No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Market Ale House

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
17 YORK WAY , LONDON, N7 9QG
The New Market House is a privately run Bed & Breakfast in Camden Town, North London, within easy reach of King’s Cross St Pancras and London St Pancras International Rail Stations. We offer guests a variety of brand new rooms, all clean, comfortable and affordable.

Below the hotel is the Newmarket Ale Public House and Restaurant, which offers live music and entertainment, including salsa and merengue classes. A snooker table is also available. The restaurant offers a variety of cuisines, including traditional Brazilian food, and provides a relaxed, comfortable environment in which to unwind.

We look forward to welcoming you to The New Market House.
Picture of New Market Ale House, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 107 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprisingly okay accommodation just a shame the bathroom and tea and coffee facilties were on the landing!!!

Reviewed by
B evans

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine for the price
Clean and pleasant accommodation and staff helpful. Bad points were shower not working properly, either scalding hot nor stone cold with a strange array of two sets of shower heads, and TV digital reception not working. Food nice and breakfast was a good spread.

Reviewed by
Kai B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy
Nice breakfast, small and basic room but catered for what I needed. Only downside was that it was extremely noisy - there were guests running up and down the stairs until 4am, shouting and being generally very noisy, and it was disappointing that no one from the hotel asked them to be quiet. I had a very important interview the next say which proved to be quite difficult on 3 hours sleep! If this kind of noise is the norm, I wouldn't recommend staying here if you have anything important to do the next day!

Reviewed by
Catherine O

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Indie Daze sleepover!
We needed somewhere pretty central to stay as we were attending a gig in Kentish Town. We were probably a mile away maximum. The welcome was prompt, we had everything explained clearly to us and made our way to the room. The lower stairs were a little steep but manageable to this 47 year old!. Our room was a twin, it wasn't cramped & had an en suite bathroom. The shower was a bit of a squeeze but I am 6'6'' so wont complain about that. After an all day music event all we wanted was somewhere local to stay. The room was clean & the bed comfy. The breakfast was Continental but there was lots of variety & we ate well. There was a Female staff member on hand who was only too pleased to assist if necessary. Would liked to have had time for a few drinks in the bar as it looked friendly & welcoming, but time was against us.

Reviewed by
r ferrone

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and friendly
A small room, but clean, Brazilian food in the pub is interesting, continental breakfast OK. The street was noisy, but it's London... The only real downside was uncomfortable foam pillows. Friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Gavin S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The live music was very good and finished in good time - we were worried it may go on late and keep us awake!
More suitable for backpackers/students than retired couples!

Reviewed by
Kathryn D

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
Upon arrival, staff were exceptionally polte and helpful.
Was shown how to work the doors and what entrance to use
Good location for what we wanted.
If going egg and need a place to stay this is about 5 min walk on the same road!

Reviewed by
Michael B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleased with our stay!
Clean, safe, secure, good location very close to Camden Town, the room was a little on the small side. Bathroom is clean and modern, room is basic but very comfortable! Was a little noisy from the road works outside but obviously not the hotel's fault and only a temporary thing! Will stay here again next time we find ourselves in Camden Town!

Reviewed by
Rachel B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Interesting and Pleasant
From the outside I was not sure of the inside but was pleasantly impressed with service, food and accommodation. Only one complaint, TV is too high for viewing.

Reviewed by
Philip King

From Lichfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really different from usual b&b, with simple and clean room. Food served in pub below great-Brazilian, Caribbean or usual stuff. Made a refreshing change

Reviewed by
Rebecca P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next