No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Citybest Hotel Limited

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
31-33 Mansfield Road, Ilford, IG13BB
City Best Hotel is located in the heart of Ilford and is easily accessible through A406 AND M11.
We are a 37 bedroom newly refurbished hotel in Ilford (East London) where each room has been tastefully decorated according to the needs and comfort of each guest. We are located just 25 minutes from Central London and are easily accessible by public transport. All our rooms are en-suite and have T.V, Tea/Coffee making facility as standard.

We have a 24 hour reception and the premises are monitored by 24 hour CCTV. Our well trained staff strive to serve our customers and make their stay a pleasant one.

We are just 10 minutes away by public transport from the Olympic Village, where the Glorious London Olympics 2012 will be held.
Picture of Citybest Hotel Limited, Ilford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hot water
There was no hot water the next morning but the customer service was excellent

Reviewed by
m begum

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quick stay
It's not a home it's a hotel

Reviewed by
Nathan Cropper

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was a brilliant stay enjoyed it

Reviewed by
A Gazra

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice clean hotel in slightly bad neighbourhood
People at reception were nice, rooms were clean and spacious although the beds were really short. Breakfast was allright. Hotel is not too far from tube but from the tube to the hotel you walk trough a bit of a slum area. Also at night you hear quite a lot of cars and people out on the streets.

Reviewed by
Gudo H

From Nijmegen, Netherlands
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average hotel
Unable to use the shower Bcoz it only have hot or cold
There is no intermediate setting
We complain and they offer us to shower in another room
We booked for a double bedroom
And we got an artic room which was so annoying I keep banging my head against the roof
And also it was bloody hot

Reviewed by
Temitope B

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

unsafe for females
We booked the original hotel through late rooms, when we got to the hotel we were told they had double booked our room and were told there was a sister hotel down the road that could accommodate us. This was the Newham hotel with City Best. There were lots of ladies and men hanging around outside and in the hotel dressed provocatively. It felt very unsafe, couldnt lock bedroom door from inside. There were, lets say, ominous stains all over the bed head boards and walls . We could hear lots of ,again, ominous noises from other rooms walking along the corridor. There were lots of men knocking and entering bedrooms randomly. We really believe this place to be a brothel . We left promptly and didn't stay the night due to being petrified that something was going to happen with the men hanging around and just the whole atmosphere was seedy and my friend was near tears due to being so frightened. We felt like the men and including the male receptionist were eyeing us up and he kept asking us very personal questions making us feel extremely uncomfortable and upset. We didn't even want to go out past reception when we left as there was men in suits stood all round the reception area. Also very concerned that there is a mirror above the reception where you use chip and pin machine. The male receptionist informed me it was a safety camera, which actually is strange as there was two other cameras visible right next to it. On the safety side of things ,my partner being a fire fighter, I really don't know how they passed any fire safety check as the so called fire doors were not fire doors and were actually all propped open anyway. one of the fire exits was locked on the inside with a padlock. Very hazardous. I would not recommend staying here as it is filthy ,unsafe and has very ominous activities going on . Extra to all of this, when I booked up online with late rooms I paid the hotel price straightaway online and when we got to the 2nd hotel I was so flustered by all the goings on that when the male receptionist booked us in he charged me again! I have lost a total of over a £100.And wasted 18 miles of petrol and over two hrs of our time trying to find another hotel to stay in as we were stranded in a really not very nice area of Essex. We ended up paying over the odds for another hotel as we had no choice as was 10pm and we were two lone females.

Reviewed by
C WILSON

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for-budget hostel rather than hotel
Room was swelteringly hot and receptionist didn't know where it was. No rooms numbered or directions to get there so I wandered around till I found it!
Had to leave a £10 deposit until I returned key and TV remote on checkout!!!
Didn't fancy breakfast but had a quick cuppa which was ok.
There was a locked car park which was good.
The price was reasonable for London and it is definitely a budget hotel.
I probably wouldn't stay here again though!

Reviewed by
Jacqueline F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good plaxce to stay
Room 22
The room provided all the basics - comfortable bed,
I was able to get a replacement light bulb for above the bed head, as the one there was not working when we arrived.
The en-suite shower/toilet/wash basin area, smelt rather unpleasant [had someone been smoking there?? or was it the drains?] and the toilet flush mechanism was faulty.
Two towels each would have been preferred, plus showergell.
Breakfast - self service was plentiful in a comfortable environment, and provided a relaxing start to the day.

Reviewed by
John Bush

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, comfortable and friendly
Spent 2 nights. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room had a few patched up holes in the wall and wonky drawers but was clean and comfortable and adequate for our needs. A nice walk through the park to the tube station. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Tina F

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awake all night
This hotel would have been great but one of the rooms we had as a group was in a different block and for 2 nights we only got 3 hours sleep , the first night there was constant arguing and conversations going on in the hall ways and outside the entrance , the second night was pretty much the same with the added extra of the main door being slammed closed every half hour , it was as if someone was running "a business" in one of the other rooms , we reported it to reception but was given no explanation

Reviewed by
Craig Needham

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next