No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Market Ale House

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
17 YORK WAY , LONDON, N7 9QG
The New Market House is a privately run Bed & Breakfast in Camden Town, North London, within easy reach of King’s Cross St Pancras and London St Pancras International Rail Stations. We offer guests a variety of brand new rooms, all clean, comfortable and affordable.

Below the hotel is the Newmarket Ale Public House and Restaurant, which offers live music and entertainment, including salsa and merengue classes. A snooker table is also available. The restaurant offers a variety of cuisines, including traditional Brazilian food, and provides a relaxed, comfortable environment in which to unwind.

We look forward to welcoming you to The New Market House.
Picture of New Market Ale House, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 101 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fair accomodation, poor area.
The accommodation is rather like a small two bed apartment. My room was compact but had a comfy double bed, wardrobe and TV (which didn't work). There was another bedroom next door but as far I could tell this was empty for the night I stayed there so I had the whole place to myself. There is a kitchen/diner area with fridge, oven, washing machine, kettle, crockery, utensils etc and the shower room is off of here. For £50 it was great! BUT...don't be fooled into thinking this is Camden. It's not. I went to Caledonian Road tube and it's a good 10-15 minute walk. The entrance to the apartments are next to the pub and by a tyre shop. Aside from the pub, which is clearly a local blokes place, there is nowhere within a 10 minute walk to eat. I've lived, worked and stayed in London for years and this is the first time in quite a while that I felt unsafe as a girl on my own. For that reason I wouldn't come back.

Reviewed by
A Jenkins

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic small room, we only stayed over night before catching a train from St Pancras, breakfast was ok.

Reviewed by
L R

From England
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The only ale house not to serve beer...
The location is great, just a 20min walk from Camden tube station this Ale House is very handy. That's about where the positives end. Although for London, it's relatively cheap that doesn't mean I can put up with a dusty room and one of the most uncomfortable beds I've slept in. The bedroom was also on a slant (a risk you take staying in an old building) that along with the bed made me feel like I was sliding out of bed.
The staff were friendly and the reception is open 24 hours, even if the ale house seems to be closed all the time. We didn't try the continental breakfast as we wanted to catch up on our sleep due to the dusty room and uncomfortable bed.
It would have been nice to have tried a beer from their selection but the pub had closed after we returned at 10pm. I won't be returning.

Reviewed by
jenny howe

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value for money a short distance from King's Cross/St Pancras stations
(see title) modest but excellent value accomodation

Reviewed by
Nathan F

From USA
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprisingly okay accommodation just a shame the bathroom and tea and coffee facilties were on the landing!!!

Reviewed by
B evans

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine for the price
Clean and pleasant accommodation and staff helpful. Bad points were shower not working properly, either scalding hot nor stone cold with a strange array of two sets of shower heads, and TV digital reception not working. Food nice and breakfast was a good spread.

Reviewed by
Kai B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy
Nice breakfast, small and basic room but catered for what I needed. Only downside was that it was extremely noisy - there were guests running up and down the stairs until 4am, shouting and being generally very noisy, and it was disappointing that no one from the hotel asked them to be quiet. I had a very important interview the next say which proved to be quite difficult on 3 hours sleep! If this kind of noise is the norm, I wouldn't recommend staying here if you have anything important to do the next day!

Reviewed by
Catherine O

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Indie Daze sleepover!
We needed somewhere pretty central to stay as we were attending a gig in Kentish Town. We were probably a mile away maximum. The welcome was prompt, we had everything explained clearly to us and made our way to the room. The lower stairs were a little steep but manageable to this 47 year old!. Our room was a twin, it wasn't cramped & had an en suite bathroom. The shower was a bit of a squeeze but I am 6'6'' so wont complain about that. After an all day music event all we wanted was somewhere local to stay. The room was clean & the bed comfy. The breakfast was Continental but there was lots of variety & we ate well. There was a Female staff member on hand who was only too pleased to assist if necessary. Would liked to have had time for a few drinks in the bar as it looked friendly & welcoming, but time was against us.

Reviewed by
r ferrone

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and friendly
A small room, but clean, Brazilian food in the pub is interesting, continental breakfast OK. The street was noisy, but it's London... The only real downside was uncomfortable foam pillows. Friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Gavin S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The live music was very good and finished in good time - we were worried it may go on late and keep us awake!
More suitable for backpackers/students than retired couples!

Reviewed by
Kathryn D

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next