No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cumberland Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
34 36, Grand Parade , Eastbourne, BN21 3YT
The Cumberland Hotel commands a wonderful seafront position on the Grand Parade and is one of the landmarks of Eastbourne. It boasts a foyer and lounge with classical elegance and a large restaurant with a breathtaking sea view. It is close to the town centre, all theatres as well as top Sussex attractions. Our friendly and helpful staff maintain a traditional hospitality ensuring your stay is a pleasant and memorable experience.

Our 72 en suite bedrooms, the majority of which have sea views, some with balcony are tastefully furnished all with colour TV, Radio, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities and hair driers.
We have a lift to all floors. Our top chef, one of Eastbourne's best, prepares excellent cuisine with the utmost care, using only the finest ingredients, complemented by our extensive wine list.

Our friendly, helpful and efficient staff will ensure that your stay at the Cumberland is a memorable one
Picture of The Cumberland Hotel, Eastbourne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
56% recommended this accommodation to a friend 56% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For the amount we paid for the room £110.00 we felt totally ripped off. Room and bathroom were disgusting. Good breakfast.

Reviewed by
John J

From Rochford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Eastbourne Air Fete stay
We booked late, only a few days before travelling, taking the last room available in Eastbourne and not expecting too much. But the room was fine, sea view, breakfast was good and when we had run out of tea late in the evening staff happily responded with a handful of tea bags and a jug of fresh milk. Excellent!

Reviewed by
Helen D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hotel in need of updating...
A rubbish night's sleep due to extremely creaky floors and a wall light falling off! Bath didn't empty properly, leaving scummy standing water. Receptionist was apologetic but advised there was no manager available for us to discuss further. Good points are that this is a hotel with an enviable position right on the sea front and the staff in the dining room were very helpful. Standard breakfast.

Reviewed by
Andrew T

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Stay
The important things were there, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable & t5he shower worked But I feel that the entire Hotel is a bit tired & jaded & would benefit froma programme of upgrading & renovation to take up to a Four Star.

Reviewed by
B Simons

From Newry, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay everything was just fine staff were very friendly and very efficient

Reviewed by
Madge Crittenden

From Aylesford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Disappointed
Although we had a stunning view from our window, we had no hot water on the first night of our stay. The whole hotel is in serious need of updating. The room was very unpleasant, the floorboards in the hallway creaked. The lift made unpleasant noises and most people refused to use it. We were very disappointed not very good value for money

Reviewed by
Rosalyn B

From Radlett, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

WE FOUND CHECKING IN AT RECEPTION WAS EXCELLENT VERY FRIENDLY STAFF AND
ALSO VERY HELPFUL FOOD WAS ALSO EXCELLENT ROOM HAD A LOVELY SEA VIEW VERY
CLEAN ONE MINOR THING AWS THE FLOORBOARDS IN THE ROOM WERE VERY UNEVEN
ONE WAS STICKING NEARLY THROUGH THE CARPET BUT ANOTHER THING TO REMEMBER
THIS HOTEL HAS STOOD FOR A VERY LONG TIME AND THEY WILL MAKE GOOD THE FLOOR
BOARDS MY WIFE AND I WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN AND WE SHALL MENTION THE HOTEL
TO OUR FAMILY AND FRIENDS KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK AND THANK YOU

Reviewed by
michael j

From waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fish out of water
We were made to feel very unwelcome we were the fish out of water, the hotel is geared towards the cheap coach tours and the older age group, it was just like an waiting room, waiting on God and with all the furniture placed all around the walls just looks like an waiting room as well. The hotel needs a good spruce up from outside to inside need attention to detail First of all the C was missing from Cumberland so we stayed at the Umberland Hotel. The lobby was scruffy no soft touches a lot of dirty cups and glasses around the tables the overstaff check in desk could have help to clear the lobby but that's not their job they couldn't be bothered to stand up when we checked in to welcome us just passed an paper over the top of the desk told to sign where the two X's were the lift is on your left and that was it.
During our short stay we were questioned on an number of time if we were staying at the hotel by the same person who checked us in we must have looked out of place in God's waiting room made to feel very unwelcome by this lady I don't know who she was as she was too good to wear an name badge
The hotel has a real problem with the creaky floor boards every were you walk it creaks all night long I don't know who was walking around in the middle of the night but the floor boards never stopped maybe its hunted its old enough anyway. Seemly the reason for the floor boards is the hotel is old what do you expect
The room although has a view to die for, over the band stand and beach it does need a good seeing too and updating the TV was from the 80's just like one my mother had in her kitchen for 30 years, she has now updated to an flat screen why cant the Cumberland only the 5 channels how old fashioned does anyone remember the old days.
The breakfast an buffet I will pass on comment had better in staff canteen, I could go on and on for pages but what is the point. I would like to say we have stayed at much better Bed & Breakfast in Eastbourne with much better standard and style I feel the management need to get out more and see what is out there.

Reviewed by
r mcneely

From london, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Cumberland Hotel
Very nice hotel, right on the sea front. The Hotel is lovely, but the rooms are a little dated. Breakfast was nice as well

Reviewed by
C Malbon

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff
The location is great and the view room is lovely.
For the price paid we were expecting to get a better room > Old furniture, the shower was broken so we have used the bathroom from another room.
But if you go for one night as we went is ok.

Reviewed by
claudia i

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next