No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Market Ale House

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
17 YORK WAY , LONDON, N7 9QG
The New Market House is a privately run Bed & Breakfast in Camden Town, North London, within easy reach of King’s Cross St Pancras and London St Pancras International Rail Stations. We offer guests a variety of brand new rooms, all clean, comfortable and affordable.

Below the hotel is the Newmarket Ale Public House and Restaurant, which offers live music and entertainment, including salsa and merengue classes. A snooker table is also available. The restaurant offers a variety of cuisines, including traditional Brazilian food, and provides a relaxed, comfortable environment in which to unwind.

We look forward to welcoming you to The New Market House.
Picture of New Market Ale House, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 104 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thin Walls
We enjoyed our stay - perfect for a weekend away although we found the bathroom to be very small and the walls very thin!
Not recommended for light sleepers but staff were very friendly.
20 minute walk from Camden market.

Reviewed by
C Lune

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value room but food and drinks overpriced
Booked as a cheaper second night whilst working in Central London. Room had a double bed but bathroom was tiny as build into corner of room. They specialise in Brazilian and Caribbean foods but not all options were available as chef leaving and another undergoing training. Food was reasonable but very overpriced as was wine and drinks. Meal for 1 with bottle of wine and 1 pint Pironni cost over £45. It would have been over £50 but I declined to pat a 12.5% service charge which was not mentioned in menu. Gave waitress £2 tip instead.
Location not bad as 10 minute walk from Kings Cross station, but not much choice of other places to eat/drink nearby.

Reviewed by
Ian W

From Belper, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

" N.M nAles it"
Found this Hotel was logistically situated to all public transport, the staff and management were very hospitable and accommodating and the food was excellent. I would be coming back when next in London.

Reviewed by
Tony B

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Functional accommodation for business travel
Room was clean although a little small. Easy to locate from St Pancras station, approximately 20 minute walk. Suitable for business travel and overnight stays, for anything longer would prefer a bit more space.

Reviewed by
Simon C

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fair accomodation, poor area.
The accommodation is rather like a small two bed apartment. My room was compact but had a comfy double bed, wardrobe and TV (which didn't work). There was another bedroom next door but as far I could tell this was empty for the night I stayed there so I had the whole place to myself. There is a kitchen/diner area with fridge, oven, washing machine, kettle, crockery, utensils etc and the shower room is off of here. For £50 it was great! BUT...don't be fooled into thinking this is Camden. It's not. I went to Caledonian Road tube and it's a good 10-15 minute walk. The entrance to the apartments are next to the pub and by a tyre shop. Aside from the pub, which is clearly a local blokes place, there is nowhere within a 10 minute walk to eat. I've lived, worked and stayed in London for years and this is the first time in quite a while that I felt unsafe as a girl on my own. For that reason I wouldn't come back.

Reviewed by
A Jenkins

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic small room, we only stayed over night before catching a train from St Pancras, breakfast was ok.

Reviewed by
L R

From England
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The only ale house not to serve beer...
The location is great, just a 20min walk from Camden tube station this Ale House is very handy. That's about where the positives end. Although for London, it's relatively cheap that doesn't mean I can put up with a dusty room and one of the most uncomfortable beds I've slept in. The bedroom was also on a slant (a risk you take staying in an old building) that along with the bed made me feel like I was sliding out of bed.
The staff were friendly and the reception is open 24 hours, even if the ale house seems to be closed all the time. We didn't try the continental breakfast as we wanted to catch up on our sleep due to the dusty room and uncomfortable bed.
It would have been nice to have tried a beer from their selection but the pub had closed after we returned at 10pm. I won't be returning.

Reviewed by
jenny howe

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value for money a short distance from King's Cross/St Pancras stations
(see title) modest but excellent value accomodation

Reviewed by
Nathan F

From USA
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprisingly okay accommodation just a shame the bathroom and tea and coffee facilties were on the landing!!!

Reviewed by
B evans

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine for the price
Clean and pleasant accommodation and staff helpful. Bad points were shower not working properly, either scalding hot nor stone cold with a strange array of two sets of shower heads, and TV digital reception not working. Food nice and breakfast was a good spread.

Reviewed by
Kai B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next