No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Garden Lodge Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
42 Sollershott East, , , Letchworth, SG6 3JW
Garden Lodge Hotel re-opened in April 2009 after an extensive refurbishment; our accommodation consists of 12 comfortable and well-appointed single, double, twin and family rooms - perfect for an overnight stop or a longer stay. All rooms have en-suite bathroom and/or shower, remote control TV and complimentary tray with tea and coffee making facilities. FREE WiFi The Garden Lodge Hotel is perfect for an overnight stop or a longer stay, offering comfortable and well-appointed rooms. The comfortable reception area and fully licensed bar is available to both residents and diners. We stock bottled and draught beer and a wide selection of wines, spirits and soft drinks, not forgetting a full range of cocktails. Situated adjacent to the A505 between Hitchin and Baldock, our restaurant is set in very picturesque surroundings, beyond a wide green. There is ample parking both on road and in our private car park. Our location is ideal for smaller functions, seminars, celebration dinners and wedding receptions. We have a meeting room for up to 24 people and a restaurant serving Indian cuisine that can comfortably accommodate 60 covers.
Picture of Garden Lodge Hotel, Letchworth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
25% recommended this accommodation to a friend 35% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Garden Lodge - not pretty
Adequate for the price. Single glazed windows with severe rot In the frames not pretty. Needs a lot of tlc to make it a more pleasant environment to stay in. Consists of 9 rooms above an Indian restuarant.

Reviewed by
Alex R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I would not recommend staying here
The rooms are basic and covered in damp, damage, stains etc. They have been cleaned, but are very old and in disrepair. That said, we only needed a bed for the night, so it did the job.

Reviewed by
Katherine B

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Normally I don't bother with review, but for Room 4 - Avoid at all costs.
Don't get room 4, it is directly above the kitchen of the restaurant, and has an large oven fine extraction unit coming through the cupboards in the room and across the outside windows, the windows are nailed shut and the room temperature was 35 degrees + all week. The taps are plumbed incorrect so you burn yourself in the cold tap, and the shower doesn't work. The towels were not changed in a week. Other than that it was ok.

Reviewed by
J Joyce

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic
I sayed in room 9 a single bedroom looking onto the front green - a lovely view. My room was very dusty - skirting and plug sockets had a think layer of dust. The wall was damaged where the handle had been pushed into it - an easy job to fill and paint over. The main ceiling light had no share on it - just an energy saving bulb hanging. On the positives the sheets were clean and the bathroom facilities were clean enough - if they hadn't been I would have been tempted to refuse to stay and get my money back! I only saw the member of staff to check in as I did not have breakfast so I was unable to put this feedback direct to them.

Reviewed by
A Shankland

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
As in subject. Good value for money, nothing less, nothing more.

Reviewed by
Pawel D

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap, but In need of update
Staff accommodating and friendly and restaurant facilities, including food, excellent.
However, state of rooms/car park/rear garden leave a lot to be desired and off-putting on arrival - litter/old furniture etc /rotting window frames and then items tired/broken/in need of repair in room.
Bed clean and very comfortable though
Apparently used by Builders in the week as cheap accommodation and fine for this purpose..... but not for general public for weekend leisure.
Total shame as could be fabulous if hotel side invested in - as it is, fine if you just want a roof over your head.

Reviewed by
L Fox

From Biggleswade, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was very dusty, bathroom covered in mildew,no plug in sink,shaver/mirror lift not working bathroom window painted shut

Reviewed by
m southerton

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Garden Lodge revisited
I stayed here some years back but after this time I would not come back. Check in service was poor with a Room allocation mix up. Decor was of a poor standard throughout. Ensuite was of a poor standard with windows rotting. This is the cheapest accommodation in Letchworth but it would be more healthier sleeping on the streets. Pay the extra and stay in a more upmarket hotel.

Reviewed by
G Wells

From , UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Room was very basic, but it was clean. The socket to use for the kettle was near the floor by the TV, and when used it sparked and crackled so I had to unplug the TV in order to boil the kettle. The bathroom was clean but the huge window had no curtain so I declined having a shower as I didn,t feel comfortable being visible by people outside, especially at night time with the lights on.

Reviewed by
Lynda G

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed - would not recommend
Bed and bedding comfy and clean. Clean towels.
No one at reception, buzzer didn't seem to work, had to phone someone to come. Wifi available, but again had to phone to get code as no one at reception, no phone in room. Very stained carpet, tired/broken furniture, mouldy shower curtain, rotten window frame, musty smell, loo seat pitted.
Not worth the money, but had already paid on arrival, no one on reception when we left and just wanted to go.

Reviewed by
A Saulnier

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next