You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - London City Hotel

3

200a, Borough High Street, London, SE1 1JX

Price From 137.31 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (52)

81% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • r evans

  • July 2016

London City Hotel

Busy saturday

  • Kay Trenchard-Hill

  • April 2016

HIDDEN GEM - TUCKED BEHIND A DOOR AT THE SIDE OF A CAFE. DON'T BE PUT OFF BY THE EXTERIOR!

We usually travel as a couple and go for the usual large 'premier' style hotels but booked the City Hotel on this occasion because we were travelling with my Mum and wanted a triple room.

From the initial booking, the hotel could not have been more helpful, contacting us by friendly email to ask if we required 3 single beds or a double and a single. When we arrived, we had a moment of trepidation on seeing the entrance which is a narrow door at the side of a café. Having read other reviews however, I had faith that all would be OK, and I was right not to worry. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and let us check in despite being 2hrs early. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable with a huge double bed and a separate single which didn't look like it has been shoved in as an afterthought to accommodate a third person. There were lovely fresh white towels for each person, toiletries in the bathroom and the usual tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits as an added touch. We only stayed one night but would have happily stayed longer. The café next door was excellent and serves a variety of breakfasts and other foods and Borough tube station is only a few steps from the hotel entrance, as is a friendly pub in the other direction, neither of which we heard any noise from at all. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Paul R

  • March 2016

Defintely not the nest

I stay fairly regularly in London, enough to have experienced a fair few hotels at least, and so can say with some certainty that this one does not stack up against the others, for a few reasons.

Firstly, the room was very cold until I managed to find the radiator tap: it warmed up after an hour or so. Secondly, the WiFi just failed to work, despite me discussing with reception. So when I had exhausted all 7 or 8 of the provided TV channels I couldn't even log into Netflix. The taps dripped almost all night, with a funny clicking noise outside in the corridor which didn't help my nights sleep either. All of the above could be forgiven if I had paid say £60 or £70. But it was £140, and for this I usually get much more.

  • Andrew B

  • March 2016

Good Value

Clean presentable room, modern decor ad very quiet considering central London.

  • Barbara P

  • March 2016

London City Hotel

We wanted a reasonably priced hotel within walking distance of Guy's hospital and a tube station.

We got both. The hotel is a hidden gem. Literally next door to the Borough tube station hidden behind a plain front door so don't be put off. A winding staircase leads to a small reception and very friendly staff who from the beginning of and throughout our stay where friendly and helpful. The room was small but adequately furnished and the bed was very comfy. The ensuite was small and in all honesty probably ready for a refurb but was clean and there were plenty of towels. Tea, coffee and biscuits provided. We took advantage of the breakfast voucher at £10 each for Cafe Rive next door and enjoyed a smashing full English with fresh juice and coffee. Well worth it. Would recommend hotel and cafe to friends.

  • Belinda E

  • February 2016

Excellent value

I needed somewhere to stay in London for one night between meetings and, as a woman travelling alone, was looking for somewhere safe and clean, but also not too expensive.

This fitted the bill perfectly - very easy to get to as it is right next to Borough tube station, spotlessly clean, warm and included free coffee and biscuits which I thought might not be offered given the low price of the room. Reception staff very friendly too. I will stay again.

  • Linda Small

  • February 2016

You should stay here......

London City Hotel is ultra convenient for the London Bridge area and is immediately next-door to Borough underground station.

Clean, spacious rooms and friendly, professional staff where nothing was too much trouble. We highly recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Helen P

  • February 2016

Perfect for South London

Great location next to Borough tube station.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and modern. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Our room was located at the rear of the cafe next door which was especially handy for breakfast. We will certainly use again.

  • liz anderson

  • January 2016

brilliant

Everything about this unassuming hotel was a hidden gem.

My room was absolutley wonderful and the power shower excellent. The breakfast in the morning was also good but additional to the room cost.

  • David E

  • December 2015

Nice

Good value London hotel, nice staff and rooms ok.

I've stayed in more expensive hotels with old bathrooms, this was excellent standard.