No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Market Ale House

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
17 YORK WAY , LONDON, N7 9QG
The New Market House is a privately run Bed & Breakfast in Camden Town, North London, within easy reach of King’s Cross St Pancras and London St Pancras International Rail Stations. We offer guests a variety of brand new rooms, all clean, comfortable and affordable.

We look forward to welcoming you to The New Market House.
Picture of New Market Ale House, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 98 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An experience
The price we paid for the room was below London rates and it showed. The room was an old converted flats with thin walls which meant we had an unpleasant 5am wake up call from the couple next door. The tiles in the bathroom fell off the way and one of the pillows had someone else's blood on. The staff were lovely but I doubt we would stay there again

Reviewed by
D Williams

From Cardiff Bay, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Little Hotel For Overnight Stay
We stayed overnight during a mini break and it was ideal.
The pub was undergoing refurbishment so shows great potential.
Room was a little small but had some nice finishing touches.
Staff were really helpful and chatty.
Short walk to tube at Caledonian Road.

Reviewed by
Mark K

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden between Kings X and Camden
Quite OK stay, funny moment when arriving as words rum and room got mixed up. Brazilians were more eager to offer me dark rum than "habitacion". A bit noisy but the band stopped playing quite early. Shared bathroom is far from the room(s), between floors. Looks like they're gradually renovating the whole place so it's kind of mixed bag. Would probably stay again, seemed a fun place. Location is a bit off putting (20 min walk from Kings Cross) and there's not much anything nearby. Affordable.

Reviewed by
Sampo A

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thin Walls
We enjoyed our stay - perfect for a weekend away although we found the bathroom to be very small and the walls very thin!
Not recommended for light sleepers but staff were very friendly.
20 minute walk from Camden market.

Reviewed by
C Lune

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointing
When we got to our room I was horrified to see I had paid £130 for three CAMP BEDS, not proper beds. These beds were so bad that during the night I turned over in my sleep and the bed tipped over and dumped me on the floor.
The room was on the corner of the building and had three big sash windows. Two of which were broken and did not shut properly so we had to sleep in drafts and with the noise of London coming in through the window all night (London does not sleep!)
The carpet was full of holes, patches and what looked to be burn marks too. The solitary wardrobe unit had no doors, it was broken and cracked in places and would just about fit one persons belongings, nowhere near three.
When it came to using the shower, you took your life in your own hands. There were two showers in the shower cubicle. One did not work at all and the other one scalded you with boiling hot water for five minutes and then turned to ice cold water and there was no happy medium. The bath room was so small you would not reach the sink due to the shower cubicle being in the way.
The air vent in the bathroom was broken. The cover was hanging off and it was covered in dust.
The light in the room was of a design which had multiple light bulbs, or rather it was supposed to. There were a few missing and we noticed that on most of the light fittings throughout the hotel, there were bulbs missing on nearly every one.
Breakfast was a “Continental Breakfast” which consisted of plastic processed cheese and ham, small pastries, cereal and yoghurts. The coffee pot had been left on the hot plate for too long it had stewed and tasted awful although a second pot was brought out and as it was fresh it wasn’t as bad.
When I complained at check out about the state of the room, one member of staff tried to make the shower problem my fault as I didn’t go and see them and say anything straight away. It was only when I explained it was that morning and I had been covered in soap and not able to rinse it off to come down and complain that they listened to me. I explained that I was really unsatisfied and I was not happy with the money I had paid for the room. I was told that I would need to speak to the manager who was in the next day, they took my number and said I would be called the next day (Monday).
Monday came and went with no phone call so I gave them some time and then Tuesday came and went with no call so I phone them. I was told the manager was not in and to call the next day. I called on Wednesday, the manager was not in call the next day. I phone on the Thursday and was told once again the manager was not in and it was only when I said I was phoning with regard to a complaint that the person on the phone sat up and took notice and dealt with things themselves. Eventually I was given a £50 refund, it was the best I was going to get from them but I do think I should have been given more of a refund as the hotel room and general experience had been so bad. The only thing I can say is that the person I spoke to on the Thursday who arranged for the refund was very helpful and sorted out the refund quite quickly.
The only thing I can say is that the person I spoke to on the Thursday who arranged for the refund was very helpful and sorted out the refund quite quickly.

Reviewed by
Jennifer G

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value room but food and drinks overpriced
Booked as a cheaper second night whilst working in Central London. Room had a double bed but bathroom was tiny as build into corner of room. They specialise in Brazilian and Caribbean foods but not all options were available as chef leaving and another undergoing training. Food was reasonable but very overpriced as was wine and drinks. Meal for 1 with bottle of wine and 1 pint Pironni cost over £45. It would have been over £50 but I declined to pat a 12.5% service charge which was not mentioned in menu. Gave waitress £2 tip instead.
Location not bad as 10 minute walk from Kings Cross station, but not much choice of other places to eat/drink nearby.

Reviewed by
Ian W

From Belper, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

" N.M nAles it"
Found this Hotel was logistically situated to all public transport, the staff and management were very hospitable and accommodating and the food was excellent. I would be coming back when next in London.

Reviewed by
Tony B

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Functional accommodation for business travel
Room was clean although a little small. Easy to locate from St Pancras station, approximately 20 minute walk. Suitable for business travel and overnight stays, for anything longer would prefer a bit more space.

Reviewed by
Simon C

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fair accomodation, poor area.
The accommodation is rather like a small two bed apartment. My room was compact but had a comfy double bed, wardrobe and TV (which didn't work). There was another bedroom next door but as far I could tell this was empty for the night I stayed there so I had the whole place to myself. There is a kitchen/diner area with fridge, oven, washing machine, kettle, crockery, utensils etc and the shower room is off of here. For £50 it was great! BUT...don't be fooled into thinking this is Camden. It's not. I went to Caledonian Road tube and it's a good 10-15 minute walk. The entrance to the apartments are next to the pub and by a tyre shop. Aside from the pub, which is clearly a local blokes place, there is nowhere within a 10 minute walk to eat. I've lived, worked and stayed in London for years and this is the first time in quite a while that I felt unsafe as a girl on my own. For that reason I wouldn't come back.

Reviewed by
A Jenkins

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic small room, we only stayed over night before catching a train from St Pancras, breakfast was ok.

Reviewed by
L R

From England
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next