Reviews - London City Hotel


200a, Borough High Street, London, SE1 1JX

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (92)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Pamela H

  • November 2015

Borough stay

Don't be put off by the doorway entrance the hotel is perfect

  • A Langley

  • September 2015

A wonderful South London Gem

Our stay in London was for one night as we were taking my daughter to uni.

The hotel staff were very friendly, professional and only too happy to help with any query we had. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be staying there again

  • J Bett

  • August 2015

Customer service was very good, welcoming, friendly and helpful.

  • Amanda L

  • August 2015

An absolute gem

I stayed for 2 nights whilst working at Southwark crown court.

I am aware that I had a newly refurbished room and so my comments relate to that. The room behind the downstairs cafe was excellent. Large air conditioned with tea and coffee making facilities and the most comfy bed I have slept in. The double shower was great and the towels soft and fluffy. You can buy breakfast at their cafe downstairs and whilst pricey the food is sourced from the nearby borough market and is delicious. The only complaint was the wifi was slow and limited but I will definitely be coming back

  • Kathryn s

  • June 2015

One night was enough

Small, stuffy, noisy and overpriced room.

Although Clean and bed was comfy. We were at a funeral and didn't get to the hotel until just before ten, they had emailed us at about 830pm to ask us when we would be arriving. We didn't see that until the next day but it made me wonder if the reception typically closes earlier. I would check if you plan a late arrival. Cafe downstairs was great though.

  • Martin R

  • June 2015

Just right for a short city stay

Lovely small hotel tucked away next door to Borough tube station.

Reception was on the first floor so there were a few stairs to negotiate but that was not a problem for us. Our room was delightful, smallish but ample for a weekend stay. Our bathroom had a large double shower was very clean and we were provided with large, soft white cotton towels. The location was excellent, easy to find and close to restaurants, pubs and the main tourist track. We found the staff to be excellent, they could not do enough for us, helpful, knowledgeable and very friendly. I will definitely use again. Excellent value for money.

  • C Clarke

  • May 2015

Pleasantly surprised in a good way.

We found the stairs a little exhausting; a stair lift would be good!

  • D Simon

  • May 2015

small print

I messed up.

I thought anywhere that called itself a hotel and charged over £100 a night would have all en suite rooms. The place was spotless, location ideal for central London, but the whole locking the door behind you and running across the corridor to go for a shower was not me.

  • D Nelson

  • April 2015

Fantastic staff and stunning rooms.

This was my partners late Valentine's Day break away, we got there the hotel was easy to find.

The staff were full of energy and smiles. We got upgraded to the apartment free of charge. To which this had a gorgeous finish the decor was fresh and located in a quiet coldesac. I highly recommend this hotel its position is brilliant right next to London borough station. (Which you can't here from the hotel or apartment)

  • S Law

  • March 2015

Excellent hotel

Nice clean rooms.

Very soft bed and pillows. Shower was slightly weak but nothing to worry about. Good cafe below which serves delicious breakfast.