had to walk through corridors, stairs and more corridors and more stairs to get to them Had a very cold and unfriendly feel to the place, that I ended up not staying there for the night and sleeping on my friends sofa.

Never done that before in my life with accommodation I've paid for!

  • Tina F

  • October 2013

Excellent place

I must admit, I did find it hard to find to begin with.

I spent almost an hour walking up and down the street asking people if they knew where it was. I would recommend they have a name outside to tell visitors/guests where they are. Apart from that, I thought it was great. I was greeted almost right away by the staff with a smile, and they were polite and friendly, telling me all I needed to know before giving me the room's keycard and fresh bed linen. I was only there for one night as I was seeing friends and didn't want to pay extra for a midnight train home. On such short notice from my friends, I was glad to find a place so cheap, and I knew I would only be using it to sleep and wouldn't be spending a lot of time in there. I was staying in a 6 female dorm, but only saw two of my fellow guests whilst I was there, but both were very nice people. The room was quiet, and, I got the bottom bunk that I had hoped for, as due to problems in my hips and back (and a fear of heights), I didn't want a top bunk. The blackout curtains on the bed were a nice touch for privacy, and for blocking out any excess light. My only minor problem was the heat. It had been a long journey from seeing my friends to the hostel, and I was still sweating on waking up briefly at 4am, even though I had fallen asleep on top of the bedcovers. But I assumed with 5 other people in the room, body heat from elsewhere could have been a factor. I didn't use the showers or have breakfast, as I was in a rush to get to Paddington for my train home the next day, so I can't comment on those, but in all, it was an enjoyable stay, and I would recommend it if anyone else is considering a stay. Just try not to get lost when looking for it.

  • Kim T

  • October 2013

smart russel value for money

i was only there for a few days and you get what you pay for it was clean and tidey neare maine area of London what more could you ask for and you felt safe all the doors where lock an they cheacked you where ment to be there at night so know one could wonder in and for what it cost me for 2 nights you couldn't get a night in a hotel for that fror me it was just a place to sleep if you want more go to a hotel not here .

  • Rhiannon D

  • September 2013

Not comfortable

The saying "You get what you pay for" is very true for this place.

If you're taller than 5'6", or have difficulty climbing, avoid like hell. The bunks have foot and head boards. unsuitable for a tall person, and they are tripple bunks, so if you're the last to arrive at your room, you've got a climb. The staff are surly and uninterested. In fairness, the place was clean but it's clearly had better days (there was work going on during my stay). All loos are mixed (even when there are two bathrooms adjacent!) which was a bit disconcerting, and the showers are again very basic. All in all I didn't have a comfortable stay and I think next time I'll pay more to go to a proper hotel and not the cheap as chips but basic hostel.

  • V Roberts

  • September 2013

You get what you pay for

I decided to try out this hostel following a work social event as it was cheaper than paying for a train ticket home.

I paid for a single bed in shared 18 person dormitory. Baring in mind how cheap it was to stay there I did not expect much. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I could find no fault with them at all. Unfortunately I did have some issues with the room itself. I arrived after 10pm and it appeared all the bottom and mid bunk beds were taken. I was orginally given a top bunk bed which is approximately 10ft off the ground and I have a fear of heights which wasn't ideal. Eventually I was given a mid bunk bed which was better, however there was damp bed linen in the duvet that hadn't been removed, but you are given fresh sheets and a disposable pillow case when you arrive, so this was easily rectified. The room was quite messy given there were 17 other people staying in the room. The mid bunk bed felt enclosed and small, I am just under 6ft so it was a little tight. I also couldn't sit up properly in bed as the ceiling was very low. It was quite noisy throughout the night, so I didn't get much sleep and it did get quite stuffy in the room even with a fan and window open. I left very early in the morning and did not use any of the facilities or have any of the breakfast. I think next time I have a social event in London I will just be paying for a train ticket home rather than stay over.

  • A Donisthorpe

  • September 2013

hostel review

The hostel had a friendly feel and was in a nice area which with easy access to the London tube lines.

The bed was a good size and gave a good amount of privacy and security with lockers under the beds.