You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - De Vere Venues Ponsbourne Park

4

New Park Road Newgate Street Village, Nr. Hertford, Herts, SG13 8QT

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (34)

74% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • B Smith

  • July 2016

De Vere Venues Ponsbourne Park

A pleasant experience, the quiet location and beautiful grounds made all the difference.

The staff were very accommodating and helpful.

  • k smith

  • April 2016

Great hotel, good price, friendly staff.

Booked this hotel last minute.

Very pleased with room, clean, and spacious. Staff friendly and welcoming. Good with kids. Plenty of parking spaces. Will definitely stay again and highly recommend. Good last minute price.

  • Malcolm Smith

  • March 2016

De Vere Venues Ponsbourne Park

Staff were very welcoming and friendly.

  • Peter Bryant

  • March 2016

Room with a view

We were going to a family event in Hoddesdon, and wanted to stay nearby, I had seen Ponsbourne park on my travels and thought I would like to stay there.

We were not disapointed, we had a lovely big room on the first floor with great views; and a very comfortable bed . We decided to dine in the Bistro in the evening and the food was very good, the breakfast was also very good with a great choice.

  • H Davies

  • February 2016

Enjoyable stay

We stayed for Valentines weekend and overall enjoyed the hotel.

The staff were friendly and the (superior ) room in main house fine, very clean and a good bathroom. We were originally booked in annexe which doesn't look very attractive and was pleased we'd requested beforehand the main house. The grounds are lovely and the house attractive but not so nice from the main entrance side which is a little spoiled by the row of offices facing the house. The breakfast was excellent, the Bistro average and a bit pricey, the main restaurant good but again pricey for the quality of food. Overall a good place to stay.

  • A Buckle

  • December 2015

I loved my stay at this hotel, didn't arrive until 10pm and the receptionist was so friendly.

The room was a very nice size, the surrounding area is lovely and even inside the hotel is such a nice looking, relaxing place to be.

  • D Barrow

  • November 2015

Great base for London

If you are thinking of a London break consider this hotel.

Nestled away five miles outside Potters Bar in beautiful countryside you would be excused for forgetting Potters Bar is only 16 minutes away from central London on one of the fast trains. Great hotel, attentive staff and a stay I could not fault!

  • D Russell

  • November 2015

Nice little country escape

This is a lovely old house set in some substantial grounds, the room (in the main house) was wonderful, old world straight out of Downton Abbey, spacious and comfortable.

Sadly there was a wedding on and the noise from below was impressive, but the TV volume took care of most of that, and there's the usual inconsiderate people banging and crashing around but that seems to be the way with people these days. Oh we didn't bother with breakfast at £15/person that's not reasonable, they did offer a discount once you've booked but it's still £10/person. The Bistro was small but nice, sadly they only had Sky sports on the TV which is a shame for a bistro not everyone is incapable of thought.

  • Sara S

  • November 2015

Wow factor

Really amazing experience, room was huge and we were made to feel very welcome as a family.

The children were told on arrival that we had a good size room and that they would have plenty of space to play in and that was very true!

  • B Baker

  • September 2015

Disappointed!!!

On arrival (Sunday @ 1400hrs) the drive down the lane to the hotel was lovely.

When we reached the car park we found it was full, as there was a wedding going on. We saw a sign - all be it pushed half over - to direct us to the over flow car park. Further on up the lane we found no more signs so we were confused as to where to park. We drove back down to the hotel to be advised by 2 members of staff that it was in the car park of the training block on the right. Twice more we went back up the lane and still found no signage for the training block just a car parked signed " the stables" and nothing mentioning hotel over flow. So once more we came back down and left the car on the road. At reception we checked in and asked again about parking - the receptionist said "It's up by the training block" We told the receptionist we could only find the stables to then be told - "oh yes they changed the name!!!"

This was our first impression of this "4 star hotel"!!. The room we had been allocated was 116 and we were advised that due to the wedding venue being directly underneath they would put us further away in 120. Only to find later that night that half the wedding guests were staying in the same corridor so we were woken untold times with every door bang until gone 0030hrs. Again we were woken at 0250hrs to someone hammering or banging below us and again at 0600hrs with staff in and out of a creaky door in the Bistro below. The room itself was lovely and clean with a really comfy bed but ....there was a stain on the carpet just outside the bathroom, a large cob out of the bedside table and a cheap and tacky blue blanket on the bed. In the bathroom There was a cracked floor tile, a wall tile broken next to the bath and the ceiling was stained from a possible previous leak.

We were due to meet friends in the bar area (not very big for the size of hotel only approx 12 seats) but found this full of the wedding guests and were told there was no other lounge area for guests to relax. We made our way to the Bistro. We had an enjoyable meal here and this was made all the better being served by a lovely waiter called Dan. Breakfast was also enjoyable with a variety of choice. We chose this hotel initially as we felt it was different from your run of the mill hotels. All the issues we had were minor but it's the little things and attention to detail that makes all the difference. Overall we found the staff very friendly but the building was very tired and dated. With the money we paid and our expectations It left us feeling very disappointed.. Sorry!