No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - London City Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
200a, Borough High Street , London, SE1 1JX
London City Hotel provides comfortable and affordable accommodation, designed to meet your home comforts. Our friendly and professional staff aim to ensure you have a pleasant relaxing stay.

We offer 24 hour reception with express check in/ check out and left luggage facility . All rooms have flat screen TV's with 50 channels, tea and coffee making facilities. WIFI is available at low cost in the hotel.

Our location is excellent, situated next to Borough tube station (northern line ), turn right as you exit the tube station (less than 5 seconds walk). The hotel puts guests in the very heart of the City. London Bridge Rail Station is a 5 minute walk.

Tourist attractions are easily accessible;Borough Market, The Shard, London Dungeons,Globe Theatre, Tower Bridge and Tate Modern are all within 10 minute walk.

Cafe Riva (on the ground floor) aims to serve our guests with the best coffee and the finest food; including a choice of breakfast and lunch needs.

Large breakfast selection (from croissants to Full English), freshly prepared to order, including hot and cold drinks of your choice.
Available at £ 10 per person per night.

Rooms are available to check in from 2 o'clock on the day of arrival. If you arrive earlier you are welcome to come in and leave your luggage and your room will be offered to you as soon as it is ready. The checkout time is 10.30 am. Please request ground floor if you have accessibility needs, as the hotel does not have a lift.
Picture of London City Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 117 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Localisation Great
The hotel is in the first zone of city of London and the best thing that it has it is the station of Borough in the same door at the hotel.
The place is very quiet in the night and you are very near the Borough Market and Tower Bridge.
The time that you would loose to arrive the center of London in underground is more or less 10 minutes only.
The personal was very professional and friendly with us. They had offered us to leave the bags before the check in and after of check out, if you want to visit more places in London, this option that the hotel offer you, it is amazing.
Only one tip and it is that in the bathroom the bath was very high, we almost fall when we want to go out of this.
in other words, the hotel is not very pretty but it was very comfortable and practical to visit London. 100% recommendable without a doubt.

Reviewed by
C PASCUAL BUENO

From MADRID, Spain
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what was required
Right next to a tube station, easily accessible, the staff were great - friendly, efficient and helpful. The room was clean and a good enough size. My only (small) issue was the unexpected stairs, from the ground floor up to the first floor reception and then up again to the room. They did offer to change it for me but there wasn't a suitable alternative. If I didn't have a very heavy bag, it would not have mattered. Would definitely stay again. Great for a stop off point, when going on elsewhere.

Reviewed by
Ben D

From Broadstairs, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was pleased with the quality of the accommodation
Room was simple but very clean

Reviewed by
Peter Batchelor

From York, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Share a bathroom!
for £95 per night i expect not to have to share a bathroom down the corridor

Reviewed by
M Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small room, but clean and good location
I had a small room (basic but tidy and clean) with a shared bathroom. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location is very convenient right next to the tube station and within easy walking distance of the southbank.
However, 93 GBP for a ~9 square meter room with shared bathroom excluding breakfast and excluding wifi (6 GBP/day) is not exactly good value. Yes, I would stay here again, but not at these peak prices.

Reviewed by
Rob V

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as expected as didn't realise there was a shared bathroom, which was a surprise! The room was small and very basic with furniture which didn't match. But it was very clean.

Reviewed by
E Davies

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't stay in a room at the front of the hotel
If I ever stayed at this hotel again, I'd be a lot more careful about reading the small print. The noise from the traffic from my first floor window was horrendous and the bathroom (which was shared with one other room), was actually the other side of the main stairwell.

Reviewed by
Chris W

From Haywards Heath, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and clean - good for short stay business trips
Nice quiet room and bed was very comfy.

Reviewed by
S Nuttall

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good for a small hotel in London
Staff were very helpful, printed out maps for us, suggested restaurants, and were always cheerful and friendly. The room was well cleaned and equipped, the huge bed was excellent. Large Clean and easy to use shower. It is right next to Brough Underground Station, and only a short walk to Brough Market and London Bridge. The Cafe underneath serves good basic food at a reasonable price for London There is a lot of local noise but the windows do a good job of shutting it out, there may be times when you need to have the windows open, so if you want silence bear this in mind. It wasn't a problem for us though and we would ask for that room again.

Reviewed by
S Gaunt

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved the room , polite staff
Very tidy room and polite staff . Loved the idea of the staff offering to keep my bags while I go shopping although I checked out .

Reviewed by
P Edwards

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next