No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - London City Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
200a, Borough High Street , London, SE1 1JX
London City Hotel provides comfortable and affordable accommodation, designed to meet your home comforts. Our friendly and professional staff aim to ensure you have a pleasant relaxing stay.

We offer 24 hour reception with express check in/ check out and left luggage facility . All rooms have flat screen TV's with 50 channels, tea and coffee making facilities. WIFI is available at low cost in the hotel.

Our location is excellent, situated next to Borough tube station (northern line ), turn right as you exit the tube station (less than 5 seconds walk). The hotel puts guests in the very heart of the City. London Bridge Rail Station is a 5 minute walk.

Tourist attractions are easily accessible;Borough Market, The Shard, London Dungeons,Globe Theatre, Tower Bridge and Tate Modern are all within 10 minute walk.

Cafe Riva (on the ground floor) aims to serve our guests with the best coffee and the finest food; including a choice of breakfast and lunch needs.

Large breakfast selection (from croissants to Full English), freshly prepared to order, including hot and cold drinks of your choice.
Available at £ 10 per person per night.

Rooms are available to check in from 2 o'clock on the day of arrival. If you arrive earlier you are welcome to come in and leave your luggage and your room will be offered to you as soon as it is ready. The checkout time is 10.30 am. Please request ground floor if you have accessibility needs, as the hotel does not have a lift.
Picture of London City Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 113 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't stay in a room at the front of the hotel
If I ever stayed at this hotel again, I'd be a lot more careful about reading the small print. The noise from the traffic from my first floor window was horrendous and the bathroom (which was shared with one other room), was actually the other side of the main stairwell.

Reviewed by
Chris W

From Haywards Heath, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and clean - good for short stay business trips
Nice quiet room and bed was very comfy.

Reviewed by
S Nuttall

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good for a small hotel in London
Staff were very helpful, printed out maps for us, suggested restaurants, and were always cheerful and friendly. The room was well cleaned and equipped, the huge bed was excellent. Large Clean and easy to use shower. It is right next to Brough Underground Station, and only a short walk to Brough Market and London Bridge. The Cafe underneath serves good basic food at a reasonable price for London There is a lot of local noise but the windows do a good job of shutting it out, there may be times when you need to have the windows open, so if you want silence bear this in mind. It wasn't a problem for us though and we would ask for that room again.

Reviewed by
S Gaunt

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved the room , polite staff
Very tidy room and polite staff . Loved the idea of the staff offering to keep my bags while I go shopping although I checked out .

Reviewed by
P Edwards

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value for Money
Modern, clean room with everything you need for a short stay in London. The connected cafe did an excellent breakfast. Then walk down the road to Borough Market for lunch!

Reviewed by
Paul Q

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room very small.

Reviewed by
Michael J

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't be fooled this is a hostel and not a hotel.
Read the small print before you book this accommodation , which was advertised as a City hotel. In fact it is a box room with a not nice smell with shared facilities in a corridor. In addition towels in the "hotel" were wet and had definitely been used by a previouse guest. It is always possible to find in London reasonable accommodation for £ 75. 00 . This place was a real con!

Reviewed by
L Beeney

From Maidstone , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb
very good staff, location, food and rooms. Far exceeded expectations!

Reviewed by
julian harris

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel, room was very clean and well maintained, staff extremely friendly

Reviewed by
c norman

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

London City - small but perfectly formed
Strange accommodation - have a key to the adjoining cafe in order to access room! Apart from this, room was decent size for a single room. Staff both in Reception and cafe very friendly and obliging. Right next to Underground station, good location for London Bridge etc. Recommended.

Reviewed by
Vivien Drake

From Bingley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next