Reviews - New Market Ale House

2

17 YORK WAY, LONDON, N7 9QG

Price From 184.64 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (85)

69% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • David Hall

  • August 2015

over priced bedsit

The room was not in the pub but a mid terrace further down the road and was really a house that had been flats that has been badly converted to bedrooms with shared facilities and ineffective double glazing allowing all the traffic noise in.

I left at early hours as it was impossible to sleep with the traffic noise and the continual coming and going of other people on the stairs (The front door didn't seem to ever be closed properly). I never normally leave reviews but this has to be the worst place I have ever stayed.

  • Katie J

  • August 2015

New Ale House is in a quiet residential area.

It has free on street parking on the weekends and is within walking distance of Camden. The rooms are very simple but clean and welcoming. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a simple continental breakfast but to be included in a reasonable price made it worth it.

  • Amber R

  • August 2015

Nice pub with basic but affordable rooms

Very friendly staff - really nice meal in the bar.

Room was clean and quite a good size - a bit noisy as on the intersection of two roads but pretty cheap for London.

  • M Henderson

  • June 2015

New Market Ale House

Basic accommodation but clean and comfortable.

Friendly staff.

  • T Wilby

  • June 2015

Compact, cheap & cheerful in good spot

Booked two consecutive nights on different occasions so had two different rooms, suite on the first night and shared bathroom room on the top floor on the second.

Both small rooms but clean and functional, shower rooms in both cases are as wide as the shower tray so very cosy. The rooms maybe small but there's space to lounge on the sofas in the seating area outside the bedrooms and a kitchen, in both our cases 2 rooms share facilities. The nearest tube is a fairly short walk away and it's a fairly leafy, quieter part of London despite not being too far from the hustle and bustle. Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was simple but perfectly adequate start to the day and I would have liked to had time to eat there - it's a nice bar area too. Would definitely stay again.

  • Jean M

  • May 2015

fine

comfortable stay

  • R Neal

  • April 2015

Bit rough....

Last time I slept in a bed like this was the dormitory at boarding school.

However it was clean, as was the bathroom, there was hot water, and I suppose it is a budget "hotel".

  • Oddvar Larsen

  • March 2015

A good two star

It's a two star accomidation but with clean rooms and nice staff.

  • jessica h

  • March 2015

Perfectly acceptable room above a pub

Went to a gig at Kentish Town Forum and three of us needed somewhere to crash.

Basic is the only way to describe this place - the beds are more like camping cots, the wardrobe has no doors. Roughly the standard of a private room in a hostel but £80 for three of us with an en-suite shower. I can't, and indeed didn't, complain.

  • Chris Green

  • March 2015

awful hotel

We arrived at the hotel having booked our stay several months before.

All the downstairs is being refurbished, which ordinarily wouldn't have been too much of a problem. However, as soon as we entered, it was obvious that part of this area was to be used for serving breakfast. The duvet (if you can call it that) didn't cover me (only 5'7") (possibly made for vertically challenged) and one spent the night with either cold shoulders or cold feet. We went down to breakfast the following morning (following our lukewarm showers) to be greeted with the other guests in coats to guard against the cold, I returned to our room to get some extra layers. We weren't surprised to find our second day mirrored the first except for a reduced selection for breakfast, and a colder shower than the previous day. On departure I asked at "reception" if there would be some sort of reduction to the bill due to the state of the facilities and no notification. However, I was advised we could have a discount the next time we booked. You can't fault some people for their optimism I suppose.